History Research Guide

JSTOR is an interdisciplinary & historical database providing access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, images, & primary sources. Ebooks are downloadable by chapter, without printing restrictions. Now includes Artstor's 2.5 million images.

Indexes scholarly literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.

Project Muse provides full-text access to over 700 journals and 70,000 ebooks. Provides high-quality, peer-reviewed Humanities and Social Science content. Ebooks are downloadable by chapter, without printing restrictions.

A multi-disciplinary database of more than 4,600 magazines and journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.

Contains more than 1 million dissertations and theses in the Humanities and Social Sciences.

Interdisciplinary list of dictionaries and encyclopedias covering the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences.

Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias.

Contains 2,009 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of diaries, letters and memoirs from the Civil War Era.

Contains over 50,000 primary source documents covering American history from 1493 to 1945 including correspondence, diaries, government documents, business records, books, pamphlets, newspapers, broadsides, photographs, artwork and maps.

Contains primary material of historical importance including legislative and executive documents, speeches of U.S. presidents and coverage of historical events from 1789-1838.

Books, journals, diaries and pioneer accounts, maps, broadsides, periodicals, advertisements, photographs, and artwork of the American West from the early eighteenth to the mid-twentieth century.

Rare texts, visual images, personal and business correspondence, newspapers, and maps which document the trading and cultural relationships between China, America, and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries.

Archive of official publications and primary source material related to civil rights in the United States covering a wide range of topics for research in American history, political science, social justice and related fields.

Documents the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850, this collection focuses on personal accounts of traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women.

These records (from ProQuest History Vault ) cover Asian immigration, especially Japanese and Chinese migration, to California, Hawaii, and other states; Mexican immigration to the U.S. from 1906-1930; and European immigration. There are also extensive files on the INS regulation of prostitution and white slavery and on suppression of radical aliens.

This History Vault module contains documents from the day-to-day running of the 10 relocation camps from 1942-1946. The collection is organized by relocation center. Records include reports and correspondence on issues such as security, education, health, vocational training, agriculture, food, family welfare, and more.

Collection of primary sources and popular material for high school student research, including American history and government, country reports and the sciences.

Provides a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950. Composed of contemporaneous letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives.

Includes letters and diaries documenting the immediate experiences of 1,325 women. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.

The Race Relations Institute was a pioneering social science organisation, and its archive includes speeches, statistics, reports and much more, from 1943-1970. Discover a wealth of primary source material on the Civil Rights Movement, segregation, discrimination and racial theory in America during three pivotal decades of the twentieth century.

Bringing together primary source documents from archives and libraries across the Atlantic world, this resource allows students and researchers to explore and compare unique material relating to the complex subjects of slavery, abolition and social justice. In addition to the primary source documents there is a wealth of useful secondary sources for research and teaching; including an interactive map, scholarly essays, tutorials, a visual sources gallery, chronology and bibliography. Register for My Archive and save your favourite documents, search results and images to your personal collection area.

From the 1760s to the 1950s the United States of America expanded southward and westward, acquiring territories that spanned from Florida to California to Alaska. For over one hundred years the territorial governments and affairs in general were supervised by the Department of State. In 1873 that responsibility was transferred to the Department of the Interior and, with the exception of appointments of territorial officials, was ordinarily referred to the Patents and Miscellaneous Division. From this unlikely source comes the official history of the states’ formative territorial years recorded in primary source documents, many of which are hand-written, that include official correspondence with Washington, Native American negotiations and treaties, military records, judicial proceedings, population data, financial statistics, land records, and more.

Contains reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Covering public policy, infrastructure, the land, the people, military and defense, and more.

Contains images and indexing for maps published in reports and documents of the 37th Congress, 1st Session through the 103rd Congress, 2nd session. The maps published as part of U.S. Congressional Serial Set publications

Contains resources on the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000. Includes videos, articles, primary sources, and archives.

Multi-database search including Early American Newspapers, Series 1: From Colonies to Nation, Caribbean Newspapers, & Hispanic American Newspapers.

Provides coverage of the politics, society and events by the premier U.S newpaper. The Historical New York Times (1851-2020) provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images. NYT Index covers 1851-1993.

Includes historical African American Newspapers: Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988); Chicago Defender (1910-1975); Cleveland Call & Post (1934-1991); Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005); Michigan Chronicle (1936-2010); New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993); The Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003); The Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002).

Contains hundreds of digitized newspapers published in the United States by Hispanics between 1808-1980.

American Antiquarian Society provides digital access to an extensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1877.

Discover North American Indigenous journalism from a range of communities, includes 45 titles dating from 1828 to 2016.

Contains over 1,100 periodicals published between 1740 and 1940.

Collects over 700 Early American newspapers which document the daily life of hundreds of diverse American communities.

Collects over 700 Early American newspapers which document the daily life of hundreds of diverse American communities.

Indexes the contents of scholarly journals on topics ranging from political, economic and social issues to the arts and humanities. Covers Latin America and the Caribbean since the late 1960s.

Digitized California newspapers from 1846 to the present.

NewspaperARCHIVE.com provides access to California newspapers from around 1774 to the present. California newspapers in the archive is fully searchable by keyword and date.

Primary source collection focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, Brooklyn, and North Carolina, this collection presents multiple aspects of the African American community through personal diaries and scrapbooks, pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records and in-depth oral histories.

Features 173 periodicals spanning from 1816 through 1922, including newspapers and magazines, reports and annuals from various African American churches, educational, and service institutions.

Contains over 1,000 printed documents, including books, pamphlets, sheet music, speeches, and other artifacts from the Afro-Americana collection of the Library Company of Philadelphia, covering the post-Reconstruction period.

Contains almost 1,400 printed documents, including books, pamphlets, sheet music, speeches, and other artifacts from the Afro-Americana collection of the Library Company of Philadelphia, covering the post-Civil War period.

This primary source database includes records from various relevant organizations such as Southern Christian Leadership Conference, the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee, the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People and the papers of sundry civil rights leaders.

Features selected primary documents related to critical people and events in African American history. The website highlights documents from the following time periods: 1. Slavery and the Abolitionist Movement (1790-1860); 2. The Civil War and the Reconstruction Era (1861-1877); 3. Jim Crow Era from 1878 to the Great Depression (1878-1932); 4. The New Deal and World War II (1933-1945); 5. The Civil Rights and Black Power Movements (1946-1975); 6. The Contemporary Era (1976-2000).

Covers primary and secondary sources, including leading historical Black newspapers, archival documents and collections, key government materials, videos, writings by Black intellectuals and leaders, scholarly journals, and essays by scholars in Black Studies.

Key African American magazines of the 20th century, covering events, art, design, politics and culture, literature, advertising, and more. Provides full text from November 1945 to June 2014 (including covers and advertisements).

Includes historical African American Newspapers: Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988); Chicago Defender (1910-1975); Cleveland Call & Post (1934-1991); Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005); Michigan Chronicle (1936-2010); New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993); The Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003); The Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002).

Contains hundreds of digitized newspapers published in the United States by Hispanics between 1808-1980.

Indexes the contents of scholarly journals on topics ranging from political, economic and social issues to the arts and humanities. Covers Latin America and the Caribbean since the late 1960s.

Digital archive from over 700 Spanish-language news publications covering the colonial era through 2009, illustrating that people of Spanish speaking heritage have shaped the geography, arts, culture, and civil discourse of the United States.

Manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books, treaties, speeches, and diaries dating from the earliest contact with European settlers to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century.

Discover North American Indigenous journalism from a range of communities, includes 45 titles dating from 1828 to 2016.

Documents the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850, this collection focuses on personal accounts of traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women.

Contains over 1,500 publications, including maps, books, treaties, and other printed and graphic artifacts focusing on the relationship between Native Americans and European settlers. This collection is assembled from the holdings of the American Antiquarian Society, the Library Company of Philadelphia, and many other institutions.

These primary source documents cover not only encounters between Indigenous people and the U.S. government, but also accounts of Native American cultures during a time when disease and forced relocation were transforming their lives. Now, these rare materials are available for the first time in a readily accessible digital collection, which also contains detailed historicalbackground notes created by the curators of the National Archives. Native American Tribal Histories, 1813-1880, is a powerful new resource for anyone interested in the past, present and future of Native America.

Contains autobiographies, biographies, publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Peoples.

An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) database of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses.

All of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for more than 140 of the most important and historically significant LGBTQ+ journals, magazines and regional newspapers, plus full text for 150 monographs/books.

Includes more than 2,700 collections of Oral History in English from around the world. Features Ellis Island Oral History Project, Civil Rights Documentation Project, Japanese American Relocation Digital Archive, and Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers Project, 1936-1938.