Scholarly journals contain articles written by, and addressed to, experts in a discipline. Scholarly journals present the research of experts in a field, although these journals also often carry opinion pieces or even advertisements unique to the field addressed by the journal.
Peer-reviewed journals (also called refereed or juried journals) send submitted articles to one or more experts for review before deciding to publish them. This review process helps ensure that published articles reflect solid scholarship in a field. Most often, the experts reviewing an article make critical comments on the text, comments that the author must incorporate into the article before its publication.
Boolean Operators: Use AND, OR, NOT to expand or narrow results.
“Phrase Searching”: Use quotation marks (“”) around words to search for an exact phrase.
Wildcard/Truncation: Use an asterisk (*) to search for words with similar beginnings.
Visit the reference desk
Live Chat with a librarian
(805) 437-3362
Schedule an appointment
Writing & Multiliteracy Center
Search the Library's FAQs
Below are a list of useful databases and journals on early childhood studies. The content is organized by: Education Databases, Multidisciplinary and Reference Databases, Book Review Databases, Terminology, Database Video Tutorials, and Journals. Information on common terminology is located in the left column. Remember, if you cannot find the article you need in our catalog, use our Interlibrary Loan program to see if another library send us a copy.
Reference Databases
Reference databases are great resources when you need to learn the background and terminology of a new subject or field of study.
Multidisciplinary Databases
Multidisciplinary databases contain sources both within and beyond the field of early childhood studies. However, early childhood studies is a multidisciplinary field, making these databases useful to your research.
Video courtesy of Middlesex County College.
Video courtesy of the Lone Star College CyFair Branch Library.
Video courtesy of Meriam Library at CSU Chico. Start at 50 seconds for the database tutorial.
Video courtesy of Middlesex County College.
Here are a few peer-reviewed journals relating to early childhood studies. More journals can be found using the Journal Locator, searching Broome Library's OneSearch, or limiting your search to specific journals.
