Skip to main content

Physics Research Guide

Academic Search Ultimate [Articles; Books/Textbooks]

trial button Academic Search Ultimate [End date: July 1, 2020]

Content: Access to academic journals, books, magazines, periodicals, reports, and videos in virtually all disciplines.

Books

OneSearch


OneSearch is the catalog for both the John Spoor Broome (JSB) Library and all 23 California State Universities. Everything or Books and Media All CSU will allow you to search all the books and media for the 23 campuses. The Books and Media CSUI allows you to locate books, electronic books, DVDs, CDs, and other items owned by the JSB Library.

WorldCat


WorldCat is a library catalog that contains items from libraries worldwide. When you find an item you would like in WorldCat you will want to click on the item title to verify that California State University, Channel Islands is not one of the libraries that owns this item. If you would like to request this item click link Request Item through Interlibrary Loan. This is a service available only to CSUCI Students, Faculty, and Staff.

ebrary


Ebrary offers access to thousands of e-books from trustworthy, academic publishers, this database provides authoritative information across the disciplines, including Language and Literature. Ebrary books can be downloaded to personal computers or devices (except Kindle) after creating a personal account and signing in. They may also be saved in PDF.

EBSCOhost Ebooks [Books/Textbooks]

trial button EBSCOhost Ebooks [End date: July 1, 2020]

Content: Access to EBSCO books covering topics in the arts and humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Includes Harvard Book Review ebooks.

Instructions:
Two options for reading:

  1. Read in real time online using the EPUB Full Text link in the left panel.
  2. Download the book for 1-7 days using the Full Download option. Note: If you choose the Full Download option, you will have to create an EBSCOhost account*, and download Adobe Digital Editions software. If you are using a CI-owned laptop, check to see if this software is already installed. Otherwise, you may not have installation privileges.
    *If you create an EBSCOhost account, consider using your CI Dolphin email address, and making up a password. Do not use your CI Dolphin password. All EBSCOhost accounts collect the following information:
  • Account Information, such as login credentials, email, and name.
  • Saved items, such as checkouts and saved searches.
  • Activity data, such as searches, retrievals, and link outs.
  • Other data, such as affiliations, and continuing education.

GeoScienceWorld [Books/Textbooks]

trial button GeoScienceWorld [End date: June 30, 2020]

Content: GeoScienceWorld is offering free access to most of its ebook collections. Ebooks are published by major geoscience societies and organizations.

Note: GeoScienceWorld also indexes GeoRef (in Databases A-Z). The benefit of this is that the following may be retrieved in full text for a limited time: 

Geomorphic and sedimentologic evidence for pluvial Lake Carrizo, San Luis Obispo County, California
Dallas D. Rhodes; Robert M. Negrini; J Ramon Arrowsmith; Peter E. Wigand; Steven L. Forman; Manuel R. Palacios-Fest; Owen K. Davis. 2019. From Saline to Freshwater: The Diversity of Western Lakes in Space and Time, Scott W. Starratt, Michael R. Rosen.
DOI: 10.1130/2019.2536(16)
After June 30, 2020, this will only be available through ILLiad.

IEEE Xplore Digital Library [Articles; Learning courses/Study tools; Reference]

extra content button IEEE Xplore Digital Library Courses [End date: June 1, 2020]

Content: In addition to all IEEE journals, conference proceedings, transactions, and magazines, and IET journals and conference proceedings, and all active and historical IEEE standards, access to courses is now available. 

Pathway: Login at https://myci.csuci.edu/ >>  Library Resources & Services >> Databases A-Z >> IEEE Xplore Digital Library >> Browse dropdown menu >> Courses

Documentation on learning courses and programs: https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/Xplorehelp/downloads/user-guides/IEEE_Xplore_eLearning_Library_User_Guide.pdf

Internet Archive National Emergency Library [Books/Textbooks]

trial button Internet Archive National Emergency Library [End date: June 15, 2020]

Content: A collection of books that supports emergency remote teaching, research activities, independent scholarship, and intellectual stimulation while universities, schools, training centers, and libraries are closed.

Please note that the date has been moved back from the original: June 30, 2020. See the Internet Archive blog post announcing this change on June 10, 2020.

JSTOR [Articles; Books/Textbooks]

extra content button JSTOR [End date: Ebooks: August 31, 2020; Articles: December 31, 2020]

Content:

The volume of content can be overwhelming. Consider browsing by subject: https://www-jstor-org.summit.csuci.edu/subjects.

Pathway: Login at https://myci.csuci.edu/ >>  Library Resources & Services >> Databases A-Z >> JSTOR

MIT Press [Books/Textbooks]

trial button MIT Press Books [End date: June 1, 2020]

Content: Collections from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology Press include titles on art and architecture, biomedical sciences, business and finance, computer science, cognitive science, design, education, environment, game studies, humanities, information science, linguistics, neuroscience, new media, philosophy, and social sciences.

National Academies Press

National Academies Press logoThe National Academies Press (NAP) publishes the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative, independently-researched information on important matters in science and health policy. Offers more than 8,500 titles in PDF format. Almost all of these PDFs can be downloaded for free by the chapter or the entire book.

Rittenhouse Book Distributors [Books/Textbooks]

trial button Rittenhouse Book Distributors [End date: May 31, 2020]

Content: Books in the fields of medicine, nursing and allied health from leading health sciences publishers.

ScienceDirect [Articles; Books/Textbooks; Reference]

extra content button ScienceDirect (Elsevier) [End date: July 1, 2020]

Content: In addition to the journal articles, access is made available to books and reference materials.

Pathway: Login at https://myci.csuci.edu/ >>  Library Resources & Services >> Databases A-Z >> ScienceDirect

Springer Link [Articles; Books/Textbooks; Reference]

extra content button Springer Link [End date: July 31, 2020]

Content: Access to scientific documents through the following formats: articles, books, proceedings, protocols, and reference works.

VitalSource [Books/Textbooks]

trial button VitalSource [End Date: June 1, 2020]

Content: Access to 7 (seven) free electronic books. Sign up for an account. Wait for authentication email.

Instructions:

  1. Go to https://bookshelf.vitalsource.com/#/user/signin and create a VitalSource account. You must use your CSU CI Dolphin email address to get access to this resource. Use your CI Dolphin email address. Do _NOT_ use your CI Dolphin email. Make up a new password.
  2. Check your CSU CI Dolphin email account for a verification email. Check Junk mail, in case the verification falls there!
  3. Click the link in your email to finish signing up.
  4. Once you're signed in, search for your book.
  5. When you see your book, click "Borrow;" the book will be added to your "Bookshelf" (top, left of page).
  6. Click "Continue Reading" and the book will open up in your online browser. There are options to print, download portions of the book, bookmark, and highlight the pages.

Note: You may read online, but this still counts as one of the seven allotted titles. You may download free reading software (Bookshelf), which allows you to make notes, highlight, etc.