Use the Instruction Request Form to request a library instruction session.
If you have any questions about the information on this guide, information literacy, or library instruction sessions please email the IL Program at library.instruction@csuci.edu.
This page includes video tutorials created by our and other libraries on searching library catalogs and popular library databases.
For more video tutorials on research, check out the Library Research Tutorials Guide.
Watch this 11:04 video to learn how to navigate the OneSearch library catalog.
Video Credit: "Searching the Library Catalog at Broome Library" by Breeann Austin at Broome Library licensed under Creative Commons Attribution license (reuse allowed)
Academic Search Premier is one of our most popular databases. To become more familiar with the database, watch the video tutorials below. To get the most out of these tutorials, it is recommended you open a new window in your browser and follow along with the steps.
Watch this 4:34 video for a brief tutorial and overview on searching Academic Search Premier. For a more in-depth tutorial, see the next video on this tab.
Video Credit: "Academic Search Premier: Brief Database Tutorial" by Broome Library licensed under Creative Commons Attribution license (reuse allowed)
Watch this 11:30 video for a more in-depth tutorial on using Academic Search Premier.
Video Credit: "Academic Search Premier: In Depth Tutorial" by Broome Library licensed under Creative Commons Attribution license (reuse allowed)
PsycINFO is one of our most popular psychology databases. To become more familiar with the database, watch the video tutorials below. To get the most out of this tutorial, it is recommended you open a new window in your browser and follow along with the steps.
Video Credit: "APA PsycInfo Tutorial (2020 Update)" by Middlesex County College Library.
Video Credit: "CSUCI Broome Library: PsycInfo Database Interface" by Colleen Harris for Broome Library.
Video Credit: "CSUCI Broome Library: Exploring PsycInfo Records from Search Results" by Colleen Harris for Broome Library.
JSTOR and ARTSTOR are our most popular humanities and art databases. They use to be separate databases but are now merging into one. Watch the video tutorials below to learn how to navigate and search these combined databases. To get the most out of this tutorial, it is recommended you open a new window in your browser and follow along with the steps.
Video Credit: "Intro to JSTOR with ARTSTOR" by UMA Libraries.
ERIC is one of our most popular education databases. Watch the video tutorials below to learn how to navigate and search these combined databases. To get the most out of this tutorial, it is recommended you open a new window in your browser and follow along with the steps.
Video Credit: "Database Tutorial: ERIC" by Meriam Library.
Communications and Mass Media is one of our most popular Communication Studies database. To get the most out of this tutorial, it is recommended you open a new window in your browser and follow along with the steps.
Video Credit: "CSUCI Library: Communication and Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)" by Colleen Harris for Broome Library.
PubMed is one of our most popular Health Science and Nursing databases. To get the most out of this tutorial, it is recommended you open a new window in your browser and follow along with the steps.
Video Credit: "CSUCI Broome Library Database Tutorial: PubMed" by Elizabeth Blackwood for Broome Library.