Skip to Main Content

Citation Style Guide

A introductory guide to citation styles and reference management tools.

What is ASA?

ASA Style was created by the American Sociological Association. The style uses parenthetical documentation (a brief citation enclosed with parenthesis within the text), which is linked to a bibliography.

This page will provide a brief overview and resources for ASA Style. For more in-depth information please consult the American Sociological Association Style Guide and the web resources listed below.

ASA is based on Chicago Style Guide (17th) but there are differences. When the specific citation example is not covered by ASA, refer to the examples in Chicago (17th) and adapt to the ASA format.

Video Tutorial

Watch this video for a brief over of the ASA citation style.

Video Credit: "ASA Quick Style Guide Overview" courtesy of Vera Kennedy, EDD of CSU Fresno licensed under Creative Commons Attribution license (reuse allowed).

General ASA Formatting

This is only a brief list of general guidelines, consult the ASA Style Manual for a more complete list of guidelines.

General ASA Formatting Guidelines
Field Description
Author(s)
  • List authors' names in the order given. 
  • Include all the authors' names in the Reference List, you'll only use "et al." in the in-text citations
  • When a source has an author plus additional named contributors (such as editors or translators), only provide the first and middle initials of the other contributors.
  • Formatting:
    • One Author: 
      • Reference List:  Last, First Middle 
      • In-text:  (Last)
    • Two Authors: 
      • Reference List:  Last, First Middle and First Middle Last
      • In-text:  (Last and Last)
    • Three Authors: 
      • Reference List:  Last, First Middle, First Middle Last, and First Middle Last
      • In-text (1st mention):  (Last, Last, and Last) 
      • In-text (later mentions):  (Last et al.)
    • Three or More Authors: 
      • Reference List:  Last, First Middle, First Middle Last, and First Middle Last
      • In-text:  (Last et al.)
    • Four or More Authors:
      • Reference List:  Last, First Middle, First Middle Last, First Middle Last, and First Middle Last
      • In-text:  (Last et al.)
  • [ASA 6th: 4.3.1.1, 4.3.2.2]
Dates
  • Do not abbreviate
  • Format: Month Day, Year
  • If date is unknown, use (n.d.)
  • [ASA 6th: 2.6, 5.1]
Publisher Information
  • Include the publisher's location
  • Do not abbreviate the publisher's name
Online Location
  • Order of preference: DOI, permalink, URL (only use one) 
    • DOI (Digital Object Identifier): A permanent link to a specific published digital object. A DOI is always the preferred method of citing an online source.
    • Permalink: A permanent or stable link to a source accessed through a subscription database. The reader must have access to the database for the link to work.
    • URL: The website address located in your browser's address bar. URLs are updated regularly and your link may not work in the future. Use these when no alternative is available. 
  • Include "https://" with URLs but not with DOIs
  • For academic databases (e.g. ProQuest, EBSCOhost) you only need to include the database name, not a URL. However, a DOI is still preferred over either a database name or URL.
  • Accessed dates for online sources are not required for formally published electronic sources with a permanent URL or DOI. In general, only include accessed dates for websites if it is likely the website will be altered (Wikipedia, twitter).
  • [ASA 6th: 5.1]
Page Numbers
  • Reference List: use the abbreviations "p." and "pp." with book chapters. Do not use them with journal, newspaper, or magazine articles.
  • In-text citations: do not use the abbreviations; no spaces between the publication date, colon, and page number(s)
  • Formatting inclusive page numbers
    • 1-99, 100, multiples of 100 = include all digits
      • examples: 3-10,  71-72,  96-117,  100-104,  1100-1113
    • 101 to 109, 201 to 209, etc. = only include the changed part, don’t use repeated digits
      • examples: 101-8, 808-33, 1103-4
    • 110 to 199, 210 to 299, etc. = use two digits unless more are needed for clarity
      • examples: 321-28, 498-532, 1496-500, 11564-615, 12991-3001
  • [ASA 6th: 2.5]
In-text Citations
  • Basic in-text citation format: (Last Name Date:Page) [note there is no space between the colon and page numbers]
  • Examples:
    • According to Lees and Overing (2009:100), [quote or paraphrase].
    • [quote or paraphrase author who is not named] (Lees and Overing 2009:100)
    • In 2009, Lees and Overing claimed, [quote or paraphrase] (p. 100).
  • [This is a very brief overview for a very important part of citations, please consult ASA 6th: 4.3.1 and the WMC Quick Guide to ASA Style]

Books

Common Book Formatting:

Author. Date. Title. Publisher Location: Publisher.

Author. Date. "Title." Page Numbers in Title, Editor. Publisher Location: Publisher.

Book with One Author [ASA 6th: 4.3.2.1]
Reference List: Morrison, Toni. 1987. Beloved. New York: Alfred A. Knopf.
In-Text Citation: (Morrison 1987:25-29) 
Book with Two Authors  [ASA 6th: 4.3.2.1]
Reference List: Lees, Clare A., and Gillian R. Overing. 2009. Double Agents: Women and Clerical Culture in Anglo-Saxon England. Cardiff: University of Wales Press.
In-Text Citation: (Lees and Overing 2009:100-108)
Book with More than Two Authors  [ASA 6th: 4.3.2.1]
Reference List: Zamudio, Margaret, Caskey Russell, Francisco A. Rios, and Jacquelyn L. Bridgeman. 2011. Critical Race Theory Matters: Education and Ideology. New York: Routledge. ProQuest Ebook Central.
In-Text Citation: (Zamudio et al. 2011:121-28)
Edited Book  [ASA 6th: 4.3.2.1]
Reference List: Berglund, Jeff, Johnson, Jan, and Kimberli, Lee, eds. (2016). Indigenous Pop: Native American Music from Jazz to Hip Hop. Tucson, AZ: University of Arizona Press. ProQuest Ebook Central.
In-Text Citation: First in-text citation with 3 authors:     (Berglund, Johnson, and Lee 2016)
In-Text Citation: All subsequent in-text citations with 3 authors:     (Berglund et al. 2016)
Book with Translatorr  [ASA 6th: 4.3.2.1]
Reference List: Coelho, Paulo. 2015. The Alchemist. Translated by Alan Clarke. New York: HarperCollins.
In-Text Citation: (Coelho 2015:53)
Book Chapter  [ASA 6th: 4.3.2.1]
Reference List: Lomax, Michael E. 2006. “Jackie Robinson: Racial Pioneer and Athlete Extraordinaire in an Era of Change.” Pp. 163–79 in Out of the Shadows: A Biographical History of African American Athletes, edited by D. K. Wiggins. Fayetteville: University of Arkansas Press.
In-Text Citation: (Lomax 2006:163-65)
Encyclopedias and other Multivolume Works  [see ASA Style 6th, 4.3.2.2 for encyclopedias and 4.3.2.1 for multivolume works]
Reference List: Lobb, Richard L. 2003. “Military Rations.” Pp. 159-60 in Encyclopedia of Food and Culture. Vol. 2, edited by S. H. Katz and W. W. Weaver. New York: Charles Scribner’s Sons.
In-Text Citation: (Lobb 2003:159)

Note: ASA Style indicates that major dictionaries and encyclopedias only need to be cited in text and omitted from the reference list. However, when citing an article in an encyclopedia, the format should use the same form as a book chapter.

eBook  [ASA 6th: 5.2.1]
Reference List: Pérez, Patricia A., ed. 2019. The Tenure-Track Process for Chicana and Latina Faculty: Experiences of Resisting and Persisting in the Academy. New York: Routledge. doi:10.4324/9780429275784.
In-Text Citation: (Pérez 2019)
Reference List: Soldatenko, Michael. 2009. Chicano Studies: The Genesis of a Discipline. Tucson, AZ: University of Arizona Press. ProQuest Ebook Central.
In-Text Citation: (Soldatenko 2009)
Plays and Poems
Reference List: Hansberry, Lorraine. 1994. A Raisin in the Sun. New York: Vintage Books.
In-Text Citation: (Hansberry 1994:Act 3, scene 1, line 5)
Reference List: Shakespeare, William. [1603] 2006. "Hamlet." Pp. 317-422 in Arden Shakespeare, 3rd ser., rev. ed., edited by A. Thompson and N. Taylor. London: Bloomsbury.
In-Text Citation: (Shakespeare [1603] 2006:Act 3, scene 2, lines 49-60)
Reference List: Homer. [762 B.C.E.] 1990. The Iliad. Translated by R. Fagles. New York: Penguin Books.
In-Text Citation: (Homer [762 B.C.E.] 1990:Book 1, lines 1-8)
Ancient Works
Reference List: Herodotus. [440 B.C.E.] 1987. The Histories. Translated by D. Grene. Chicago: University of Chicago Press.
In-Text Citation: (Herodotus [440 B.C.E.] 1987:Book 1, lines 1-8)

Journal Articles

Common Journal Formatting:

Author. Date. "Title." Title Volume(Issue):Pages. Online Location.

Article from a Printed Journal  [ASA 6th: 4.3.2.1]
Reference List: Epstein, Saul, and Sara Libby Robinson. 2012. “The Soul, Evil Spirits, and the Undead: Vampires, Death, and Burial in Jewish Folklore and Law.” Preternature 1(2):232–51. doi:10.5325/preternature.1.2.0232.
In-Text Citation: (Epstein and Robinson 2012:235)
Reference List: Ingham, Michael, and Kaoru Nakao. 2018. “‘Come, You Spirits’: An Alternative Afterlife to Shakespeare’s Macbeth and Othello, as Mediated through Japanese Classical Nō and Kyōgen Theatre.” Asian Theater Journal 35(Spring 1):112–32.
In-Text Citation: (Ingham and Nakao 2018:235)
Article from Online Journal [ASA 6th: 4.3.2.1, 5.2.2]
Reference List: Mandy, Stephen H. 2009. “Satisfying Patient Expectations with Soft‐Tissue Augmentation.” Dermatology Online Journal 15(7):45–47. doi.org/10.5070/D394t0r445.
In-Text Citation: (Mandy 2009:45)
Article from Online Database  [ASA 6th: 4.3.2.1, 5.2.2]
Reference List: Kinavey, Hilary, and Carmen Cool. 2019. “The Broken Lens: How Anti-Fat Bias in Psychotherapy Is Harming Our Clients and What To Do About It.” Women & Therapy 42(1–2):116–30. doi:10.1080/02703149.2018.1524070.
In-Text Citation: (Kinavey and Cool 2019)
Reference List: Magee, Peter, Cameron Petrie, Robert Knox, Farid Khan, and Ken Thomas. 2005. “The Achaemenid Empire in South Asia and Recent Excavations in Akra in Northwest Pakistan.” American Journal of Archaeology 109(4):711–41. doi.org/10.3764/aja.109.4.711.
In-Text Citation: (Magee et al. 2005:720-30)
Journal Editorial    [ASA 6th: 4.3.2.1]
Reference List: Cuellar, Norma Graciela. 2016. “Study Abroad Programs.” Editorial. Journal of Transcultural Nursing 27(3):209. doi:10.1177/1043659616638722.
In-Text Citation: (Cuellar 2016)
Book Review in a Journal  [ASA 6th: 4.3.2.1, 4.3.3.2]
Reference List: Clayton, Mary. 1990. Review of Bede’s Ecclesiastical History of the English People: A Historical Commentary by J. M. Wallace-Hadrill. The Review of English Studies 41(161):157.
In-Text Citation: (Clayton 1990)

Newspaper and Magazine Articles

Common Newspaper and Magazine Formatting:

Author. (Year). "Article."  Title, Additional Date Information, Pages. Online Location.

Printed Newspaper Article  [ASA 6th: 5.2.2]
Reference List: Streeter, Kurt. 2021. “Standing Up for Herself by Sitting, And Empowering Others to Say No.” New York Times, July 29, B9.
In-Text Citation: (Streeter 2021)
Reference List: Hirsch, Jerry. 2009. “Citrus Pest Infests Trees in Mexico.” Los Angeles Times, August 18, B1, B9.
In-Text Citation: (Hirsch 2009:B1)
Newspaper Article from a Website  [ASA 6th: 5.2.2]
Reference List: Strauss, Valerie. 2016. “The Unusual Way Broadway’s ‘Hamilton’ Is Teaching U.S. History to Kids.” Washington Post, June 28. https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/answer-sheet/wp/2016/06/28/the-unusual-way-broadways-hamilton-is-teaching-american-history-to-kids.
In-Text Citation: (Strauss 2016)
Reference List: Hirsch, Jerry. 2009. “Deadly Citrus Disease Reaches Mexico, Threatens California.” Los Angeles Times, August 18. https://www.latimes.com/archives/la-xpm-2009-aug-18-fi-citrus18-story.html.
In-Text Citation: (Hirsch 2009)
Newspaper Article from a Database  [ASA 6th: 5.2.2]
Reference List: Li, Lillian. 2018. “Nothing Is More American Than Chinese Food on Christmas.” New York Times (Online), December 25. https://www.proquest.com/blogs-podcasts-websites/nothing-is-more-american-than-chinese-food-on/docview/2160122716/se-2?accountid=728.
In-Text Citation: (Li 2018)
Reference List: Hirsch, Jerry. 2009. “Citrus Pest Infests Trees in Mexico; The Disease Spread by the Asian Psyllid Poses a Grave Threat to California’s $1.6‐billion Industry, Experts Warn.” Los Angeles Times, August 18. EBSCOhost.
In-Text Citation: (Hirsch 2009)
Printed Magazine Article  [ASA 6th: 5.2.2]
Reference List: Verducci, Tom. 2009. “World Domination.” Sports Illustrated, November 16, 50-56.
In-Text Citation: (Verducci 2009:55)
Magazine Article from an Online Magazine    [ASA 6th: 5.2.2]
Reference List: Koppelman, Alex. 2009. “White House Counsel to Be Fired?” Salon, August 4. www.salon.com/2009/08/04/craig_23/.
In-Text Citation: (Koppelman 2009)
Magazine Article from a Database  [ASA 6th: 5.2.2]
Reference List: Kunzig, Robert. 2009. “Shading the Earth.” National Geographic, August, 374-380. Gale Academic OneFile.
In-Text Citation: (Kunzig 2009)

Web Sources

Web Page  [ASA 6th: 5.2.3]
Reference List: Syracuse University Libraries. 2019. "Saint John’s Church and Campanile." Marcel Breuer Digital Archive. https://breuer.syr.edu/project.php?id=370.
In-Text Citation: (Syracuse University Libraries 2019)
Social Media  [ASA 6th: 5.2.6]
Reference List: Chaucer Doth Tweet (@LeVostreGV). 2018. "A daye wythout anachronism ys lyke Emily Dickinson wythout her lightsaber." Twitter, April 7, 8:58 p.m. https://twitter.com/LeVostreGC/status/982829987286827009.
In-Text Citation: (Chaucer Doth Tweet 2018)
Reference List: Ndiaye, Mamadou (@mndiaye_97). 2021. "Arctic Fox Facts you Need in your Life." TikTok, July 17. https://www.tiktok.com/@mndiaye_97/video/6986039209542847750.
In-Text Citation: (Ndiaye 2021)

Note: social media are usually only included in the in-text citation and not the reference list. However, if the post is cited numerous times, it may be included in the reference list.

Online Videos  [ASA 6th: 5.2.11-5.2.12]
Reference List: Smart Student. 2021. "How to Avoid Plagiarism in Academic Writing." Posted September 25. Video, 8:46. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R7WjaIRgO4M.
In-Text Citation: (Smart Student 2021)
Reference List: Snead, James. 2015. “St. Francis Dam Lecture.” Uploaded by Broome Library. posted April 2. Video, 58:46. https://https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FxFnGttUZ-E.
In-Text Citation: (Snead 2015)
Reference List: Cox, Elizabeth. 2020. "The Hidden Treasures of Timbuktu." Directed by AIM Creative Studios, posted October. Video, 5:16. https://www.ted.com/talks/elizabeth_cox_the_hidden_treasures_of_timbuktu.
In-Text Citation: (Cox 2020)

Live Performances

Live Performances
In-Text Citation: In a performance of Lin-Manuel Miranda's Hamilton at the Richard Rodgers Theatre in New York on February 2, 2016, ...

Note: Live performances that a reader cannot consult are not included in a reference list and are instead incorporated into the narrative text.

Other Sources

Films  [ASA 6th: 5.2.11-5.2.12]
Reference List: Spielberg, Steven, dir. 1993. Jurassic Park. Universal City, CA: Amblin Entertainment. Video, 2 hr., 7 min. Netflix.
In-Text Citation: (Spielberg 1993, 1:13:22)
Reference List: Spielberg, Steven, dir. 1993. Jurassic Park. Universal City, CA: Amblin Entertainment. Video, 2 hr., 7 min. DVD.
In-Text Citation: (Spielberg 1993, 1:13:22)

Note: Unless watched in the theater, include information on how you accessed the information (the physical medium) at the end of a citation. If the film was watched online, you can include either the URL or the database name.

Dissertations/Thesis  [ASA 6th: 4.2.2.2]
Reference List: Savage, Courtney. 2019. “The Impact of Experiences of Asexual Students in Four-Year Institutions of Higher Education.” Masters thesis, Department of Education, Texas Tech University. TTU DSpace. https://hdl.handle.net/2346/85057.
In-Text Citation: (Savage 2019)
Reference List: Zonta, Michela Maria. 2004. “The Role of Ethnic Banks in the Residential Patterns of Asian Americans: The Case of Los Angeles.” PhD dissertation, University of California Los Angeles. ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global, 3110834.
In-Text Citation: (Zonta 2004)

Note: dissertations from a commercial database (e.g. ProQuest), include the identification number supplied by the database and the database name. Also, if retrieved from a commercial database, do not include a URL.

Personal Communications  [ASA 6th: 4.2.2.2]
Reference List: Schlichenmaier, Frances M. 1989. "Oral History Interview with Frances M. Schlichenmaier." Interview by Andrew Dunbar. Harry S. Truman National Historic Site. August 28. https://www.nps.gov/articles/000/frances-myers-schlichenmaier-oral-history-interview.htm.
In-Text Citation: (Schlichenmaier 1989)
Personal Communications  [ASA 6th: 4.2.2.2, 5.2.5]
In-Text Citation: In an email message to the Administrator,4 ...
Footnote: Jane Doe, email message to Administrator's Name, December 20, 2021.

Note: Personal communications should be entered as part of the narrative text and referenced in a footnote or endnote. Only in rare occasions will the communication be added to the reference list.

Classroom Lectures  [ASA 6th: 4.3.2.2]
Reference List: Doe, Jane. 2021. "Introduction to Art History." Lecture presented at PSY 100: Introduction to Psychology, California State University Channel Islands, Camarillo, CA, December 20.
In-Text Citation: (Doe 2021)
Reference List: Doe, J. (2021, December 20). "How to Cite Images for Art History." PowerPoint presentation. Canvas. https://https://learn.canvas.net/login/canvas.
In-Text Citation: (Doe 2021)

More ASA Resources