Offering valuable insights to students of the history of medicine and to researchers seeking an historical context for current epidemiology, this collection contributes to our understanding of the global, social-history, and public-policy implications of disease. The collection provides general background information on diseases and epidemics worldwide, and is organized around significant “episodes,” topics, and people concerned with contagious disease.
The NLM History of Medicine Division (HMD) collects, preserves, makes available, and interprets for diverse audiences one of the world’s richest collections of historical material related to health and disease. Spanning ten centuries, encompassing a variety of digital and physical formats, and originating from nearly every part of the globe.
This collection of more than 1,800 documents includes internal reports and memoranda, correspondence about RF projects, program overviews, excerpts from board meeting dockets and entries from Foundation staff members’ diaries. The documents cover a broad range of the Foundation’s work in the twentieth century, including public health, medical education, agriculture, arts and culture, peace and conflict, natural sciences, and social sciences.
Digitized books, archives, manuscripts, film and sound, paintings, posters and more on the history of health.
An anthology of city essays and thousands of historical documents gathered while conducting our research constitutes this large digital collection of materials relating to the 1918-1919 influenza epidemic.