Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art & Art History Research Guide

Library Resources

Websites

American Memory

Contains digital images that document the American experience.

Art Images for College Teaching

Database of art images from around the world. Images are for educational and non-profit purposes only.

Calisphere

Contains over 200,000 digitized primary sources, including photographs, art works, and cartoons.

Google Cultural Institute

Provides access to Art Project, where you can access over 40,000 high-resolution images of artworks housed at various museums from over 40 countries, World Wonders Project, where you can modern and ancient world heritage sites at street-view level, and Archive Exhibitions, where you can view curated exhibitions of historical artifacts that are rarely available to public view.

Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online Catalog

Contains digital images of photographs, prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings.

NYPL Picture Collection

A selection of over 30,000 digitized images from books, magazines, and newspapers, as well as digital images of photographs, prints and postcards.

Social and Public Art Resource Center in Los Angeles

Contains images, timelines, history, maps, news, and more on public art and murals in Los Angeles.