LibGuides: Africana Studies Guide: Gender and Sexuality

Gender and Sexuality

The intersection of race, gender, and sexuality is a kaleidoscopic experience. The selection of databases below are likely to help you find articles, resources, and materials that highlight the diversity, complexity, and lived experiences of Black people in America and abroad.

Resources available via Broome Library

Contemporary Women's Issues OneFile This link opens in a new window
Contemporary Women's Issues includes the full text of mainstream periodicals, gray literature, and the alternative press with a focus on the critical issues and events that influence women's lives in more than 190 countries.
Gender Studies OneFile This link opens in a new window
Includes scholarly and popular articles focused on gender, women's studies, sexuality, and sexual and reproductive health.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
GenderWatch is a database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.
Women and Social Movements in the United States This link opens in a new window
Contains resources on the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000. Includes videos, articles, primary sources, and archives.

Resources available outside of Broome Library

ONE Archives at the USC Libraries
ONE Archives at the USC Libraries is the largest repository of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer (LGBTQ) materials in the world. Founded in 1952, ONE Archives currently houses over two million archival items including periodicals, books, film, video and audio recordings, photographs, artworks, organizational records, and personal papers.
Digital Transgender Archive
Based in Boston, Massachusetts at Northeastern University, the Digital Transgender Archive is an international collaboration among more than sixty colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, public libraries, and private collections aims to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
The Library of Congress Digital Collections comprise millions of items including books, newspapers, manuscripts, prints and photos, maps, musical scores, films, sound recordings and more.