LibGuides: Africana Studies Guide: Newspapers and Magazines

Newspapers and Magazines

The written word is a powerful tool to preserving history, especially when recollection becomes fuzzy or otherwise lost. The following are databases providing access to magazines and newspapers that put to print the realities of domestic and foreign Black life.

Resources available via Broome Library

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive resource of more than 8,000 news publications from nearly 200 countries, including major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Multi-database search including Early American Newspapers, Series 1: From Colonies to Nation, Caribbean Newspapers, & Hispanic American Newspapers.
Caribbean Newspapers 1718-1876 This link opens in a new window
Contains 66 newspaper titles the Caribbean islands published between 1718-1876.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) database of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses.

Resources available outside of Broome Library

Library of Congress Digital Collections
The Library of Congress Digital Collections comprise millions of items including books, newspapers, manuscripts, prints and photos, maps, musical scores, films, sound recordings and more.
Polity
Polity offers free access to South African legislation, policy documents and daily political news. Original video and podcast material are hosted on the site, including in-depth interviews with some of South Africa’s leading opinion makers. Regular columnists and guest writers offer analysis of current events, as Polity advances its mission of deepening democracy through access to information.
Reuters
Reuters, the news and media division of Thomson Reuters, is the world’s largest multimedia news provider, reaching billions of people worldwide every day. Reuters provides business, financial, national and international news to professionals via desktop terminals, the world's media organizations, industry events and directly to consumers.