Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About This Guide
This guide aggregates a variety of resources to help students enrolled in History 499 Capstone with Dr. Robin Mitchell. The primary focus is to highlight resources for primary sources that are accessible through publicly available digital archives. For more information on secondary sources, please visit the Library's History Research Guide.
How to Use this Guide
This guide is organized first geographically on the top level pages and then by either subject or geographically within the pages. Each features additional tips for finding resources outside of the provided resources. The major boxes feature open libraries, archives, and other repositories with digitized primary sources and the smaller, side boxes feature curated collections and projects that will contain both primary and secondary sources (these collections will be very specific). Additionally, the box at the bottom of each section will include library databases that require your MyCI Login.
New additions may be added over the course of the semester. For more information on this guide or help locating additional material, please contact Elizabeth Blackwood (email@example.com).
Featured Curated Collections - Medical History and History of Disease
This box contains several featured collections that highlight the history of medicine, the history of disease, and other public health related materials. These collections will include both primary material and supporting secondary material.
Contagion: Historical Views of Diseases and Epidemics (Harvard Library)
Offering valuable insights to students of the history of medicine and to researchers seeking an historical context for current epidemiology, this collection contributes to our understanding of the global, social-history, and public-policy implications of disease. The collection provides general background information on diseases and epidemics worldwide, and is organized around significant “episodes,” topics, and people concerned with contagious disease.
The Rockefeller Foundation- Digital Archives (Public Health)
This collection of more than 1,800 documents includes internal reports and memoranda, correspondence about RF projects, program overviews, excerpts from board meeting dockets and entries from Foundation staff members’ diaries. The documents cover a broad range of the Foundation’s work in the twentieth century, including public health, medical education, agriculture, arts and culture, peace and conflict, natural sciences, and social sciences.
University of Michigan Center for the History of Medicine: Influenza Encyclopedia
An anthology of city essays and thousands of historical documents constitutes this large digital collection of materials relating to the 1918-1919 influenza epidemic.
US National Library of Medicine: Digital Collections (1610-1920)
The NLM History of Medicine Division's digitized collections of historical material related to health and disease. Spanning ten centuries, encompassing a variety of digital and physical formats, and originating from nearly every part of the globe.
The Wellcome Library- Digital Collections
Digitized books, archives, manuscripts, film and sound, paintings, posters and more on the history of health.
Finding a Primary Source in an Ebsco or Proquest Database
Limiters for primary source documents are available in some EBSCO and ProQuest databases. Here are a few examples: