Skip to main content

Chicana/o Studies Research Guide

Archives, Oral History, Media, and Images

Bracero History Archive

The Bracero History Archive collects and makes available the oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964. Millions of Mexican agricultural workers crossed the border under the program to work in more than half of the states in America.

Braceros of Ventura County Archive

This digital collection includes oral histories and documents from local Braceros collected by CI students. Also included are images and documentation on the exhibit "Bittersweet Harvest: The Bracero Program 1942-1964," hosted by CI in 2010.

Calisphere’s California Cultures - Hispanic Americans

Calisphere includes photographs, documents, graphics, and lesson plans.Images trace the history of Hispanic Americans in California from the Mission system and Californios into the 20th century: Mexican immigration into California, the farmworkers' labor struggles, and the Chicano Civil Rights movement and La Raza, which also resulted in an explosion of cultural art.

Farmworker Movement Documentation Project

Farmworker Movement Documentation Project features primary sources such as photos, music, oral history, poetry, manuscripts, and essays written by farmworker strikers and volunteers that document Cesar Chavez and his farmworker movement from 1962 to 1993.

Institute of Oral History

Collection of oral histories with an emphasis on the El Paso-Ciudad Juarez region and the U.S.-Mexico border.

Irene and Jorge Garcia Chicano-a Studies Collection

This archival and digital collection contains Chicano-a self-published, printed materials ranging from 1906-1990 that address a range of political, social, economic, and religious issues. Materials include pamphlets, booklets, journals, and cartoons written in English or Spanish.

Latinas in History

An interactive website that combines historical information, audio and visual materials, timelines, and primary and secondary sources to tell the stories of past and present Latina leaders.

Mexican American Civil Rights

Collection of oral histories from Mexican American social activists.

Remezcla

Remezcla is considered the most influential media brand for Latino Millennials with national and international audience in the US, Latin America, and Spain.

Tejano Voices

The Tejano Voices Project focuses on one hundred seventy six oral history interviews that reflect the history of the Tejano community as it pressed for an end to racial segregation in the state and access to political power in the post-WWII period.

Virtual Oral/Aural History Archive

Collection of Mexican American/Chicano oral histories.

VOCES: The U.S. Latino & Latina WWII Oral History Project

This project seeks to document and create a better awareness of the contributions of Latinos and Latinas of the WWII, Korean War, and Vietnam War generations.