The following are a few databases that are likely to be useful to your research and study. Should you need any assistance navigating them, or if you would like help with your research, please reach out to us by clicking here.
Primary source collection focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, Brooklyn, and North Carolina, this collection presents multiple aspects of the African American community through personal diaries and scrapbooks, pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records and in-depth oral histories.
Contains over 1,000 printed documents, including books, pamphlets, sheet music, speeches, and other artifacts from the Afro-Americana collection of the Library Company of Philadelphia, covering the post-Reconstruction period.
Contains almost 1,400 printed documents, including books, pamphlets, sheet music, speeches, and other artifacts from the Afro-Americana collection of the Library Company of Philadelphia, covering the post-Civil War period.
Features selected primary documents related to critical people and events in African American history. The website highlights documents from the following time periods: 1. Slavery and the Abolitionist Movement (1790-1860); 2. The Civil War and the Reconstruction Era (1861-1877); 3. Jim Crow Era from 1878 to the Great Depression (1878-1932); 4. The New Deal and World War II (1933-1945); 5. The Civil Rights and Black Power Movements (1946-1975); 6. The Contemporary Era (1976-2000).
Caribbean History & Culture: 1535-1920 contains over 1,200 books, pamphlets, almanacs, broadsides and ephemera, from and about the islands of the Caribbean Sea (aka the West Indies), and the broader geographical area.
Archive of official publications and primary source material related to civil rights in the United States covering a wide range of topics for research in American history, political science, social justice and related fields.
Bringing together primary source documents from archives and libraries across the Atlantic world, this resource allows students and researchers to explore and compare unique material relating to the complex subjects of slavery, abolition and social justice. In addition to the primary source documents there is a wealth of useful secondary sources for research and teaching; including an interactive map, scholarly essays, tutorials, a visual sources gallery, chronology and bibliography. Register for My Archive and save your favourite documents, search results and images to your personal collection area.
Contains resources on the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000. Includes videos, articles, primary sources, and archives.
List of links (both open and subscription based) to a variety of digital archives related to Africa. Has a particular focus on material from the Portuguese Empire.
Provides free universal access to cultural heritage materials from and about African countries and communities. It brings together tens of thousands of digitized photographs, videos, archival documents, maps, interviews and oral histories in numerous African languages, many of which are contained in curated thematic galleries and teaching resources.
A guide providing links and information to a variety of archives, libraries, and reports. PLEASE BE ADVISED: Not all mentioned collections in the guide are digitized.
The Digital Library of the Middle East (DLME) offers free and open access to the rich cultural legacy of the Middle East and North Africa by bringing together collections from a wide range of cultural heritage institutions. Developed by an engineering team from CLIR and Stanford Libraries, the platform federates and makes accessible data about collections from around the world. Please be advised that this resource is functional, but still being developed.
Digital Schomburg provides access to trusted information, interpretation, and scholarship on the global Black experience through online materials at the Schomburg Center created and curated by our staff and librarians.
The Library of Congress Digital Collections comprise millions of items including books, newspapers, manuscripts, prints and photos, maps, musical scores, films, sound recordings and more.
The Southern African Legal Information Institute (SAFLII) is an online repository of legal information from South Africa that aims to promote the rule of law and judicial accountability by publishing legal material for open access in line with the objectives of the global Free Access to Law Movement.
The World Factbook, produced for US policymakers and coordinated throughout the US Intelligence Community, presents the basic realities about the world in which we live.
