Skip to main content

Library Orientation Guide: Journal Articles

Finding Articles

All of the articles at Broome Library are electronic and can be found within our databases. You have access to more than 100 databases that contain newspaper, magazine, and peer-reviewed journal articles on a variety of topics.  

Use our Databases A-Z list to see all of Broome Library's databases. Each database has a brief description of what types of articles and subjects may be found in the database. 

If you aren't sure which database you should use for your subject, you can always take a look at our Research Guides by Subject list to point you in the right direction.  

You can also try searching Academic Search Premier, which is a good place to start your research. This database is multidisciplinary and contains a variety of newspaper, magazine, and peer-reviewed journal articles.

Database Search Tips

  • When searching for names or multi-word phrases, use quotes around the terms. This tells the database you want to find articles with those two words together as a phrase.
    • For example: "World War II"
  • Use "AND" to search for two or more concepts together.
    • For example: "World War II" AND "United States" AND women
  • Use "OR" to search for alternate or related terms.
    • For example: "social movements" OR "social change"

 

Popular vs. Scholarly

For your assignments, you may be asked to use "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" articles. These are articles written and reviewed by experts in their discipline. Most databases will have ways to filter or limit searches to these types of articles.

Other types of articles you may find in our databases include newspaper articles, magazine articles, and sometimes conference papers and dissertations.

For more information, take a look at this Popular vs. Scholarly Sources video from Ventura College.