CSUCI OER Subject Guide

Health Science Resources

Textbooks

MERLOT- MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community. This link specifically looks at results for Health Science

OASIS- Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) an OER search database with textbooks, courses and more. It is being developed by SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library. You can conduct a basic search or search by subject. Like all of these OASIS is constantly being added to. 

Open Textbook Library- A database of OER textbooks of various subjects and different creative commons licenses. Run through the University of Minnesota with over 1600 textbooks to look through. Open Textbook Library is constantly updated with new materials and editions being added regularly. 

Libretexts Health Science Selection

Libretexts is run out of UC Davis and offers a wealth of OER materials all under different licenses and options for modification. 

Introduction to the US Health Care System

This is the second edition of a textbook which was created, edited and updated by CSUCI's own Tom Clobes. Although this book cannot be edited it is free to use and receives regular updates. 

OER Commons

A large OER database that has various resources. There are options for peers to review work and provide feedback however the quality of these materials can vary. 

Courses and Videos

• Exercising Advocacy: Some Personal Ideas and Experiences

  This lecture by Prof. Timothy Noakes discusses the role of science in assisting the rise of South African cricket and ends with the story of Lewis Gordon Pugh’s swims in the Antarctic and Arctic including his epic 18 minutes (1km) swim at the North Pole in June 2007.

• Future Learn - Health & Psychology Courses

  Want to enhance patient care or improve your own wellbeing or mental health? Our online healthcare courses provide you with vital skills, knowledge and training. Learn about everything from Parkinson's disease to obesity or nutrition with top researchers.

• John Hopkins Open Courseware - Nutrition

  Lecture slides on a variety of nutrition-related topics.

• Khan Academy - Health & Medicine

  Course videos covering advanced topics in physiology and labs.

• The Learning Classroom: Theory into Practice

  This is an online college course developed for students preparing to be teachers, as well as inservice K-12 classroom teachers and other educators.

• Mouse Activity

  From the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, this 30-second video compares the activity of a normal mouse to one with a mutation in a key gene controlling obesity.

• Open Learn - Health, Sports & Psychology

  Open Learn provides courses such as "Recovery strategies in sport and exercise", "Eating to win: activity, diet and weight control", and "The psychological aspects of sports injury."

• Orthopedic Assessment Methods

  Dr. Scott Sailor (Cal State Fresno) created videos on several tests used to determine the type and extent of injuries.

• Physical Education Videos

  This collection of seven videos from the Dallas County Community College District are available free from iTunes. The videos demonstrate lower body workouts, upper body workouts, and a cardiorespiratory endurance test.

• Saylor Academy - Human Physiology Course

  Entire course on human physiology- includes textbook, supplementary materials and even video clips.

• UC Irvine OpenCourseWare - Education

  Includes the course: Teaching PE & Health, Elementary Education (English)

• Videos for Human Anatomy and Physiology

  Georgia Highlands College videos for Human Anatomy and Physiology. Videos range from 1-3 minutes and are very in-depth/descriptive.

• YouTube - Kinesiology Channels

  A collection of YouTube channels dedicated to kinesiology.

• YouTube - Kinesiology Playlists

  A collection of educational videos posted on YouTube.