BEFORE VISITING THE UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES
- Researchers are required to present identification (campus ID, California driver's license, or other valid identification with photo) to use the materials.
- At this time, the Archives is not requiring that masks be worn inside the Archives and Special Collections space. However, please do not visit if you are feeling ill for any reason, in respect for vulnerable populations.
- Please contact the archivist via e-mail to discuss the collection that you are interested in, at least two weeks before your visit. Unfortunately, space is limited and appointments are necessary. Due to limited space, we are only able to accommodate two researchers at a time. Please see "How our collections can help you".
- To obtain files, a Reader Registration form must be completed upon your first visit and will be kept for two years in the Archives. Depending on the collection, you may be asked to sign an acknowledgment of the Fair Use Rule and an acknowledgement of how to physically handle the collection materials. It is the researcher’s responsibility to understand and adhere to the Fair Use Rule and any other copyright laws regarding published and unpublished materials. Please see our "Copyright" section.
- Special Collections & Archives reserves the right to inspect all research materials and personal articles, before researchers exit the reading room. Please note that the reading room may monitored by library personnel and surveillance cameras.
- The materials do not circulate outside the Archives Reading Room. They cannot be checked out.
- Backpacks, books, book bags, briefcases, medium to large purses, or other storage items must be placed under the table, desk, locker or other space designated by the archivist, while research is conducted.
- Bring pencils and paper only; there are no pens allowed, when using the materials.
- Unless otherwise specified, you may take copies of most documents with your phone. You must follow copyright law and cite all works that are publicized or quoted. See the archivist for citation examples.
- We do not offer copying services; however, we will be happy to scan up to 10 pages for you at no cost.
- Please practice cell phone courtesy by turning off your ringer and taking calls outside.
- Laptop outlet capability is available - please specify if you will need it, when scheduling your appointment, as outlets are limited. We also have a computer for use, if you wish to type notes and e-mail them.
- There is no eating or drinking permitted (unless in a pop-top bottle) in the Reading Room. A Starbucks is located on the side of the Library and additional food sources are located throughout campus. Some are open on weekends. Please see the campus map here: https://maps.csuci.edu/.
- You will need to purchase a daily parking pass. Parking permit dispensers are located at Placer Hall (Public Safety), which is across from the library. You will be able to park behind the library, with that pass.
- PLEASE REVIEW THE COPYRIGHT SECTION OF THIS GUIDE BEFORE YOUR FIRST VISIT.
