Broome Library Instruction Program

Library Instruction Services and Resources

This page lists the different types of library instruction and instruction services the library has available for CSUCI community. You can either scroll down the page to explore our services or navigate the sub-page tabs on the left hand side of the screen.

The information covered includes:

• Library Instruction Sessions
• Canvas Modules
• Research Guides
• Mobile Archives Collaborative Sessions
• 1-1 Reference Sessions

Request a Library Instruction Session

Please fill out this form to request a library instruction session. 

Library Instruction Sessions

Faculty can request in person, synchronous online, and asynchronous online instruction sessions. Our librarians will collaborate with you to customize the library session for your specific classes' needs.

Possible Session Learning Outcomes

• Orientation to Library Services and Spaces
• Finding Sources with OneSearch catalog and library databases
• Evaluating Sources
• Understanding and Identifying Types of Sources
• Finding Underrepresented Voices for your Research
• Finding and Evaluating Primary Sources
• Identifying Misinformation and Fake News
• Google versus the Library
• Intellectual Property
• Data Literacy and Privacy
• Subject Specific Instruction and Assignments
• Reference Management Software (EndNote and Zotero) - for Citation workshops, contact the WMC

Interactive Library Activities

The library has a growing number of interactive activities that can be requested for a library sessions. 

• Don’t Stop There! Working with Multiple Primary Sources
  • This 60-75 minute exercise has students reflect and evaluate on a series of primary sources surrounding the Black Power Salute at the 1968 Olympic games. The lesson demonstrates the need for triangulating primary sources, how looking at what is not said is often more important than what is said, and why it's important to understand the intended audience and authorship of a source.
• Have A Scandalous Fun Time at the Library: Help us Find the New Superstar Librarian!
  • This 60-75 minute exercise has students help the library run background checks and gather scandalous information on celebrities for a fictional library job search. Students learn how to use Wikipedia to gather background information at the beginning of the research process and how to use these skills to search the library catalog.
• I can Write about Bigfoot? Learn how to Explore, Identify, and Evaluate Popular and Academic Sources
  • This 60-75 minute exercise has students explore a wide variety of sources (academic and popular) on Bigfoot. The goal is for students to answer "how can I use this source?" instead of asking "is this a good source?" A great activity to help students understand the differences between and uses of popular and academic sources.

Request a Library Instruction Session

Please fill out this form to request a library instruction session. 

Canvas Modules

Our Instruction and Assessment Librarian has two pre-made (but easily adaptable) Canvas Modules that can be imported into your Canvas Courses. These modules were designed to promote universal design for learning and ease of use for the faculty.

• Universal Learning Design: When possible, these modules are created with multiple learning pathways. This allows students to learn the information by reading text, engaging with interactive images with clickable explanations, and/or watching a video.
• Easy to import and always up to date!  After meeting with a librarian to discuss your needs, the librarian will send you a page to import into your course. This module will direct students to the library's Canvas course for your class. This ensures the content, videos, and links are accurate and up to date. These modules have a self-check at the end, so you can import these modules as optional resources or as assignments where students forward you their certificate of completion.

Currently offered materials:

• Library Introduction Page: This is not a full module, merely a one-page introduction to the library, our services, how librarians can help, and how to contact us. A great add-on to any course to help students reach out for help.
• Reference Management Software: Currently we have tutorials for Zotero and Mendeley.
• Introduction to Research: This module combines informational and tutorial pages on the basic research process. You can look through the offered pages and select which content you'd like included in your custom module. This session does not fully replace a library instruction session but is a great resource for students to refer back to or to prepare for the library session. For example, if you are teaching a capstone and a student doesn't know how to search the library catalog, instead of having multiple library sessions, you can assign this module prior to your session and then have the librarian focus on more advanced research methods during your session. Here are some of the concepts currently offered in this tutorial (this is continually updating based on faculty feedback):
  • Navigating the Library Website, Services, and Partners
  • Developing a Topic and Finding Search Terms
  • Search Strategies and Tips
  • Searching the Library Catalog (OneSearch)
  • Finding and Searching Library Databases
  • Finding Sources the Library Doesn't Own
  • Evaluating Sources
  • Citations and Plagiarism
  • Understanding the Information Cycle
  • Identifying and How to Use Different Types of Sources (academic, popular, reference, Google, and Wikipedia)
  • Identifying, Finding, and Evaluating Primary Sources

Request a Library Canvas Module

If you have any questions or are interested in using one of these modules, please reach out to Breeann Austin (Instruction and Assessment Librarian).

Research Guides

The library offers a wide range of research guides, both subject based and topical, which can be found here.

• Subject Guides: The research guides are librarian-curated lists of resources for each major at CSUCI. If there is a resource you’d like included on your department’s guide, please let me know and we can ensure the librarian in charge of that guide is given the information. 
• General / Topical Guides: These guides are not tied to a specific course but rather offer resources and information on a topic. A few popular instruction topical guides include:
  • Citation Style Guide
  • Library Research Tutorials
  • Course Reserves/Streaming Media
  • Open Educational Resources

Bring a Guide to Canvas

Is there a specific research guide you would like included in your Canvas module? Review the How To: Embed Library Guides into Canvas page on the navigation panel on the left side of the screen.

Mobile Archives Collaborative Instruction Sessions

The Mobile Archives Collaboratory is a set of equipment and a flexible space housed in Broome Library that offers CSUCI faculty, students, and community members the opportunity to explore archival collections through digitization practice and study. Faculty and facilitators are welcome to schedule time in the Mobile Archives Collaboratory to bring students and groups to the library to photograph and digitize materials using iPads, scanners, cameras and other portable equipment.

These flexible sessions are customized for each class but often involve introducing students to a variety of digitization equipment, instructing them on how to create archival metadata, and discussing ethical and logistical concerns facing the archival world. Please see this library guide for more information on these labs.

Request a Mobile Archive Session

Please fill out this form to request a Mobile Archives instruction session. 

1-on-1 Reference Sessions

Most of our library instruction sessions include time reserved for one-on-one time with students. This has been shown to help student fully engage with the session, compliments the instruction portion of the session with hands on searching and discussions, makes it more likely for students to ask for help from a librarian in the future, and lets the librarians check how much of the session's information was successfully learned.

Sometimes students need more one-on-one time with a librarian. Broome Library encourages students and faculty to take advantage of our one-on-one research sessions with a librarian. These can take place online or in person and can be scheduled through this link.