MedlinePlus is a service of the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health that provides authoritative health information from government agencies and health related organizations. MedlinePlus also contains extensive information about drugs and supplements, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive tutorials, the latest health news, and surgery videos.
PubMed is a bibliographic database created by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine. This database provides access to citations from biomedical journals; a few articles may be available for free. You can check CI’s Electronic Journal list to see if we own a particular journal.
PubMed Central is the National Library of Medicine’s searchable database of full-text journal literature. Journals deposit materials into this digital archive on a voluntary basis.
National Institutes of Health
National Institutes of Health is the nation’s primary agency for conducting and supporting medical research. The NIH is part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and is composed of 27 institutes and centers. You can link to any of the 27 institutes to find out statistics, news, clinical trials and research being conducted at that particular institute.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
The CDC website provides health and safety information to the public. Information included on this site are data and statistics, diseases and conditions, environmental health, haelthy living,life stages, workplace safety and health,and emergencies and disasters.
Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce
A collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations and health science libraries.