LibGuides: Types of Resources: Citations

Newspaper Citations

Please see our Citation Style Guide for a full overview of standard citation styles and reference management tools. This page provides citation examples for newspapers, referencing the most commonly-used citation styles.

Writing & Multiliteracy Center

We know that formatting citations can be stressful and frustrating and CI’s amazing Writing & Multiliteracy Center (WMC) can help!

Check out the WMC’s Citation Resources and their interactive on-demand workshops.

MLA 9th: Citing Newspapers

Common Newspaper and Magazine Formatting:

Author. "Title." Newspaper Title, Volume, Number, Date, Pages. Database, DOI.

**Printed Newspaper Article** *[MLA 9th: 5.101-103, 5.104]*
Works Cited:	Streeter, Kurt. “Standing Up for Herself by Sitting, And Empowering Others to Say No.” The New York Times, 29 Jul. 2021, p. B9.
In-Text Citation:	(Streeter B9)
Works Cited:	Hirsch, Jerry. “Citrus Pest Infests Trees in Mexico.” Los Angeles Times, 18 Aug. 2009, pp. B1, B9.
In-Text Citation:	(Hirsch B1)

**Newspaper Article from a Website** *[MLA 9th: 5.33, 5.101, 5.93-98 for online locations]*
Works Cited:	Strauss, Valerie. "The Unusual Way Broadway’s ‘Hamilton’ is Teaching U.S. History to Kids." The Washington Post, 28 Jun. 2016, www.washingtonpost.com/news/answer-sheet/wp/2016/06/28/the-unusual-way-broadways-hamilton-is-teaching-american-history-to-kids.
In-Text Citation:	(Strauss)
Works Cited:	Hirsch, Jerry. “Deadly Citrus Disease Reaches Mexico, Threatens California.” Los Angeles Times, 18 Aug. 2009, www.latimes.com/archives/la-xpm-2009-aug-18-fi-citrus18-story.html.
In-Text Citation:	(Hirsch)

**Newspaper Article from a Database** *[MLA 9th: 5.35, 5.102, 5.93-98 for online locations]*
Works Cited:	Li, Lillian. "Nothing Is More American Than Chinese Food on Christmas." New York Times (Online), 25 Dec. 2018. ProQuest, www.proquest.com/blogs-podcasts-websites/nothing-is-more-american-than-chinese-food-on/docview/2160122716/se-2?accountid=728.
In-Text Citation:	(Li)
Works Cited:	Hirsch, Jerry. “Citrus Pest Infests Trees in Mexico; The Disease Spread by the Asian Psyllid Poses a Grave Threat to California’s $1.6‐billion Industry, Experts Warn.” Los Angeles Times, 18 Aug. 2009. ProQuest, search.proquest.com/docview/422275025?accountid=7284.
In-Text Citation:	(Hirsch B1)

**Printed Magazine Article** *[MLA 9th: 5.101]*
Works Cited:	Verducci, Tom. “World Domination.” Sports Illustrated, vol. 111, no. 19, Nov. 2009, pp. 50–56.
In-Text Citation:	(Verducci 51)

**Magazine Article from an Online Magazine** *[MLA 9th: 5.101, 5.33, 5.93-98 for online locations]*
Works Cited:	Koppelman, Alex. “White House Counsel to Be Fired?” Salon, Aug. 2009, www.salon.com/2009/08/04/craig_23/.
In-Text Citation:	(Koppelman)

**Magazine Article from a Database** *[MLA 9th: 5.102, 5.35, 5.93-98 for online locations]*
Works Cited:	Kunzig, Robert. “Shading the Earth.” National Geographic, vol. 216, no. 8, 2009, pp. 374–80. Gale Academic OneFile, link.gale.com/apps/doc/A213030819/AONE?u=csuci&sid=bookmark-AONE&xid=5f735dd1.
In-Text Citation:	(Kunzig 375)

ALA 7th: Citing Newspapers

Common Newspaper and Magazine Formatting: [APA 7th: p. 316, 9.25-26, 10.15-18]

Author. (Date). Newspaper Article Title. Newspaper Title, Pages. Online Location

Author. (Date). Magazine Article Title. Magazine Title, Volume(Number), Pages. Online Location

Note: Remember that in APA Style you do not include database information from academic research databases.

**Printed Newspaper Article** *[APA 7th: 10.16]*
Bibliography:	Streeter, K. (2021, July 29). Standing up for herself by sitting, and empowering others to say no. The New York Times, B9.
In-Text Citation:	(Streeter, 2021)
Bibliography:	Hirsch, J. (2009, August 18). Citrus pest infests trees in Mexico. Los Angeles Times, B1, B9.
In-Text Citation:	(Hirsch, 2021)

**Newspaper Article from a Website** *[APA 7th: 10.16]*
Bibliography:	Strauss, V. (2016, June 28). The unusual way Broadway’s ‘Hamilton’ is teaching U.S. history to kids. The Washington Post. https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/answer-sheet/wp/2016/06/28/the-unusual-way-broadways-hamilton-is-teaching-american-history-to-kids.
In-Text Citation:	(Strauss, 2016)
Bibliography:	Hirsch, J. (2009, August 18). Deadly citrus disease reaches Mexico, threatens California. Los Angeles Times. https://www.latimes.com/archives/la-xpm-2009-aug-18-fi-citrus18-story.html
In-Text Citation:	(Hirsch, 2021)

**Printed Magazine Article** *[APA 7th: 10.15]*
Bibliography:	Verducci, T. (2009, November 16). World domination. Sports Illustrated, 111(19), 50–56.
In-Text Citation:	(Verducci, 2009)

**Magazine Article from an Online Magazine** *[APA 7th: 10.15]*
Bibliography:	Koppelman, A. (2009, August 4). White House counsel to be fired? Salon. http://www.salon.com/2009/08/04/craig_23/
In-Text Citation:	(Koppelman, 2009)

Chicago 17th: Citing Newspapers

Common Newspaper and Magazine Formatting: [Chicago 17th: 14.188-200]

Note: Author, "Article Title," Newspaper Title, Date, Pages, Online Location.

Shortened Note: Author, "Article Title," Pages.

Bibliography: Author. "Article Title." Newspaper Title, Date. Online Location.

note: for newspapers and magazines, page numbers are only included in the note not the bibliography section.

Printed Newspaper Article [Chicago 17th: 14.191]

Note:	Kurt Streeter, “Standing Up for Herself by Sitting, And Empowering Others to Say No,” New York Times, July 2021, B9.
Shortened Note:	Streeter, “Standing Up for Herself by Sitting,” B9.
Bibliography:	Streeter, Kurt. “Standing Up for Herself by Sitting, And Empowering Others to Say No.” New York Times, July 29, 2021.
Note:	Jerry Hirsch, “Citrus Pest Infests Trees in Mexico,” Los Angeles Times, August 18, 2009, B1.
Shortened Note:	Hirsch, “Citrus Pest Infests Trees in Mexico,” B1.
Bibliography:	Hirsch, Jerry. “Citrus Pest Infests Trees in Mexico.” Los Angeles Times, August 18, 2009.

**Newspaper Article from a Website** *[Chicago 17th: 14.191]*
Note:	Valerie Strauss, “The Unusual Way Broadway’s ‘Hamilton’ Is Teaching U.S. History to Kids,” Washington Post, June 28, 2016, https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/answer-sheet/wp/2016/06/28/the-unusual-way-broadways-hamilton-is-teaching-american-history-to-kids.
Shortened Note:	Strauss, “The Unusual Way Broadway’s ‘Hamilton’ Is Teaching U.S. History to Kids.”
Bibliography:	Strauss, Valerie. “The Unusual Way Broadway’s ‘Hamilton’ Is Teaching U.S. History to Kids.” Washington Post, June 28, 2016. https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/answer-sheet/wp/2016/06/28/the-unusual-way-broadways-hamilton-is-teaching-american-history-to-kids.
Note:	Jerry Hirsch, “Deadly Citrus Disease Reaches Mexico, Threatens California,” Los Angeles Times, August 18, 2009, https://www.latimes.com/archives/la-xpm-2009-aug-18-fi-citrus18-story.html.
Shortened Note:	Hirsch, “Citrus Pest Infests Trees in Mexico.”
Bibliography:	Hirsch, Jerry. “Deadly Citrus Disease Reaches Mexico, Threatens California.” Los Angeles Times, August 18, 2009. https://www.latimes.com/archives/la-xpm-2009-aug-18-fi-citrus18-story.html.

**Newspaper Article from a Database** *[Chicago 17th: 14.191]*
Note:	Lillian Li, “Nothing Is More American Than Chinese Food on Christmas,” New York Times (Online), December 25, 2018, ProQuest.
Shortened Note:	Li, “Nothing Is More American Than Chinese Food on Christmas.”
Bibliography:	Li, Lillian. “Nothing Is More American Than Chinese Food on Christmas.” New York Times (Online), December 25, 2018. ProQuest.
Note:	Jerry Hirsch, “Citrus Pest Infests Trees in Mexico; The Disease Spread by the Asian Psyllid Poses a Grave Threat to California’s $1.6‐billion Industry, Experts Warn,” Los Angeles Times, August 18, 2009, EBSCOhost.
Shortened Note:	Hirsch, “Citrus Pest Infests Trees in Mexico.”
Bibliography:	Hirsch, Jerry. “Citrus Pest Infests Trees in Mexico; The Disease Spread by the Asian Psyllid Poses a Grave Threat to California’s $1.6‐billion Industry, Experts Warn.” Los Angeles Times, August 18, 2009. EBSCOhost.

**Printed Magazine Article** *[see Chicago 17th: 14.188]*
Note:	Tom Verducci, “World Domination,” Sports Illustrated, November 16, 2009, 50-51.
Shortened Note:	Verducci, “World Domination,” 51.
Bibliography:	Verducci, Tom. “World Domination.” Sports Illustrated, November 16, 2009.

**Magazine Article from an Online Magazine** *[Chicago 17th: 14.189]*
Note:	Alex Koppelman, “White House Counsel to Be Fired?,” Salon, August 4, 2009, https://www.salon.com/2009/08/04/craig_23/.
Shortened Note:	Koppelman, “White House Counsel to Be Fired?”
Bibliography:	Koppelman, Alex. “White House Counsel to Be Fired?” Salon, August 4, 2009. https://www.salon.com/2009/08/04/craig_23/.

**Magazine Article from a Database** *[Chicago 17th: 14.189]*
Note:	Robert Kunzig, “Shading the Earth,” National Geographic, August 2009, 375, Gale Academic OneFile.
Shortened Note:	Kunzig, “Shading the Earth,” 375.
Bibliography:	Kunzig, Robert. “Shading the Earth.” National Geographic, August 2009, 374-80. Gale Academic OneFile.

ASA 6th: Citing Newspapers

Common Newspaper and Magazine Formatting:

Author. (Year). "Article." Title, Additional Date Information, Pages. Online Location.

**Printed Newspaper Article** *[ASA 6th: 5.2.2]*
Reference List:	Streeter, Kurt. 2021. “Standing Up for Herself by Sitting, And Empowering Others to Say No.” New York Times, July 29, B9.
In-Text Citation:	(Streeter 2021)
Reference List:	Hirsch, Jerry. 2009. “Citrus Pest Infests Trees in Mexico.” Los Angeles Times, August 18, B1, B9.
In-Text Citation:	(Hirsch 2009:B1)

**Newspaper Article from a Website** *[ASA 6th: 5.2.2]*
Reference List:	Strauss, Valerie. 2016. “The Unusual Way Broadway’s ‘Hamilton’ Is Teaching U.S. History to Kids.” Washington Post, June 28. https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/answer-sheet/wp/2016/06/28/the-unusual-way-broadways-hamilton-is-teaching-american-history-to-kids.
In-Text Citation:	(Strauss 2016)
Reference List:	Hirsch, Jerry. 2009. “Deadly Citrus Disease Reaches Mexico, Threatens California.” Los Angeles Times, August 18. https://www.latimes.com/archives/la-xpm-2009-aug-18-fi-citrus18-story.html.
In-Text Citation:	(Hirsch 2009)

**Newspaper Article from a Database** *[ASA 6th: 5.2.2]*
Reference List:	Li, Lillian. 2018. “Nothing Is More American Than Chinese Food on Christmas.” New York Times (Online), December 25. https://www.proquest.com/blogs-podcasts-websites/nothing-is-more-american-than-chinese-food-on/docview/2160122716/se-2?accountid=728.
In-Text Citation:	(Li 2018)
Reference List:	Hirsch, Jerry. 2009. “Citrus Pest Infests Trees in Mexico; The Disease Spread by the Asian Psyllid Poses a Grave Threat to California’s $1.6‐billion Industry, Experts Warn.” Los Angeles Times, August 18. EBSCOhost.
In-Text Citation:	(Hirsch 2009)

**Printed Magazine Article** *[ASA 6th: 5.2.2]*
Reference List:	Verducci, Tom. 2009. “World Domination.” Sports Illustrated, November 16, 50-56.
In-Text Citation:	(Verducci 2009:55)

**Magazine Article from an Online Magazine** *[ASA 6th: 5.2.2]*
Reference List:	Koppelman, Alex. 2009. “White House Counsel to Be Fired?” Salon, August 4. www.salon.com/2009/08/04/craig_23/.
In-Text Citation:	(Koppelman 2009)

**Magazine Article from a Database** *[ASA 6th: 5.2.2]*
Reference List:	Kunzig, Robert. 2009. “Shading the Earth.” National Geographic, August, 374-380. Gale Academic OneFile.
In-Text Citation:	(Kunzig 2009)