Course Reserves/Streaming Media: Finding Library Video/Audio Resources

This University of Arizona resource is an online collection of more than 450 historic films by and about Native peoples of the Americas. Much of the work made in the last third of the 20th century comes from Indian communities themselves.

This website provides a wealth of films on the visual arts from around the world. The time periods range from the antiquities to the modern age and cover all the major styles of the artists. Great resource for teachers and students studying the fine arts and film.

C-SPAN maintains archives of all three channels, seven days per week, twenty-four hours per day, going back to 1987. Programs are extensively indexed. Resources include:
• Chronicles of events and proceedings for the three branches of the federal government.
• The C-Span weekend series, including numerous historical resources (e.g. “The Civil War,” “Landmark Cases,” “Lincoln-Douglas Debates,” “1968 – America in Turmoil,” and many more).

Provides access to online films, texts, images, and audio recordings related to the Civil Rights movement in the United States in the 1950's and 1960's. CRDL is a partnership among librarians, technologists, archivists, educators, scholars, academic publishers, and public broadcasters. The initiative receives support through a National Leadership Grant for Libraries awarded to the University of Georgia by the Institute of Museum and Library Services. The site provides both simple keyword searching and advanced searching. Content also can be browsed by Events, Places, People, Topics, Media Types (including print, government records, correspondences, etc.).

Culture Unplugged (C.U.) provides access to hundreds of documentary films, spanning multiple facets of global issues.

Provides free access to the best movies from the Federal Government, including training videos for the military,national parks, U.S. Postal Service, Food and Drug Administration and other branches of the Federal Government. All videos are available for reuse without penalty or restrictions.

The Free Music Archive is a curator-driven digital library of legal audio downloads cleared for certain types of uses, as determined by the rights holders. The library was initially founded by freeform radio station WFMU. See license information on the right hand side of the web page for each resource prior to use. The archive includes music in multiple genres.

The Internet Archive includes a collection of more than two-hundred thousand free historical videos, with associated copyright/rightsholder/use data. Resources include:
• Feature films now in the public domain
• News and public affairs independent of traditional corporate media (e.g. Democracy Now’s daily news program, Open Media Project content)
• Animation shorts and full-length films
• Spanish language films and resources
• The Academic Film Archive of North America (includes ethnographic and other social science resources)
• And much more!

Audio resources include voice recordings and music recordings. These are organized by collection, location, date, and format. Examples of collection resources include the following:
• African-American Band Music & Recordings, 1883-1923
• The Library of Congress Celebrates the Songs of America (including resources such as Songs of Social Change, A Sampler of Luso-Hispanic American Music and Song, Songs of Immigration and Migration, and many others)
• A collection of ethnography recordings

The Library of Congress has numerous online video collections, including resources in numerous disciplines. These collections are particularly rich in resources for the arts. Examples include the following:
• Variety Stage Sound Recordings and Motion Pictures
• Origins of American Animation
• Great Conversations in Music
• Geographers on Film
• The Spanish-American War in Motion Pictures
• National Screening Room : This collection showcases a broad range of historical and cultural resources from the library’s moving image collection. The collection includes otherwise unavailable movies, and includes public domain movies, and copyrighted movies with permissions for educational use.

PBS SoCal | KCET and PBS have curated free, standards-aligned videos, interactives, lesson plans, and more for K through higher education

This site provides free access to some PBS videos from various PBS series. Expiration dates for free viewing are provided

Contains thousands of multimedia videos highlighting the U.S. Department of Energy's scientific research. State-of-the-art audio indexing and speech recognition technology allows the user to search for specific words and phrases spoken by the presenter in these video files. Simply enter a term and the results list will point to the precise snippets of the video where the term was spoken.

The archives of El Teatro Campesino are the largest archival collection on Chicano theater, consisting of approximately 157 linear feet of archives and manuscripts. They include a variety of formats, dating from the Teatro's founding in 1965. They include primary materials for researchers with an interest in theater arts, cultural arts, history, political science, labor relations, ethnic studies, sociology, anthropology, and women's studies.

The United States Holocaust Memorial Museum (USHMM) collections includes over 4,500 moving image historical records (e.g., propaganda films, Newsreel footage) and over 7,600 hours of streaming video oral history testimonials.