Skip to main content

Research Resources (COVID-Ready!): Home

Access to additional research resources from various providers.

Resources for Research

The following content providers and vendors have offered short-term access to many resources. Use your browser Find option (Mac: Cmd+F; PC: Ctrl+F) to find specific types of content. All available categories of resources are available on this page. If you are looking for a specific category, please use the tabs above.

Databases A-Z: Pathway: Login at https://myci.csuci.edu/ >>  Library Resources & Services >> Databases A-Z >> [database name]Access may be provided through:

  • Broome Library catalog: Login at https://myci.csuci.edu/ >>  Library Resources & Services >> Library Catalog
  • Vendor website which will require an individual account. Use your CI Dolphin email, but NOT your CI Dolphin password at a vendor's website; make up another password.

More resources will be added as they become available. Please check back.
If you encounter a problem, please email reference.librarian@csuci.edu.

Annual Reviews [Articles]

Annual Reviews: Access to all 52 titles. [End date: April 30, 2020]

Content: Each title is published annually and contains articles in the areas of biomedical/life sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences.

Pathway: Login at https://myci.csuci.edu/ >>  Library Resources & Services >> Databases A-Z >> Annual Reviews

Academic Video Online (AVON) [Audiovisual/Audio]

Academic Video Online (AVON) [End date: June 17, 2020]

Content: More than 68,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, psychology, and other disciplines.

Bloomsbury Collections [Books/Textbooks]

Bloomsbury Collections [End date: May 31, 2020]

Content: Broad subject access, including:

  • Subject Collections of Latest Research 2013 - Present
    Anthropology • Biblical Studies • Bloomsbury Open • Classical Studies & Archaeology • Education • Film and Media Studies • History • Law • Linguistics • Literary Studies • Philosophy • Politics and International Relations • Religious Studies • Theology   
  • Archive Collections
    18th- and 19th-Century Literature • Aesthetics & Cultural Theory 1999-2012 • Ancient History 1983-2012 • Ancient Philosophy 1984-2012 • Anthropology  1993-2013 • Applied Linguistics 2000-2012 • Bloomsbury Open 2008-2012 • Christian Doctrines 1988-2013 • Christology 1982-2011 • Classical Literature 1994-2012 • Contemporary Writing, Theory and Culture 2006-2012 • Continental Philosophy 2000-2012 • Early Modern History 1971-2013 • Film Studies 2000-2013 • International Critical Commentary 1901-2014 • International Relations 1998-2013 • Media Studies  2008-2013 • Modernism 2005-2012 • Pauline Studies 1984-2012 • Philosophy of Education 2008-2012 • Political Theory and Philosophy 1998-2013 • Politics  1993-2013 • Poyser Monographs • Religious Studies 2008-2012 • Second Language Acquisition 2004-2012 • Shakespeare 2003-2012
  • Archive Collections (Hart Publishing)
    Comparative Law, Legal History and Legal Studies • Competition Law • Constitutional and Administrative Law • Contract, Tort and Restitution • Corporate and Financial Law • Criminal Law and Justice • Energy, Environmental & Natural Resources Law • European Law • Family and Social Law • Human Rights Law • Intellectual Property Law • International Law • Labour & Discrimination Law • Legal Philosophy • Litigation & Civil Procedure • Medical Law & Ethics • The Law of Property Trusts 
  • Special Collections
    Ancient Commentators on Aristotle • Birds and Mammals of Africa • Business and Management • Continuing Professional Development • Education Around the World • Essential Histories (Osprey Publishing) • Geographers Bibliographical Studies • History of Technology • International Critical Commentary 1901-2014 • The Churchill Collection: Published Works of Winston S. Churchill • The Collected Works of Edward Schillebeeckx
  • Landmark Texts Collections (Bloomsbury Academic Collections series)
    Biblical Studies • Economics • History • Japanese History • Linguistics • Literary Criticism • Philosophy • Shakespeare Studies

Cambridge University Press [Books/Textbooks]

Cambridge University Press  [End date: May 31, 2020]

Content: A wide selection of research monographs, academic reference, textbooks, books for professionals, and large numbers of books aimed at graduate and undergraduate students.

Cengage [Books/Textbooks; Learning courses/Study tools]

Cengage Unlimited: Login and use help: http://embed.widencdn.net/pdf/plus/cengage/tkbyycgpir/cu-covid-start-strong-free-trial-flyer-1348236.pdf [End date: Refresh account every 14 days until campus is no longer affected by COVID-19. Use your CI Dolphin email, but NOT your CI Dolphin password; make up another password.]

Content: Includes online textbooks across disciplines, Study Tools and more.

Cochrane Library [Reference]

Cochrane Library [End date: To be determined.]

Content: The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, including:

  • Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews - Systematic reviews, and protocols, in health care.
  • Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) - Bibliographic details only; no article full text.
  • Cochrane Clinical Answers - Clinically-focused material designed to be actionable and inform point-of-care decision-making.

EBSCOhost Ebooks [Books/Textbooks]

EBSCOhost Ebooks: Access to EBSCO includes books for a limited time. [End date: May 30, 2020]

Two options for reading:

  1. Read in real time online using the EPUB Full Text link in the left panel.
  2. Download the book for 1-7 days using the Full Download option. Note: If you choose the Full Download option, you will have to create an EBSCOhost account*, and download Adobe Digital Editions software. If you are using a CI-owned laptop, check to see if this software is already installed. Otherwise, you may not have installation privileges. 

Pathway: Login at https://myci.csuci.edu/ >>  Library Resources & Services >> Library Catalog

*If you create an EBSCOhost account, consider using your CI Dolphin email address, and making up a password. Do not use your CI Dolphin password. Also, the following information for all EBSCOhost accounts is collected:

  • Account Information, such as login credentials, email, and name.
  • Saved items, such as checkouts and saved searches.
  • Activity data, such as searches, retrievals, and link outs.
  • Other data, such as affiliations, and continuing education.

Follett's RedShelf [Books/Textbooks]

Follett's RedShelf [End Date: May 25, 2020]

Access to 7 (seven) free electronic books. Sign up for an account. Wait for authentication email. Detailed registration instructions:

  1. Go to https://studentresponse.redshelf.com and make an account using your CI Dolphin email address. You must use your CSU CI Dolphin email address to get access to this resource.
  2. Check your CSU CI Dolphin email account for a verification email. Check Junk mail, in case the verification falls there!
  3. Click the link in your email to finish signing up.
  4. Once you're signed in, click on the link for your book, or search for it in the search bar at the top of the screen.
  5. When you see your book, click "View Details."
  6. Click "Add to My Shelf" and you will be redirected to your "My Shelf."
  7. Click "Start Reading" and the book will open up in your online browser. There are options to print, download portions of the book, bookmark, and highlight the pages.

You're all set! Just log in to your account whenever you need access to your textbook.

Need help? Watch the RedShelf Tutorial Videos [https://solve.redshelf.com/hc/en-us/articles/360006089374-RedShelf-Tutorial-Videos-collected-] or check the RedShelf Solve [https://solve.redshelf.com/hc/en-us] page for more information.

Global Plants (JSTOR) [Type specimens]

Global Plants: Over two million high-resolution type specimens in the world’s largest database of digitized plant specimens and a locus for international scientific research and collaboration.  [End date: June 30, 2020]

IEEE Xplore Digital Library [Articles; Audiovisual/Audio; Learning courses/Study tools; Reference]

IEEE Xplore Digital Library Courses: Access to courses has been added. [End date: To be determined.]

Pathway: Login at https://myci.csuci.edu/ >>  Library Resources & Services >> Databases A-Z >> IEEE Xplore Digital Library >> Browse dropdown menu >> Courses

Help documentation on learning courses and programs: https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/Xplorehelp/downloads/user-guides/IEEE_Xplore_eLearning_Library_User_Guide.pdf

Internet Archive National Emergency Library [Books/Textbooks]

Internet Archive National Emergency Library [https://archive.org/details/nationalemergencylibrary] [End date: June 30, 2020]

Content: A collection of books that supports emergency remote teaching, research activities, independent scholarship, and intellectual stimulation while universities, schools, training centers, and libraries are closed.

JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments) [Audiovisual/Audio; Learning courses/Study tools]

JoVE Science Education: Peer-reviewed scientific video protocols for: Biology, Chemistry, Clinical skills, Engineering, Environmental sciences, Physics, Psychology. [End Date: June 15, 2020]

Note: Most JoVE content from issues 1-140 (2006-2018) are available through PubMed Central. As of 2019, JoVE no longer participates in PubMed Central.

JSTOR [Articles; Books/Textbooks]

JSTOR: Expanded access to journal articles in Epidemiology, Health Policy and Administration, Occupational and Environmental Health, Health Equity and the Culture of Health, Aging, Bioethics, and Health Promotion. The usual 5-7 year embargo (depending on journal title) apply. [End date: June 30, 2020]

JSTOR: Access to the JSTOR book collection. Same 'channel'!

Pathway: Login at https://myci.csuci.edu/ >>  Library Resources & Services >> Databases A-Z >> JSTOR.

MIT Press [Books/Textbooks]

MIT Press Books: Collections include titles on art and architecture, biomedical sciences, business and finance, computer science, cognitive science, design, education, environment, game studies, humanities, information science, linguistics, neuroscience, new media, philosophy, and social sciences. [End date: May 31, 2020]

Project MUSE [Articles; Books/Textbooks]

Project MUSE [End date: May 31 through June 30, 2020; varies by publisher.]

Content: Books and journals in the humanities and social sciences.

Pathway: Login at https://myci.csuci.edu/ >>  Library Resources & Services >> Databases A-Z >> Project MUSE

ProQuest Central [Articles]

ProQuest Central [End date: June 17, 2020]

Note: Many of these databases are already available through Databases A-Z.

Pathway: Login at https://myci.csuci.edu/ >> Library Resources & Services >> Databases A-Z >> any ProQuest database >> Change databases (above search box)

ProQuest One Literature [Articles; Audiovisual/Audio; Books/Textbooks; Reference]

ProQuest One Literature: A robust package of primary texts, criticism, author pages, including audio and video, reference works, and dissertations. [End date: June 17, 2020]

Rittenhouse Book Distributors [Books/Textbooks]

Rittenhouse Book Distributors [End date: May 31, 2020]

Content: Books in the fields of medicine, nursing and allied health from the leading health sciences publishers.

The Royal Society [Articles]

The Royal Society publishes journals in the sciences. [End date: To be determined.]

ScienceDirect [Articles; Books/Textbooks; Reference]

ScienceDirect (Elsevier): In addition to the journal articles, access is now available to books and reference materials. [End date: June 30, 2020]

Pathway: Login at https://myci.csuci.edu/ >>  Library Resources & Services >> Databases A-Z >> ScienceDirect