Access to all digitized collections, finding aids, and related material. NOTE: The system is not user-friendly. Feel free to contact your librarian if you need help with your search.
This collection is an on-going project tracing the historical, cultural, social, and political experiences of Chicanos. A large portion of the material focuses on Chicano and Latino art in various forms and formats. The collections also refer to major social, economic, and political changes and issues occurring in Central and South America, Mexico, the U.S. and Africa. Topics include unemployment, migrant farm workers, labor movements, communism, and socialism. The digital contents of these collections include articles, correspondence, documents, Chicano magazines, pamphlets, exhibition catalogs, art murals and photographs.
In 2010, CI hosted “Bittersweet Harvest, The Bracero Program 1942-1964,” a traveling bilingual exhibition organized by the Smithsonian’s National Museum of American History. In conjunction with the exhibit, students from CI under the guidance of Jose Alamillo, Associate Professor of Chicanca/o Studies, conducted more than 70 interviews, 10 of which were featured in the exhibition. This digital collection contains exhibit documents, exhibit images, interview documentation, and oral histories.
This collection is an on-going project tracing the history of Ventura County. Many of the sub-collections depict life in Ventura County in the early 20th century, highlighting notable or memorable personalities and events of the time period
The system can be challenging to search, but the following tips can help you find and access a variety materials:
