These are first-hand accounts, like diaries, field observations, recordings and studies, interviews, letters, speeches, and other contemporaneous artifacts and documents.
Contains over 50,000 primary source documents covering American history from 1493 to 1945 including correspondence, diaries, government documents, business records, books, pamphlets, newspapers, broadsides, photographs, artwork and maps. Tutorial.
Contains primary material of historical importance including legislative and executive documents, speeches of U.S. presidents and coverage of historical events from 1789-1838. Tutorial.
Books, journals, diaries and pioneer accounts, maps, broadsides, periodicals, advertisements, photographs, and artwork of the American West from the early eighteenth to the mid-twentieth century. Tutorial.
Caribbean History & Culture: 1535-1920 contains over 1,200 books, pamphlets, almanacs, broadsides and ephemera, from & about the Caribbean islands. Tutorial.
Archive of official publications and primary source material related to civil rights in the United States covering a wide range of topics for research in American history, political science, social justice and related fields. Tutorial.
Documents the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850, this collection focuses on personal accounts of traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women. Tutorial.
Audio field recordings and interviews, educational recordings, film footage, field notebooks, slides, correspondence, and ephemera from over 60 ethnomusicology collections. Tutorial.
Manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books, treaties, speeches, and diaries dating from the earliest contact with European settlers to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Sourced from the Newberry Library’s extensive Edward E. Ayer Collection. Tutorial.
Contains over 1,500 publications, including maps, books, treaties, and other printed and graphic artifacts focusing on the relationship between Native Americans and European settlers. This collection is assembled from various holdings including the American Antiquarian Society & the Library Company of Philadelphia. Tutorial.
Contains autobiographies, biographies, publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Peoples. Tutorial.
Descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 300 contributing CA institutions, includes more than 240,000 digital images & documents. FAQs.
Includes more than 2,700 collections of Oral History in English from around the world. Features Ellis Island Oral History Project, Civil Rights Documentation Project, Japanese American Relocation Digital Archive, and Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers Project, 1936-1938. Tutorial.
The Race Relations Institute was a pioneering social science organisation, and its archive includes speeches, statistics, reports and much more, from 1943-1970. Discover a wealth of primary source material on the Civil Rights Movement, segregation, discrimination and racial theory in America during 3 pivotal decades of the 20th century. Tutorial.
