If you plan to use certain images from DSpace (the collections digital webpage) or certain text/images from the paper collections, then, you probably need to obtain permission from the copyright holder (the person who created the material or image, sometimes the donor), as opposed to providing only a citation mentioning the Archives. Citing work will not protect you from legal action, if the work that you are distributing falls under copyright. The copyright holder may or may not be the Archives or Library; it depends on if the donor granted the Library and Archives the rights to the intellectual property or if the work is owned by a governmental entity.
Please see the archivist for permission and citing instruction, before using or distributing any information from archival material. Each collection will have its own citation format.
Review this information before you look at the collection materials: Copyright Basics and in particular, Using Copyrighted Material.
Copyright is a form of intellectual property. Intellectual property is a broad umbrella term for creative endeavors, such as inventions, literary and artistic (art) works, designs, symbols, names, and images. Copyright protects original works like books, drawings, music, and photos by granting the creator exclusive rights to reproduce, distribute, and display the work. Intellectual property also includes patents and trademarks.
Reproduction of archival material is subject to the terms and conditions of the Copyright Act. See US Code: Title 17, Section 107, Fair Use, for provisions and guidelines, which includes limited, non-profit use for scholarship. Fair Use applies to published material. It is highly suggested that you familiarize yourself with the boundaries of Fair Use, before you begin your research.
The researcher, by signing the registration form, agrees not to quote, publish, reproduce, or display the copy in whole or in part, without permission from the University Archives or the copyright owner (particularly for unpublished material), if applicable.
Determining copyright status of materials (especially important for unpublished materials) is the researcher's responsibility. Special Collections & Archives will share information that it has about copyright holders, when possible. See https://www.hrc.utexas.edu/research/watch/us/ for helpful information on this topic.
Copies may not be further duplicated nor deposited in or given to other institutions, without the written permission of the University Library/Archives and the copyright owner, if applicable. Again, securing permission to publish is the responsibility of the RESEARCHER. The researcher, by signing the registration form, agrees to hold harmless the University and its governing body and associates and the Library and its staff against all suits, claims, actions, and expenses arising out of his/her use of unpublished materials obtained from the Archives.
