LibGuides: Types of Resources: Images

Images

Broome Library provides access to millions of images used across scholarly disciplines, including art, architecture, history, science, and more.

This page focuses on how to find images via OneSearch, the library catalog. It lists additional library and Open Access image databases, and covers how to perform a reverse image search.

Click on the Citations subpage, located on the left menu, to review how to cite images.

Find images

Broome Library image databases

The following databases are available to CSUCI faculty, staff, and students

Library Image Databases

Art and History Images

Contains images of architectural drawings, painting, photography, print, sculpture and tapestries from Broome Library's Repository.
Biology Images

Search Broome Library's Repository by categories: common terms, taxonomy, California native plants, ESRM (Environmental Science & Resource Management) or by keywords.
JSTOR
JSTOR is an interdisciplinary & historical database providing access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, images, & primary sources. Ebooks are downloadable by chapter, without printing restrictions. Now includes Artstor's 2.5 million images. Tutorials for JSTOR and for ArtStor images.
Oxford Art Online
An authoritative and comprehensive art resource including Grove Dictionary of Art, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and other significant reference works. Video tutorial.
University Images
Collection of CSU Channel Islands university images stored in the John Spoor Broome Library institutional repository. Select by category: Events, Hospital Era, Items, People, Places or search by keyword.

Open Access image databases

The following open access image collections are freely available for anyone to use

Popular Image Collections

Art Images for College Teaching
The University of Michigan Library provides access to this collection for educational and research purposes.

British Museum Collection

4.5 million high definition images from the collections of the British Museum. Search Guide.

Calisphere
Calisphere provides free access to unique and historically important artifacts for research, teaching, and curious exploration. Discover over two million photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more.
CI Campus Photostream (Flickr)
Archive of images from CSUCI campus
Google Arts & Culture
Provides access to Art Project, where you can access over 40,000 high-resolution images of artworks housed at various museums from over 40 countries
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Search millions of items in many formats and languages.
LIFE Photo Archive
Access millions of historic images from Life photo archive, from 1750's to today
The Met Open Access Collection
The Metropolitan Museum of Art collection, includes over 492,000 images of public-domain artworks, available for free and unrestricted use.
National Park Digital Assets
A comprehensive library of NPS images, videos, maps, and more
NYPL Digital Library
More than 800,000 historic photographs, posters, maps, and other images from the collections of the New York Public Library

Types of Resources

Reverse Image Searching

Stock Images