This page covers:
This is important because it saves you money. Our library doesn't have every book or article ever written. If you ever need a material we don't have, don't go out and buy it. Instead check to see if we can borrow the item from another library for you. Borrowing from another library is usually fast and easy. While there are exceptions, digital items can arrive in 24 hours, physical items being borrowed from other CSU libraries can arrive in 3-5 weekdays, and physical items from non-CSU libraries can take 1-2 weeks. There are a couple of different ways to do this and this section will walk you through the steps.
If you know what item you'd like to borrow then go directly to the main library homepage and select the Interlibrary Loan link on the left-hand side column of the page. This link brings you to a webpage with two forms: one for requesting physical items such as books and DVDs and another link for requesting digital items such as articles. Select whichever link best suits your request and then simply fill out the form on the next page. To save processing time, input as much information as you can into the request.
Databases often include materials in their search results that are not linked to the full text of the item. Instead, they list the citation and abstract of an item. BUT this does not mean the library does not have the item. Remember that you are searching just one of our 200+ databases. So, when a database does not have the full text of an item it will often provide a link that searches the entire library catalog for that item. This is why you should never select "Full Text Only" when searching because it will remove these "citation results" from your search. Just because this database doesn't have the full text, doesn't mean the library doesn't have access to the item or that we can't order it for you.
Databases signal that they don't have an item but that you can search the library catalog in different ways. Below are a examples from popular databases. The most common method of searching the library catalog from a database is the JSBLink, which is the first example below. For accessibility, there is a direct link to the screenshot in its respective header.
When you click the JSBLink or Check the Library link, two possible screens will appear. One will direct you to a library database that has the item. The other screen will direct you to the Interlibrary Loan system where you can ask the library to borrow the item. Both situations are explained below.
Hopefully when you click the JSBLink, you will arrive at the page demonstrated in the screenshot to the right, which can be found here. This page signals that while the database you were searching did not have the item, another library database does have the item. Simply click the link under the Full text availability header to access the item. It is possible that multiple databases will be listed, that simply means that we have access to that item through multiple databases and you can select whichever database you prefer.
Sometimes the library doesn't have an item you need. When this happens, simply select the GET IT button to request a digital copy of the item using our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service. We can usually get digital items within 24 hours. The big delivery exception is that ILL only works on weekdays, so if you request an item on Friday it might not arrive until Monday. The screenshot to the right shows an item that the library does not have the full text, which can be found here.
There is a new feature with OneSearch where you can ask the library catalog to search other libraries. The written steps and accompanying screenshots below will illustrate this process.
1. Perform a search in the library catalog.
2. Click the "Didn't find what you were looking for? Click here to Include results from other libraries >" link, located directly below the search bar. The search results page will now list items both in Broome Library and our library partners' collections.
3. If the item is available at another library the record information will say "Check for available services" or "Get it from other libraries"
4. Select an item you'd like to request, then select Get It for either a physical copy of the whole book or a digital chapter.
5. Fill out the required information and select Send.
Tip: If you perform a search without first selecting "< Back to library search results" your new search will continue to search both Broome Library's holdings and our library partners.
Databases signal that they don't have an item but that you can search the library catalog in different ways. Below are a examples from popular databases. The most common method of searching the library catalog from a database is the JSBLink, which is the first example below. For accessibility, there is a direct link to the screenshot in its respective header.
Video Credit: Lauren Worden, "Requesting a full text article from another library" from Broome Library.
Watch this 1:00 video for a walkthrough on how to request an item from another library, using the library catalog.
Video Credit: Lauren Worden, "Requesting a book from another library" from Broome Library.