LibGuides: Early Childhood Studies Research Guide: Data and Statistics

Data and Statistics

“Without data you’re just another person with an opinion.”
-W. Edwards Deming (1900-1993), American engineer, statistician, professor, author

Data and statistics are an important part of the research process but they can be tricky to navigate if you are unfamiliar with them. For more help navigating these resources, visit out Data & Statistics Research Guide. The content on this page is divided into two categories: Education Data for California and General Educational Data.

Education Data for California

California Community Colleges Chancellor's Office MIS Data Mart
California Community Colleges Chancellor's Office MIS Data Mart is an online data resource supported by the California Department of Education, EdSource, and the Fiscal Crisis & Management Assistance Team (FCMAT). The resource is designed to offer access to comprehensive data about K-12 education in California.
Children Now
Children Now is an organization supporting child welfare and education in California. The site provides research, statistics, and reports relating to education, abuse, child welfare, and other policy issues.
DataQuest
DataQuest The California Department of Education's online resource that provides access to a wide variety of data reports and files for download. It includes information about students, teachers, schools, test scores, and more.
Ed-Data
Ed-Data is an online data resource supported by the California Department of Education, EdSource, and the Fiscal Crisis & Management Assistance Team (FCMAT). The resource is designed to offer access to comprehensive data about K-12 education in California.
RAND California
RAND State Statistics contains California social science databases and holds data on the following topics: population/demographics, health care, crime, economics, transportation, labor, education, energy, and government finance.

Education Data

Cooperative Children's Book Center (CCBC) - Current Publishing Statistics
The Cooperative Children's Book Center (CCBC) is a unique and vital gathering place for books, ideas, and expertise in the field of children’s and young adult literature from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. This link brings you to the CCBC's diversity statistics page, which includes annually collected data on books by and about Black, Indigenous, and People of Color (BIPOC).
Condition of Education
The Condition of Education is program of from the National Center for Education Statistics. This resources contains key indicators on all levels of education, labor force outcomes, and international comparisons. The indicators summarize important developments and trends using the latest statistics, which are updated throughout the year as new data become available.
DATA.GOV
DATA.GOV is the central repository for a wide variety of data produced by federally funded and government agencies. Although it may not house all government data (some may still be stored on institutional sites), this is an excellent starting point when searching for national data. The site has a user-friendly interface and contains data on a variety of subject including consumers, education, finance, manufacturing, and public safety.
Digest of Education Statistics
The Digest of Education Statistics from the National Center for Education Statistics contains a set of tables covering the broad field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school.
United States Department of Education Data & Statistics
United States Department of Education Data & Statistics offers a variety of data about education and students of all levels, k-12 through college. The site includes large, downloadable datasets, fast facts (perfect for quick citations) and links to other agencies that host related educational policies and documents, like FAFSA and FERPA.
United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization Institute of Statistics
United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization Institute of Statistics UNESCO's portal and tool package for data and statistics relating to education, science, technology, culture, and communication from more than 200 countries.