LibGuides: Resources by Type: Reference Sources

Reference Sources

This information covered on this page includes defining and explaining how to use reference sources, how to find reference sources, and links to popular reference databases.

What is a reference source?

A reference source is a source that has compiled information from primary and secondary sources into one, easily digestible volume of information on a topic, event, person, or idea. These sources are usually identified by the keywords 'encyclopedia' or 'dictionary'. Think of these as the Academic Wikipedia. These resources provide peer-reviewed introductory and background information on a topic, where you can learn the language experts in a field use.

Find reference sources

Reference databases

Library Reference Databases

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary list of dictionaries and encyclopedias covering the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
An authoritative and comprehensive art resource including Grove Dictionary of Art, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and other significant reference works. Video tutorial.

Oxford English Dictionary
The definitive record of the English language, featuring 600,000 words and 3 million quotations.

Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Music Online is the gateway to Grove Music Online, with access to search The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music. Authoritative resource for music research with over 52,000 articles written by nearly 9,000 scholars charting the diverse history and cultures of music around the globe. Contains articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation. Video tutorial.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press‚Äôs Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias. Guide.
Sage Knowledge Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 300 authoritative, interdisciplinary handbooks and encyclopedias in the social and behavioral sciences.

Where to Find Reference Sources

There are a couple of ways to find reference sources on your topic in the library. This section will review two: limiting your results with the library catalog and searching a reference database.

Finding Reference Sources with Search Limiters

Perform a search in the library catalog or database
Find the "Resource Type" limiter category on the left side of the search results page
Select the resource type "Reference Entries"
This will limit your search results to only reference sources such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks

Background Research

Watch this 1:19 video to learn about reference sources and the important step of background research during the research process.

Video Credit: “Background Research” by Steely Library NKU

5 Reasons to Use Reference Sources

Watch this 2:42 video to learn how and when reference sources should be used.

Video Credit: "5 Reasons to Use Reference Sources" by the University of Guelph McLaughlin Library

Resources by Type