Skip to main content

Global Languages Research Guide

The Irene and Jorge Garcia Collection

The Irene and Jorge Garcia Chicano Studies Collection focuses on the U.S. immigrant experience from all eras and examines disenfranchised groups. With over 4,000 titles, the collection emphasizes Chicano Studies as well as other ethnic studies groups such as Filipino, Armenian, Latin American, German, and Irish. The scope of the collection also includes Chicano popular fiction, rare codices, classic children's books in Spanish, and over 300 music titles from varying genres like traditional mariachi to contemporary Chilean techno music.

Browse the complete collection.

Browse the children’s titles from the collection.

Books

OneSearch


OneSearch is the catalog for both the John Spoor Broome (JSB) Library and all 23 California State Universities. Everything or Books and Media All CSU will allow you to search all the books and media for the 23 campuses. The Books and Media CSUI allows you to locate books, electronic books, DVDs, CDs, and other items owned by the JSB Library.

WorldCat


WorldCat is a library catalog that contains items from libraries worldwide. When you find an item you would like in WorldCat you will want to click on the item title to verify that California State University, Channel Islands is not one of the libraries that owns this item. If you would like to request this item click link Request Item through Interlibrary Loan. This is a service available only to CSUCI Students, Faculty, and Staff.

ebrary


Ebrary offers access to thousands of e-books from trustworthy, academic publishers, this database provides authoritative information across the disciplines, including Language and Literature. Ebrary books can be downloaded to personal computers or devices (except Kindle) after creating a personal account and signing in. They may also be saved in PDF.