LibGuides: Latin American Art Research Guide: Find Web Materials

Web Resources

Below are a list of free digital collections (called Open Access), local and international museums, and organizations related to Latin American Art.

Open Access resources are digital resources that are free and open to the public without pay or a university login. These digital collections bring the art and information housed in museums to the public through online access. While some museums may not have fully digitized collections, many provide other valuable online resources that support research on Latin American art.

Organizations studying Latin America connect researchers across disciplines and facilitate collaboration.

Digital Collections (Open Access)

Museum Digital Collections

Other Digital Collections

Calisphere
Calisphere provides free access to unique and historically important artifacts for research, teaching, and curious exploration. Discover over two million photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more. Calisphere hosts the digital collections of hundreds of California Universities, Public Libraries, Archives, and Museums. So instead of searching individual collections, save yourself some time and search Calisphere. Contributors include the UCLA, USC, CSUCI, Huntington Library, Oxnard Public Library, and hundreds more!
Library of Congress Digital Collections
The Library of Congress Digital Collections comprise millions of items including books, newspapers, manuscripts, prints and photos, maps, musical scores, films, sound recordings and more.
Internet Archive
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free texts, movies, software, music, websites, and more. Also includes a large collection of art exhibition guides, which are useful in art history research.

Museums in the United States

Southern California Museums

These local museums all feature or focus on Latin American art.

Additional Museums

Museums Abroad

These international museums have useful resources for conducting research in Latin American art history. But the do not contain significant digital collections, for those resources, see the other resources on this guide.

LANIC Archived Museum List
Archived list of museums in Latin America compiled by the Latin American Information Network (LANIC). LANIC is associated with the Teresa Lozano Long Institute for Latin American Studies (LLILAS) at the University of Texas at Austin.
Nuevo Museo de Arte Contemporáneo (NUMU) - Guatemala
Read about current and past exhibitions
Museo de Arte Moderno - Dominican Republic
Virtual walk through of the museum
Museo del Palacio de Bellas Artes, Mexico
Access a virtual tour of current exhibitions, online publications, and information on the murals of the museum
Museo de Arte Latinoamericano de Buenos Aires
Access the online archive conatining films, essays, literaure, and exhibition information
Museo de arte de El Salvador (MARTE)
Digital archive where you can search through old exhibition catalogs, museum publications, the virtual library, and writings on the museum’s artist of the month from 2003-2011

Organizations

Latin American Studies Association
The Latin American Studies Association (LASA) is the largest professional association in the world for individuals and institutions engaged in the study of Latin America. LASA brings together experts on Latin America from all disciplines and diverse occupational endeavors, across the globe.
Institute for Studies on Latin American Art
The Institute for Studies on Latin American Art (ISLAA) supports the study and visibility of Latin American art. ISLAA recognizes Latin American artists and cultural movements as integral to the trajectory of twentieth- and twenty-first-century art. We seek to expand these narratives by creating opportunities for researchers, curators, and the public through grants, exhibitions, publications, and our art and archival collections.
Afro-Latin/American Research Association
The Afro-Latin/American Research Association seeks to establish Afro-Latin/American studies as a field that is distinguished by being international, interdisciplinary, inter-ethnic, comparative, and collegial.
Association for Latin American Art
Non-profit organization dedicated to the study of the art of Latin America.
Haiti Friends
Haiti Friends, through art, expands awareness of the culture of the Haitian people and their economic and ecological needs while improving the environmental conditions in Haiti. Haiti Friends shares Haitian artwork through art sales, open-houses, and special exhibits where Haiti Friends hosts educational events about the Haitian artwork.