Below are links to other Research Guides that you might choose to explore in your research process.
Visit the reference desk
Schedule an appointment
Live Chat with a librarian
Call (805) 437-3362
Search the Library's FAQs
Research & ReferenceWhile studying the Spanish language, you might also need to research the news, culture, history, and other topics related to the Spanish-speaking world. The resources below include dictionaries, reference books, databases and journals, all valuable tools that can assist you in your research. For information on books and ebooks related to Spanish, visit the "Reading Skills" page on the left sidebar.
The best starting point for locating scholarly resources about or in the Spanish language is the library's OneSearch catalog, which includes most library database content.
To find Spanish-language materials in OneSearch, either:
For easy access to peer-reviewed articles, usually required for research papers, use the search widget below:
For an expanded search that includes additional articles, click "Expand your search to request items from CSU & other libraries" in the middle of the page. You'll also have to log in to OneSearch to place a request.
Spanish-English Dictionary
by
Dictionary of Spanish Slang and Colloquil Expressions
by
Manual de la Nueva Gramática de la lengua española
by
Translation tools are helpful for quick, informal translations; however, it is crucial not to rely entirely on translation tools because their accuracy can vary.
These databases are beneficial for researching topics related to the Spanish language, language learning in general, culture, and history. Also included are contemporary and historical Spanish-language news and newspaper databases. For additional databases, look at our Chicana/o, History, and Latin American Art guides.
This primary source database contains over 1,200 books, pamphlets, almanacs, broadsides and ephemera, from & about the Caribbean islands. Tutorial.
Contains 66 Caribbean newspapers published between 1718-1876. Tutorial.
