Anthropology Research Guide

This University of Arizona resource is an online collection of more than 450 historic films by and about Native peoples of the Americas. Much of the work made in the last third of the 20th century comes from Indian communities themselves.

The Division of Anthropology is concerned with all aspects of human behavior. Their collection has over 200,000 digitized items accessible through their online collections database.

"This resource area is meant to be used as a tool for finding information on anthropology that is available on the web."

The Archaeology Channel (TAC) is a streaming media website brought to you by Archaeological Legacy Institute (ALI). ALI is a nonprofit organization devoted to nurturing and bringing attention to the human cultural heritage, by using media in the most efficient and effective ways possible.

Culture Unplugged (C.U.) provides access to hundreds of documentary films, spanning multiple facets of global issues.

The archives of El Teatro Campesino are the largest archival collection on Chicano theater, consisting of approximately 157 linear feet of archives and manuscripts. They include a variety of formats, dating from the Teatro's founding in 1965. They include primary materials for researchers with an interest in theater arts, cultural arts, history, political science, labor relations, ethnic studies, sociology, anthropology, and women's studies.

"eSkeletons provides an interactive environment in which to examine and learn about skeletal anatomy."

"Ethnologue: Languages of the World is a comprehensive reference work cataloging all of the world’s known living languages."

“The EVIA Digital Archive Project is a collaborative endeavor to create a digital archive of ethnographic field video for use by scholars and instructors.”

"This site offers information on the latest findings on the exploration of human origins."

This site offer information on the latest findings on the exploration of human origins.

“The National Anthropological Archives and Human Studies Film Archives collect and preserve historical and contemporary anthropological materials that document the world’s cultures and the history of anthropology.”

Department of Anthropology provides information on a wide range of topics including population migration, origins of domestication, linguistics, and forensic anthropology.

Peabody Museum is one of the oldest archaeological and ethnographic museums and houses one of the best collections on human cultural

Calisphere provides free access to unique and historically important artifacts for research, teaching, and curious exploration. Discover over two million photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more.

CalPhotos is a collection of 784,845 photos of plants, animals, fossils, people, and landscapes from around the world. A variety of organizations and individuals have contributed photographs to CalPhotos.

LOC's digital collection consists of over 9 million items that document U.S. history and culture. The collections provides free access to manuscripts, prints, photographs, posters, maps, sound recordings, motion pictures, books, pamphlets, and sheet music.

Provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 200 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses.

Search over 17.7 million records of museum objects, archives and library materials including more than 7.8 million online images, audio & videos and blog posts.

"The world’s largest scholarly and professional organization of anthropologists. The Association is dedicated to advancing human understanding and applying this understanding to the world’s most pressing problems."

"The Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland (RAI) is the world's longest-established scholarly association dedicated to the furtherance of anthropology (the study of humankind) in its broadest and most inclusive sense."

"The American Association of Biological Anthropologists, or AABA, is the world's leading professional organization for biological anthropologists."

"The European Association of Social Anthropologists (EASA) is a professional association open to all social anthropologists either qualified in, or else working in, Europe."

"The Moving Anthropology Student Network (“MASN”) is an open network & meeting-ground intended to promote communication, networking and interaction among all people interested in topics related to anthropology."

"Founded in 1983, NAPA strives to promote the practice of anthropology, both within the discipline and among private and public organizations. NAPA continues to grow as anthropologists engaged in practice have developed broader professional opportunities both inside and outside the Academic realm."