Image CitationsPlease see our Citation Style Guide for a full overview of standard citation styles and reference management tools. This page provides citation examples for artwork/images, referencing the most commonly-used citation styles.
We know that formatting citations can be stressful and frustrating and CI’s amazing Writing & Multiliteracy Center (WMC) can help!
Check out the WMC’s Citation Resources and their interactive on-demand workshops.
| Works Cited: | Waterhouse, John William. The Lady of Shalott. 1888. Artstor, library.artstor.org/#/asset/AIC_20034. |
|---|---|
| In-Text Citation: | (Waterhouse) |
| Works Cited: | Silver, Walter. Factory, 1986. New York Public Library Digital Collection, digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/51fd9310-ea71-0131-8221-58d385a7bbd0. |
| In-Text Citation: | (Silver) |
| Works Cited: | Velázquez, Diego. An Old Woman Cooking Eggs. Circa 1618, Scottish National Gallery. The Vanishing Velázquez: A Nineteenth-Century Booksellers' Obsession with a Lost Masterpiece, by Laura Cumming, Scribner, 2016, p. 27. |
|---|---|
| In-Text Citation: | (Velázquez) |
| Works Cited: | Hokusai, Katsushika. Under the Wave off Kanagawa (Kanagawa oki nami ura), also known as The Great Wave, from the series Thirty-Six Views of Mount Fuji (Fugaku sanjūrokkei). 1826-1836. Art Institute of Chicago. |
|---|---|
| In-Text Citation: | (Hokusai) |
Note: For untitled art, place a description of the artwork in square brackets instead of the title. Use this for artwork images (associated with museums) found in library databases. Remember, in APA, if a source is found through a library database (such as Artstor), do not include a URL or database name. Instead, include the Institution, museum, or collection of the artwork; followed by the city, state, and country where the institution is located.
| Bibliography: | Waterhouse, J. W. (1888). The lady of Shalott [Oil on Canvas]. Tate Gallery, London, England. |
|---|---|
| In-Text Citation: | (Waterhouse, 1888) |
| Bibliography: | Hokusai, K. (1826-1836). Under the wave off Kanagawa (Kanagawa oki nami ura), also known as the great wave, from the series thirty-six views of Mount Fuji (Fugaku sanjūrokkei) [Color Woodblock Print]. Art Institute of Chicago, Chicago, IL, United States. https://www.artic.edu/artworks/24645/under-the-wave-off-kanagawa-kanagawa-oki-nami-ura-also-known-as-the-great-wave-from-the-series-thirty-six-views-of-mount-fuji-fugaku-sanjurokkei |
| In-Text Citation: | (Hokusai, 1826-1836) |
| Bibliography: | McCurry, S. (1985). Afghan girl [Photograph]. National Geographic. https://www.nationalgeographic.com/magazine/national-geographic-magazine-50-years-of-covers/#/ngm-1985-jun-714.jpg |
|---|---|
| In-Text Citation: | (McCurry, 1985) |
| Bibliography: | Rinaldi, J. (2016). [Photograph series of a boy who finds his footing after abuse by those he trusted]. The Pulitzer Prizes. https://www.pulitzer.org/winners/jessica-rinaldi |
| In-Text Citation: | (Rinaldi, 2016) |
| Note: | John William Waterhouse, The Lady of Shalott, 1888, oil on canvas, 5′ 0″ x 6′ 7″, Artstor. |
|---|---|
| Shortened Note: | Waterhouse, Lady of Shalott. |
| Bibliography: | Waterhouse, John William. The Lady of Shalott. Oil on canvas, 5′ 0″ x 6′ 7″. Artstor. |
| Note: | John William Waterhouse, The Lady of Shalott, 1888, oil on canvas, 5′ 0″ x 6′ 7″, Tate Gallery, London, https://www.tate.org.uk/art/artworks/waterhouse-the-lady-of-shalott-n01543. |
| Shortened Note: | Waterhouse, Lady of Shalott. |
| Bibliography: | Waterhouse, John William. The Lady of Shalott. Oil on canvas, 5′ 0″ x 6′ 7″. Tate Gallery, London. https://www.tate.org.uk/art/artworks/waterhouse-the-lady-of-shalott-n01543. |
| Note: | Steve McCurry, Afghan Girl, December 1984, photograph, National Geographic, cover, June 1985. |
| Shortened Note: | McCurry, Afghan Girl. |
| Bibliography: | McCurry, Steve. Afghan Girl. December 1984. Photograph. National Geographic, cover, June 1985. |