LibGuides: History 300 (Dr. Jalil): Asia

Tips for International Searching

Most nations have a national library or national archive that houses historical documents. Many of these libraries provide English translations of their sites and digitized records. Try creating a search with a search engine using the terms "NAME OF COUNTRY" and "national library" to find these resources.

Digital Collections

Densho Digital Repository
Documents the story of the Japanese American incarceration experience from those who lived it, and find thousands of historic photographs, documents, newspapers, letters and other primary source materials from immigration to the WWII incarceration and its aftermath.
Japanese American National Museum
Digital collections of the Japanese American National Museum that documents more than 130 years of Japanese American history—from the first Issei generation through the World War II incarceration to the present day.
Japanese American Relocation Digital Archives
Personal and official photographs, letters and diaries, transcribed oral histories, art, and more show the faces of people, places, daily life, and personal experiences.
Library of Congress Asian Reading Room
Features a variety of digitized and eResources. Be sure to start with the "Digital Collections" section in the bottom right of the page.
North Korean Propaganda Posters (UC San Diego)
Digitized hand-painted reproductions of printed propaganda posters.
South Asian American Digital Archive
Digital archive documenting the stories of South Asian Americas. Has an excellent browse function that supports searching by time period, language, states, and sources.
University of Southern California Library's Digital Collections
A robust collection of digitized materials local, state, and global sources. Particular highlights include the Korean American Digital Archive, Los Angeles City Records, and Los Angeles Police Record among many others.
World Digital Library: East Asia
Documents and images from East Asia from 8000BCE to the present.

Library Subscription Databases (MyCI Login Required)

China, America and the Pacific This link opens in a new window
Rare texts, visual images, personal and business correspondence, newspapers, and maps which document the trading and cultural relationships between China, America, and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries.

History 300 (Dr. Jalil): Asia

About This Page

Tips for International Searching

Digital Collections

Library Subscription Databases (MyCI Login Required)