LibGuides: Global Languages Research Guide: Databases

Databases

AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Contains over 250,000 articles from American Anthropological Association publications. Tutorial.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) database of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses. Tutorial.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
GenderWatch is a database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports. Tutorial.
Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive business travel, telecommunications, and business culture reference information on 175 countries.
HRAF Archaeology This link opens in a new window
Database of prehistoric cultures organized by archaeological traditions and regions from around the world.
HRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
A database containing information on the cultural and social studies of various ethnic groups.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an interdisciplinary & historical database providing access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, images, & primary sources. Ebooks are downloadable by chapter, without printing restrictions. Now includes Artstor's 2.5 million images. Tutorials for JSTOR and for ArtStor images.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.

Journals

Aztlán: A Journal of Chicano Studies
An interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed journal with essays in the humanities, social sciences, and arts.

El canto de los delfines: Revista de literatura y arte
This CI open access journal publishes creative fiction and non-fiction work, and visual arts.

Latino Studies
An international, interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed journal aimed at advancing Latina/o scholarship, research, and dialogue.

Voces: A Journal of Chicana/Latina Studies
A journal published by Mujeres Activas en Letras y Cambio Social (MALCS), an organization of Chicanas/Latinas and Native American women working in academia and the community to support Chicana/Latina and Native American women's issues.