LibGuides: Business Research Guide: Databases

Introduction

Databases

Databases index the contents of journals, magazines, newspapers, and other kinds of subject, or general collections.

Below is a box for articles from journals and magazines, and another box for newspapers. Both sets of databases are interdisciplinary.

At the bottom of this page is a link to search for peer-reviewed articles using the catalog, OneSearch.

Journal/Magazine Articles

ABI/INFORM Collection
A comprehensive business database that includes newspapers, periodicals, scholarly journals, and trade publications, including the Economist, Sloan Management Review, & the Wall Street Journal. Tutorial.
Academic Search Premier
A multi-disciplinary database of more than 4,600 magazines and journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. Video tutorial.
Business Market Research Collection
Company information from Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch, & Snapshots. Includes industry analyses, summary financials, information about key executives and top competitors and more. Tutorial.
Business Source Premier
Research database which provides over 2000 periodicals, including about 1000 scholarly journals in business, marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics. Video tutorials.
CQ Researcher
Contains original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news including health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, the environment and the economy. FAQs.
Emerald Insight
Contains journals in business, library and information management, social sciences, engineering, language and linguistics.
Mergent Intellect
Provides U.S. and international business data, industry news and profiles, U.S. executive and consumer contact information, and U.S. census data.
Mergent Market Atlas
Business database providing access to a multitude of company, industry, country, index, ESG and economic data displays and reports. Tutorial.
Sage Business Cases
Contains examples of concepts and best practices from the global business environment. Scope of content may be used in a variety of disciplines.
Westlaw
Access primary U.S. legal research materials including federal and state Constitutions, statutes, cases, and administrative regulations. Secondary materials include legal commentaries, journal articles, and encyclopedias. User guide and training materials.

Newspapers

Access World News
Comprehensive news resource of more than 8,000 publications from nearly 200 countries, including major national and international newspapers. Subsections make it easy to quickly search California news, Business news, News sources in Spanish, etc. Tutorial.
Global Newsstream Collection
Users can search recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s. Over 3500 newspaper titles from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Tutorial.