Boolean Operators: Use AND, OR, NOT to expand or narrow results.
“Phrase Searching”: Use quotation marks (“”) around words to search for an exact phrase.
Wildcard/Truncation: Use an asterisk (*) to search for words with similar beginnings.
Scholarly journals contain articles written by, and addressed to, experts in a discipline. Scholarly journals present the research of experts in a field, although these journals also often carry opinion pieces or even advertisements unique to the field addressed by the journal.
Peer-reviewed journals (also called refereed or juried journals) send submitted articles to one or more experts for review before deciding to publish them. This review process helps ensure that published articles reflect solid scholarship in a field. Most often, the experts reviewing an article make critical comments on the text, comments that the author must incorporate into the article before its publication.
Visit the reference desk
Live Chat with a librarian
(805) 437-3362
Schedule an appointment
Writing & Multiliteracy Center
Search the Library's FAQs
Below are a list of useful library databases related to Anthropology. The content below is organized by top databases in anthropology (a great place to start), databases with images and videos, field-specific anthropology databases (biological, sociocultural, archaeology, and linguistics), and then a list of multidisciplinary databases related to anthropology. Remember, if you cannot find the article or book you need in our catalog, use our Interlibrary Loan program to see if another library send us a copy.
Additional information on search strategies and terminology are located in the left column of the page. If you are looking for databases on specific peoples, please visit the relevant library research guides for additional databases and digital collections (the History Research Guide is especially helpful).
The links below will take you to the library's Journal Locator, where you will see which databases contain the specific journal. It is possible (and likely) that multiple databases have articles from your journal; however, often each databases will contain journal articles from different time periods. For example, Academic Search Premier has issues of Nature from 1997-2015, while Academic OneFile has issues from 2000-Present.
