LibGuides: Psychology Research Guide: Test & Measurements

Tests & Measurements

About Tests and Measurements

Tests and Measurements are standardized instruments, such as questionnaires, inventories and scales, which are used to measure constructs in various social science disciplines. They are used for diagnosis, research or assessment.

Helpful Hints:

Finding specific tests and measurements can be challenging. In some cases, you will find only a description or review of the test and not the test itself.
Not all tests are readily available. In order to obtain and administer many published psychological tests (commercial tests), one must be a licensed professional or meet certain criteria; also, many published tests are only available through purchase.
Non-published or non-commercial tests may be obtained more easily. They can appear in books, journal articles, or in other sources. Identifying and locating them may take some time and patience.
In brief, there is no quick, easy, one-stop shop, guaranteed way of finding tests and measures. Finding them requires looking in several different print and/or electronic sources.

(CSU Northridge, 2011)

FAQ’s
The American Psychological Association (APA) has a Frequently Asked Questions webpage which answers many questions about how and where to find different published and unpublished psychological tests and measurements.

Sources for Tests and Measurements

PsycTESTS (EBSCO)
Extensive collection of psychological measures, research instruments, scales, surveys, and test types in a variety of subject areas. Coverage spans more than 100 years with emphasis on current research instruments.

Mental Measurements Yearbook (EBSCO)
The Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) database provides users with a comprehensive and descriptive index of over 2,700 tests used for psychological research. The descriptive information included in each test entry consists of test name, intended population, publication dates, forms and prices, test author, and publisher. Please note copies of actual test instruments not included.

APA Science Directorate: Testing and Assessment

“APA's Testing Office does not maintain, sell or endorse any tests. However, we do try to assist the public by directing people to the available resources to help them find what they need. In addition to the material provided on this site, additional testing-related resources are available through the page of links to other testing-related sites."

Books

Handbook of Clinical Rating Scales and Assessment in Psychiatry and Mental Health
ISBN: 9786612828713

This handbook offers a comprehensive overview of clinical rating scales and assessment tools used across psychiatric and mental health practice. It reviews validated measures and structured interviews for major psychiatric conditions, providing guidance on when and how to apply each. The text includes reproducible scales, scoring keys, and resources for online tools, as well as practical instruction on integrating psychological testing into treatment. An essential reference for clinicians and researchers seeking evidence-based approaches to psychiatric assessment.
Measures of Personality and Social Psychological Constructs by Gregory J. Boyle (Editor); Donald H. Saklofske (Editor); Gerald Matthews (Editor)
ISBN: 0123869587

Publication Date: 2014-09-04

This comprehensive resource reviews validated scales and measures used to assess key constructs in personality and social psychology. Organized into five major domains—from emotional dispositions and emotion regulation to interpersonal styles, moral characteristics, and sociocultural attitudes—the book provides detailed information on each measure’s validity, reliability, and appropriate applications. Emphasizing widely used and recently developed instruments, it offers practical guidance for selecting tools suited to diverse research and clinical contexts. An essential reference for students, researchers, and practitioners seeking empirically grounded measures across psychological domains.
Practitioner's Guide to Empirically Based Measures of Social Skills
ISBN: 9786612830228

This resource provides an in-depth look at research-based tools for assessing social skills across childhood, adolescence, and adulthood. Grounded in social learning theory, it reviews nearly 100 measures with guidance on administration, scoring, and reliability. The book connects assessment to practical applications for issues such as autism, social anxiety, and other clinical concerns, making it an accessible and valuable reference for students, researchers, and clinicians interested in evidence-based practice.
Sage Handbook of Personality Theory and Assessment by Gregory J. Boyle (Editor); Gerald Matthews (Editor); Donald H. Saklofske (Editor)
ISBN: 9781283880695

Publication Date: 2008-01-01

This authoritative volume provides a comprehensive overview of contemporary methods for assessing personality and individual differences. Focusing on psychometric theory and measurement, it reviews key models, testing approaches, and empirical developments in personality assessment. Designed for researchers and practitioners, the handbook serves as a critical reference for understanding the theoretical and methodological foundations of modern personality evaluation.
The Clinical Assessment of Children and Adolescents by Steven R. Smith (Editor); Leonard Handler (Editor)
ISBN: 1315831473

Publication Date: 2014-01-09

A practical guide to psychological assessment in youth, emphasizing test selection, interpretation, and clinical application through real-world case examples. Covering areas such as personality, behavior, depression, and thought disorders, it offers clear, clinically grounded guidance rather than exhaustive test listings. Ideal for clinicians and graduate students in child and adolescent mental health.
Handbook of Cross-Cultural and Multicultural Personality Assessment by Richard H. Dana (Editor)
ISBN: 1410602370

Publication Date: 2000-02-01

A global overview of culturally competent personality assessment, offering strategies to reduce bias and improve accuracy in evaluating individuals from diverse backgrounds. Featuring contributions from researchers and practitioners worldwide, it addresses test design, acculturation measures, cultural identity, and culturally sensitive interpretation of assessment data.
Handbook of Assessment and Treatment of Eating Disorders by B. Timothy Walsh (Editor); Evelyn Attia (Editor); Deborah R. Glasofer (Editor); Robyn Sysko (Editor)
ISBN: 9781615370399

Publication Date: 2015-10-09

This comprehensive resource guides clinicians in the DSM-5®–based assessment, diagnosis, and treatment of eating disorders across the lifespan. It reviews major conditions such as anorexia, bulimia, binge-eating disorder, and avoidant/restrictive intake disorder, with attention to child, adolescent, and male presentations. Chapters highlight assessment tools, culturally informed practice, and key clinical takeaways for application in diverse settings. An essential reference for students and professionals seeking current, evidence-based approaches to eating disorder care.
Essentials of School Neuropsychological Assessment by Daniel C. Miller; Denise E. Maricle; Alan S. Kaufman (Series edited by); Nadeen L. Kaufman (Series edited by)
ISBN: 1119533201

Publication Date: 2019-02-12

This updated edition provides a concise, practice-oriented overview of neuropsychological assessment in school and pediatric settings. It outlines effective approaches to case history collection, test selection, evaluation, and interpretation for accurate diagnosis and intervention planning. Featuring major tools such as the NEPSY-II, WISC-V Integrated, and D-KEFS, the book incorporates current advances and digital resources, including sample cases and reporting templates. Designed for efficiency and clarity, it offers accessible guidance for school psychologists and clinicians supporting student learning and development.
Essentials of WISC-V Integrated Assessment by Susan Engi Raiford
ISBN: 9781119370444

Publication Date: 2017-09-20

This guide provides clear instruction on administering, scoring, and interpreting the WISC-V and WISC-V Integrated. It introduces new composite and index scores for assessing visual-spatial ability, working memory, and processing speed, aiding evaluation of children with expressive or motor challenges. Featuring digital tools and interpretive aids, it supports accurate cognitive assessment and effective educational planning.