OneSearch is the catalog for both the John Spoor Broome (JSB) Library and all 23 California State Universities. Everything or Books and Media All CSU will allow you to search all the books and media for the 23 campuses. The Books and Media CSUI allows you to locate books, electronic books, DVDs, CDs, and other items owned by the JSB Library.
WorldCat is a library catalog that contains items from libraries worldwide. When you find an item you would like in WorldCat you will want to click on the item title to verify that California State University, Channel Islands is not one of the libraries that owns this item. If you would like to request this item click link Request Item through Interlibrary Loan. This is a service available only to CSUCI Students, Faculty, and Staff.
Ebrary offers access to thousands of e-books from trustworthy, academic publishers, this database provides authoritative information across the disciplines, including Language and Literature. Ebrary books can be downloaded to personal computers or devices (except Kindle) after creating a personal account and signing in. They may also be saved in PDF.
Cochrane Library [End date: To be determined.]
Content: The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, including:
EBSCOhost Ebooks [End date: July 1, 2020]
Content: Access to EBSCO books covering topics in the arts and humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Includes Harvard Book Review ebooks.
Two options for reading:
GeoScienceWorld [End date: June 30, 2020]
Content: GeoScienceWorld is offering free access to most of its ebook collections. Ebooks are published by major geoscience societies and organizations.
Note: GeoScienceWorld also indexes GeoRef (in Databases A-Z). The benefit of this is that the following may be retrieved in full text for a limited time:
IEEE Xplore Digital Library Courses [End date: June 1, 2020]
Content: In addition to all IEEE journals, conference proceedings, transactions, and magazines, and IET journals and conference proceedings, and all active and historical IEEE standards, access to courses is now available.
Documentation on learning courses and programs: https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/Xplorehelp/downloads/user-guides/IEEE_Xplore_eLearning_Library_User_Guide.pdf
Internet Archive National Emergency Library [End date: June 15, 2020]
Content: A collection of books that supports emergency remote teaching, research activities, independent scholarship, and intellectual stimulation while universities, schools, training centers, and libraries are closed.
Please note that the date has been moved back from the original: June 30, 2020. See the Internet Archive blog post announcing this change on June 10, 2020.
JSTOR [End date: Ebooks: August 31, 2020; Articles: December 31, 2020]
The volume of content can be overwhelming. Consider browsing by subject: https://www-jstor-org.summit.csuci.edu/subjects.
The National Academies Press (NAP) publishes the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative, independently-researched information on important matters in science and health policy. Offers more than 8,500 titles in PDF format. Almost all of these PDFs can be downloaded for free by the chapter or the entire book.
VitalSource [End Date: June 1, 2020]
Content: Access to 7 (seven) free electronic books. Sign up for an account. Wait for authentication email.
Note: You may read online, but this still counts as one of the seven allotted titles. You may download free reading software (Bookshelf), which allows you to make notes, highlight, etc.