“The AllMusic website was created in 1995 as a place for music fans to indulge their passion. Whether you’re visiting AllMusic to look up an out-of-print recording, to get our take on a new release, or simply to explore the world of music and see where it may lead, you’ve come to the right spot.”
American Society of Composers, Authors, and Publishers
The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) is a membership association of more than 400,000 U.S. composers, songwriters, lyricists, and music publishers of every kind of music. The “news and events” tab has great information for music students.
The Ira F. Brilliant Center for Beethoven Studies at San Jose State University includes the Beethoven Gateway database for searching first editions and manuscripts as well as other music research. The center is the only North American institution with complete focus on Beethoven.
Berklee College of Music/ Online Music Instruction
This YouTube channel provides excellent instruction, and you can even subscribe so you will get the lessons as they are posted.
Broadcast Music, Inc. (BMI)
BMI collects license fees on behalf of songwriters, composers and music publishers and distributes them as royalties to those members whose works have been performed.
Christopher A. Reynolds Collection of Women’s Song, 1890-1930
This resource, written by a Distinguished Professor of Music at University of California, Davis, contains data such as number of songs, names, and publishers of women song writers.
“CultureCatch.com has over 160 half-hour interviews with today’s seminal artists in film, theater, music and literature. Here you’ll find in-depth interviews with smart culture individuals dissecting art, comedy, fashion, film, music, politics, television, theater, even cooking.”
Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology
“DDM is an international database of bibliographic records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology, as well as in related musical, scientific, and humanistic disciplines. Currently containing over 14,000 records, including the corrected and updated contents of all earlier printed editions of Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology and supplements contributed from musicological centers throughout the world, the database is fully searchable.”
Music Theory Online
A journal of criticism from the Society for Music Theory, Music Theory Online is peer reviewed and is indexed in RILM (International Repertory of Music Literature), Music Index, and other periodical indexes.The electronic journal includes full text articles, article commentaries, essays, and reviews regarding the study of professional music theory.
Namm Foundation Music Research
“The NAMM Foundation is a non-profit organization with the mission of advancing active participation in music making across the lifespan by supporting scientific research, philanthropic giving and public service programs from the international music products industry.”
National Museum of American History/ Music & Musical Instruments
Information about the Smithsonian’s music collections, including a collection of illustrated sheet music, makes this site useful for music students.
“Noisey is a video-driven music discovery platform, documenting the most talented emerging musicians from around the world. Curated by VICE, the site showcases bands and music scenes from over 10 countries.”
Performing Arts Encyclopedia from the Library of Congress
Information on concerts, events, sheet music, manuscripts, artists & scenes, music and the brain, and much more. Search and browse descriptions of more than 235 music, theater and dance resources by subject, title, or name.
Stearns Collection of Musical Instruments
“Holding over 2,500 historical and contemporary musical instruments from all over the world, the Stearns Collection of Musical Instruments is one of the largest accumulations of such artifacts housed in a North American university. Known internationally as a unique collection, it is not only a precious heritage from the past, but also a rich resource for musical, educational, and cultural needs of the present and future.”
This resource, written by a music student at University of California, Davis, contains data such as number of songs, names, and publishers of women song writers.