Skip to Main Content

Citation Style Guide

A introductory guide to citation styles and reference management tools.

What is MLA?

MLA Style was created by the Modern Language Association and is commonly used in the humanities. The style uses parenthetical documentation (including a brief citation enclosed within parenthesis within the text), which is linked to a Works Cited page at the end of your paper.

This page will provide a brief overview of MLA Style. For more in-depth information please consult the MLA Handbook, the MLA Style Center, and the web resources listed below.

Video Tutorials

Watch this video for a brief overview of the MLA citation style.

Video Credit: "Introduction to Citation Styles: MLA 9th ed." courtesy of CSU Dominguez Hills licensed under Creative Commons Attribution (reuse allowed).

Watch this video to learn how to format your paper following the MLA style.

Video Credit: "MLA Essay Format (9th Edition)" courtesy of The Nature of Writing.

General MLA Formatting

This is only a brief list of general guidelines, consult the MLA Style Center or the MLA 9th Edition for a more complete list of guidelines.

General MLA Formatting Guidelines
Field Description

Author
  • List authors' names in the order given. 
  • Formatting
    • One Author:  Last, First Middle.
    • Two Authors:  Last, First Middle, and First Middle Last.
    • Three of More Authors:  Last, First Middle, et al.
  • [MLA 9th: 5.6-20]
Dates
  • Abbreviate the month
  • Format: Day Month Year (4 digits)
  • [MLA 9th: 2.138, 5.111]
Publisher
  • Do not include the publisher's location. 
  • Omit business words (Company, Co., Corp., Inc.).
  • Use abbreviations for academic publishers (U for University and P for Press).
  • [MLA 9th: 5.54-95]
Online Location
  • Order of preference: DOI, permalink, URL (only use one)
    • DOI (Digital Object Identifier): A permanent link to a specific published digital object. A DOI is always the preferred method of citing an online source.
    • Permalink: A permanent or stable link to a source accessed through a subscription database. The reader must have access to the database for the link to work.
    • URL: The website address located in your browser's address bar. URLs are updated regularly and your link may not work in the future. Use these when no alternative is available. 
  • Only include "https://" with a DOI (not a URL or permalink)
  • If source was accessed from a database (e.g. ProQuest, EBSCOhost) include the database name in your citation.
  • Accessed dates for online sources are usually not required, unless there is no publication date or you suspect that the work will be altered (Wikipedia, twitter).
  • [MLA 9th: 5.84, 5.93-98, MLA Style Blog]
Page Numbers
  • Use the abbreviation for pages (p. or pp.) in the Works Cited but not for in-text citations.
  • Formatting inclusive page numbers
    • 1-99 = include all digits
      • examples: 2-3, 10-12, 21-48, 89-99
    • 100+ = include only the last two numbers, unless necessary for clarification 
      • examples: 96-101, 103-04, 255-75, 395-401, 923-1003, 1003-05, 1608-74
  • [MLA 9th: 5.89-92]
In-text Citations
  • Basic in-text citation format: (Last Name Page)
  • Examples:
    • [quote or paraphrase, author is not mentioned] (Lees and Overing 100).
    • According to Lees and Overing, [insert quote or paraphrase] (100).
  • [This is a very brief overview for a very important part of citations, please consult MLA 9th: 6.1-30 and the WMC Quick Guide to MLA Style]

Books

Common Book Formatting:

Author. Title. Other Contributors, Version, Publisher, Date. Database, Online Location.

Author. "Title." Title of Book, Other Contributors, Version, Publisher, Date, Pages. Database, Online Location.

Book with One Author [MLA 9th: 5.6, 5.103, 5.48]
Works Cited: Morrison, Toni. Beloved. Alfred A. Knopf, 1987.
In-Text Citation: (Morrison 48)
Book with Two Authors [MLA 9th: 5.7]
Works Cited: Lees, Clare A., and Gillian R. Overing. Double Agents: Women and Clerical Culture in Anglo-Saxon England. U of Wales P, 2009.
In-Text Citation: (Lees and Overing 2)
Book with More than Two Authors [MLA 9th: 5.8]
Works Cited: Zamudio, Margaret, et al. Critical Race Theory Matters: Education and Ideology. Routledge, 2011. ProQuest Ebook Central, ebookcentral-proquest-com.ezproxy.csuci.edu/lib/csuci/detail.action?docID=592906.
In-Text Citation: (Zamudio et al. 4)
Edited Book [MLA 9th: 5.38-44 for contributors, 5.101-102]
Works Cited: Berglund, Jeff, et al., editors. Indigenous Pop: Native American Music from Jazz to Hip Hop. U of Arizona P, 2016. ProQuest Ebook Central, ebookcentral-proquest-com.ezproxy.csuci.edu/lib/csuci/detail.action?docID=4412552.
In-Text Citation: (Berglund et al. 156)
Works Cited: Shakespeare, William. The Riverside Shakespeare. Edited by G. Blakemore Evans et al., Houghton Mifflin, 1974.
In-Text Citation: (Shakespeare)
Book with Translator  [MLA 9th: 5.38-44 for contributors]
Works Cited: Coelho, Paulo. The Alchemist. Translated by Alan Clarke, HarperCollins, 2015.
In-Text Citation: (Coelho 46)
Book Chapter  [MLA 9th: 5.38-44 for contributors, 5.101-102]>
Works Cited: Lomax, Michael E.. "Jackie Robinson: Racial Pioneer and Athlete Extraordinaire in an Era of Change." Out of the Shadows: A Biographical History of African American Athletes, edited by David K. Wiggins, U of Arkansas P, 2006, pp. 163-79.
In-Text Citation: (Lomax 170)
Encyclopedias and other Multi-Volume Works  [MLA 9th: 5.101-102, 5.117, 6.27]
Works Cited: Lobb, Richard L. “Military Rations.” Encyclopedia of Food and Culture, edited by Solomon H. Katz and William Woys Weaver, vol. 2, Charles Scribner’s Sons, 2003, pp. 159–60.
In-Text Citation: (Lobb 159)
Works Cited: Swartz, Anne K. "Chicago, Judy." Grove Art Online.  Oxford University Press. 2015. Oxford Art Online,  www-oxfordartonline-com.ezproxy.csuci.edu/groveart/view/10.1093/gao/9781884446054.001.0001/oao-9781884446054-e-7000016419.
In-Text Citation: (Swartz)
eBook  [MLA 9th: 5.84, 5.93-98 for online locations]
Works Cited: Soldatenko, Michael. Chicano Studies: The Genesis of a Discipline. U of Arizona P, 2009. ProQuest Ebook Central, ebookcentral-proquest-com.ezproxy.csuci.edu/lib/csuci/detail.action?docID=3411798.
In-Text Citation: (Soldatenko 3)
Works Cited: Pérez, Patricia A., editor. The Tenure-Track Process for Chicana and Latina Faculty: Experiences of Resisting and Persisting in the Academy. Routledge, 2019, https://doi.org/10.4324/9780429275784.
In-Text Citation: (Pérez 32-35)
Plays and Poems  [MLA 9th: 5.6.20-24 for citing without page numbers, 6.20-25]
Works Cited: Hansberry, Lorraine. A Raisin in the Sun. Vintage Books, 1994.
In-Text Citation: (Hansberry 3.1.5)
Works Cited: Shakespeare, William. The Tragedy of Hamlet, Prince of Denmark. The Riverside Shakespeare, edited by G. Blakemore Evans et al., Houghton Mifflin, 1974, pp. 1135–97.
In-Text Citation: (Shakespeare 5.2.201–204) or (Ham. 1.2.321–324)
Works Cited: Homer. The Iliad. Translated by Robert Fagles, Penguin Books, 1990.
In-Text Citation: (Homer bk. 1, lines 1-8)

Note: Poems and plays follow the format of similar mediums (e.g. book, webpage). When citing specific passages, use book, chapter, verse, line, and/or canto instead of a page number whenever possible.

Ancient Works  [MLA 9th: 6.20-25 for citing without page numbers]
Works Cited: Herodotus. The History. Translated by David Grene, U Chicago P, 1987.
In-Text Citation: (Herodotus bk. 1, lines 1-8)

Note: Ancient works and epic poems follow the format of similar mediums (e.g. book, webpage). When citing specific passages, use book, chapter, verse, line, and/or canto instead of a page number whenever possible.

Religious Texts  [MLA 9th: 6.20-24 for citing without page numbers and 6.25 for Scripture]
Works Cited: The New Jerusalem Bible. Ed. by Henry Wansbrough, Doubleday, 1985.
In-Text Citation (1st time used): (New Jerusalem Bible, Ezek. 1.5)
In-Text Citation (2nd time used): (NJB, Ezek. 1.5)
Works Cited: The Qur'an. Trans. by M.A.S. Abdel Haleem, Oxford UP, 2005.
In-Text Citation: (The Qur'an 12.69)

Note: Names of scripture such as the Bible, Talmud, Koran, or Bhagavad Gita are not italicized in-text. However, you will italicize specific editions of these works will be italicized (example: King James Bible, The Talmud of the Land of Israel: A Preliminary Translation and Explanation).

Journal Articles

Common Journal Formatting:

Author. "Title." Journal Title, Number, Date, Pages. Database, DOI.

Article from a Printed Journal  [MLA 9th: 5.101, 5.51-53]
Works Cited: Epstein, Saul, and Sara Libby Robinson. "The Soul, Evil Spirits, and the Undead: Vampires, Death, and Burial in Jewish Folklore and Law." Preternature: Critical and Historical Studies on the Preternatural, vol. 1, no. 2, 2012, pp. 232-51.
In-Text Citation: (Epstein and Robinson 250)
Works Cited: Ingham, Michael, and Kaoru Nakao. “‘Come, You Spirits’: An Alternative Afterlife to Shakespeare’s Macbeth and Othello, as Mediated through Japanese Classical Nō and Kyōgen Theatre.” Asian Theater Journal, vol. 35, no. 1, Spring 2018, pp. 112–32.
In-Text Citation: (Ingham and Nakao 115)
Article from an Online Journal  [MLA 9th: 5.102, 5.51-53, 5.93-98 for online locations]
Works Cited: Mandy, Stephen H. “Satisfying Patient Expectations with Soft‐Tissue Augmentation.” Dermatology Online Journal, vol. 15, no. 7, 2009, pp. 45–47, https://doi.org/10.5070/D394t0r445.
In-Text Citation: (Mandy 46)
Journal Article from a Database  [MLA 9th: 5.102, 5.51-53, 5.93-98 for online locations]
Works Cited: Magee, Peter, et al. “The Achaemenid Empire in South Asia and Recent Excavations in Akra in Northwest Pakistan.” American Journal of Archaeology, vol. 109, no. 4, 2005, pp. 711–41. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/40025695.
In-Text Citation: (Magee 735)
Works Cited: Kinavey, Hilary, and Carmen Cool. "The Broken Lens: How Anti-Fat Bias in Psychotherapy is Harming Our Clients and What To Do About It." Women & Therapy, vol. 42, nos. 1-2, 2019, pp. 116-30. Taylor & Francis Social Science and Humanities Library, https://doi.org/10.1080/02703149.2018.1524070.
In-Text Citation: (Kinavey 135)
Journal Editorial 
Works Cited: Cuellar, Norma Graciela. "Study Abroad Programs." Journal of Transcultural Nursing, vol. 27, no. 3, May 2016, p. 209. Sage Premier 2017, https://doi.org/10.1177/1043659616638722. Editorial.
In-Text Citation: (Cuellar 2016)
Book Review in a Journal 
Works Cited: Clayton, Mary. Review of Bede’s Ecclesiastical History of the English People: A Historical Commentary, by J. M. Wallace-Hadrill. The Review of English Studies, vol. 41, no. 161, 1990, p. 157. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/516645.
In-Text Citation: (Clayton 157)

Newspaper and Magazine Articles

Common Newspaper and Magazine Formatting:

Author. "Title." Newspaper Title, Volume, Number, Date, Pages. Database, DOI.

Printed Newspaper Article  [MLA 9th: 5.101-103, 5.104]
Works Cited: Streeter, Kurt. “Standing Up for Herself by Sitting, And Empowering Others to Say No.” The New York Times, 29 Jul. 2021, p. B9.
In-Text Citation: (Streeter B9)
Works Cited: Hirsch, Jerry. “Citrus Pest Infests Trees in Mexico.” Los Angeles Times, 18 Aug. 2009, pp. B1, B9.
In-Text Citation: (Hirsch B1)
Newspaper Article from a Website  [MLA 9th: 5.33, 5.101, 5.93-98 for online locations]
Works Cited: Strauss, Valerie. "The Unusual Way Broadway’s ‘Hamilton’ is Teaching U.S. History to Kids." The Washington Post, 28 Jun. 2016, www.washingtonpost.com/news/answer-sheet/wp/2016/06/28/the-unusual-way-broadways-hamilton-is-teaching-american-history-to-kids.
In-Text Citation: (Strauss)
Works Cited: Hirsch, Jerry. “Deadly Citrus Disease Reaches Mexico, Threatens California.” Los Angeles Times, 18 Aug. 2009, www.latimes.com/archives/la-xpm-2009-aug-18-fi-citrus18-story.html.
In-Text Citation: (Hirsch)
Newspaper Article from a Database  [MLA 9th: 5.35, 5.102, 5.93-98 for online locations]
Works Cited: Li, Lillian. "Nothing Is More American Than Chinese Food on Christmas." New York Times (Online), 25 Dec. 2018. ProQuest, www.proquest.com/blogs-podcasts-websites/nothing-is-more-american-than-chinese-food-on/docview/2160122716/se-2?accountid=728.
In-Text Citation: (Li)
Works Cited: Hirsch, Jerry. “Citrus Pest Infests Trees in Mexico; The Disease Spread by the Asian Psyllid Poses a Grave Threat to California’s $1.6‐billion Industry, Experts Warn.” Los Angeles Times, 18 Aug. 2009. ProQuest, search.proquest.com/docview/422275025?accountid=7284.
In-Text Citation: (Hirsch B1)
Printed Magazine Article  [MLA 9th: 5.101]
Works Cited: Verducci, Tom. “World Domination.” Sports Illustrated, vol. 111, no. 19, Nov. 2009, pp. 50–56.
In-Text Citation: (Verducci 51)
Magazine Article from an Online Magazine  [MLA 9th: 5.101, 5.33, 5.93-98 for online locations]
Works Cited: Koppelman, Alex. “White House Counsel to Be Fired?” Salon, Aug. 2009, www.salon.com/2009/08/04/craig_23/.
In-Text Citation: (Koppelman)
Magazine Article from a Database  [MLA 9th: 5.102, 5.35, 5.93-98 for online locations]
Works Cited: Kunzig, Robert. “Shading the Earth.” National Geographic, vol. 216, no. 8, 2009, pp. 374–80. Gale Academic OneFile, link.gale.com/apps/doc/A213030819/AONE?u=csuci&sid=bookmark-AONE&xid=5f735dd1.
In-Text Citation: (Kunzig 375)

Web Sources

Web Page  [MLA 9th: 5.1021, 5.33, 5.93-98 for online locations]
Works Cited: “Saint John’s Church and Campanile.” Marcel Breuer Digital Archive, Syracuse University Libraries, 2019, breuer.syr.edu/project.php?id=370. Accessed 20 Dec. 2021.
In-Text Citation: (“Saint John’s Church and Campanile”)
Social Media  [MLA 9th: 5.16 for online handles, 5.28-29 when no title, 5.93-98 for online locations,6.28 for timestamps]
Works Cited: Chaucer Doth Tweet [@LeVostreGV]. "A daye wythout anachronism ys lyke Emily Dickinson wythout her lightsaber." Twitter, 7 Apr. 2018, twitter.com/LeVostreGC/status/982829987286827009. Accessed 20 Dec. 2021.
In-Text Citation: (Chaucer Doth Tweet)
Works Cited: Ndiaye, Mamadou [@mndiaye_97]. "Arctic Fox Facts You Need in your Life." TikTok, 17 Jul. 2021, www.tiktok.com/@mndiaye_97/video/6986039209542847750. 
In-Text Citation: (Ndiaye)
Online Videos  [MLA 9th: 5.16 for online handles, 5.28-29 when no title, 5.93-98 for online locations, 6.28 for timestamps]
Works Cited: Smart Student. "How to Avoid Plagiarism in Academic Writing." YouTube, 25 Sep. 2021, www.youtube.com/watch?v=R7WjaIRgO4M.
In-Text Citation: (Smart Student 00:01:25)
Works Cited: Snead, James. “St. Francis Dam Lecture.” YouTube, uploaded by Broome Library, 2 Apr. 2015, www.youtube.com/watch?v=FxFnGttUZ-E.  
In-Text Citation: (Snead 00:50:00-55:36)
Works Cited: Cox, Elizabeth. “The Hidden Treasures of Timbuktu.” TED, directed by AIM Creative Studios, Oct. 2020, www.ted.com/talks/elizabeth_cox_the_hidden_treasures_of_timbuktu/details.
In-Text Citation: (Cox 00:02:02-08)
Comment on Online Content
Works Cited: Fulton, James. Comment on “Saving the Sounds of Radio.” Library of Congress, 28 Jul. 2016, 4:00 p.m., blogs.loc.gov/loc/2016/07/lcm-saving-the-sounds-of-radio.
In-Text Citation: (Fulton)

Government Documents

Citing Government documents and laws can be very complicated. Below are a few examples on how to cite Supreme Court cases, laws, and the constitution. For more examples and a more detailed explanation on how to cite these sources, see MLA 9th [5.75 and Appendix 2, pp. 343-46], the MLA Style Center's Guide to Documenting Legal Works, and the University of Portland's MLA Citation Guide.

When citing, recognize if you are citing a law or document published on a website or a pdf of a printed work located on a website. Note the differences in how these are cited in the examples below.

United States Supreme Court Decisions (from a website)  [MLA 9th: 5.75 Government Documents and p. 344-345 in appendix]

Works Cited: United States, Supreme Court. Brown v Board of Education. 17 May 1954. Legal Information Institute, Cornell Law School, www.law.cornell.edu/supremecourt/text/347/483.
In-Text Citation: (United States, Supreme Court)

United States Supreme Court Decisions (from a PDF of a printed source found on a website) [MLA 9th: 5.75 Government Documents and p. 344-345 in appendix]
Works Cited: United States, Supreme Court. Brown v Board of Education. United States Reports, vol. 347, 17 May 1954, pp. 483-97. Library of Congress, tile.loc.gov/storage-services/service/ll/usrep/usrep347/usrep347483/usrep347483.pdf.
In-Text Citation: (United States, Supreme Court)

Dissenting Opinion of United States Supreme Court Decisions (from a website) [MLA 9th: 5.75 Government Documents and p. 344-345 in appendix]

Works Cited: Ginsburg, Ruth Bader. Dissenting opinion. Lilly Ledbetter v. Goodyear Tire and Rubber Co. United States Reports, vol. 550, 29 May 2007, pp. 643-61. Supreme Court of the United States, www.supremecourt.gov/opinions/boundvolumes/550bv.pdf.
In-Text Citation: (Ginsburg, p. 645)

Federal Bills  [MLA 9th: 5.75 Government Documents and p. 344-345 in appendix]
Works Cited: United States, Congress, House. Improving Broadband Access for Veterans Act of 2016. Congress.gov, www.congress.gov/bill/114th-congress/house-bill/6394/text. 114th Congress, 2nd session, House Resolution 6394, passed 6 Dec. 2016.

 
In-Text Citation: (United States, Congress, House, Section 2)

Public Laws  [MLA 9th: 5.75 Government Documents and p. 344-345 in appendix]
Works Cited: United States, Congress. Public Law 104-191, Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act. Govinfo.gov, 1996. U.S. Government Printing Office, www.govinfo.gov/app/details/PLAW-104publ191.

 
In-Text Citation: (United States, Congress, Section 103)

State Senate Bills  [MLA 9th: 5.75 Government Documents and p. 344-345 in appendix]
Works Cited: Wisconsin State, Legislature. Senate Bill 5. Wisconsin State Legislature, 20 Jan. 2017, docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2017/related/proposals/sb5.

 
In-Text Citation: (Wisconsin State, Legislature, Section 1)

Live Performances

Note: When citing a non‐print source such as a live performance, it is often preferable to include it in the text rather than as an in‐text citation. However, you can cite the performance by using a director or performer or group name or by the performance’s title.

Plays  [MLA 9th: 5.38-44 for types of contributors and fig. 5.101 (page 206) for live performances]
Works Cited: Austen, Jane. Pride and Prejudice. Adapted by Joseph Hanreddy and J. R. Sullivan, directed by Libby Appel, performed by Elijah Alexander and Kate Hurster, 1 Oct. 2010, Angus Bowmer Theatre, Ashland.
In-Text Citation: (Austen)
Works Cited: Shakespeare, William. Twelfth Night. Directed by Darko Tresnjak, performed by Brooke Parks, Miriam A. Laube, Kenajuan Bentley, and Christopher Liam Moore, 8 Oct. 2010, Elizabethan Stage/Allen Pavilion, Ashland.
In-Text Citation: (Shakespeare)
Ballet  [MLA 9th: 5.38-44 for types of contributors and fig. 5.101 (page 206) for live performances]
Works Cited: Tchaikovsky, Peter Ilyich. Nutcracker. Choreographed by Ben Stevenson, performed by Mireille Hassenbehler and Simon Ball, 5 Dec. 2009, Brown Theater, Houston.
In-Text Citation: (Tchaikovsky)
Opera  [MLA 9th: 5.38-44 for types of contributors and fig. 5.101 (page 206) for live performances]
Works Cited: Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus. The Marriage of Figaro. Conducted by Plácido Domingo, directed by Ian Judge, performed by Daniel Okulitch, Bo Skovhus, Martina Serafin, Rebekah Camm, and Marlis Petersen, 14 Oct. 2010, LA Opera, Los Angeles.
In-Text Citation: (Mozart)
Concert  [MLA 9th: 5.38-44 for types of contributors and fig. 5.101 (page 206) for live performances]
Works Cited: Bruckner, Anton. Eighth Symphony. Conducted by Benjamin Zander, 18 Nov. 2010, Boston Philharmonic Orchestra, Boston.
In-Text Citation: (Bruckner)
Works Cited: Lynn, Loretta. Concert. South by Southwest, 17 Mar. 2016, Stubb’s, Austin.
In-Text Citation: (Lynn)

Artwork

Note: For untitled works, provide a generic description but do not capitalize each word in the descriptive title. 

 Artwork (viewed online) [MLA 9th: p. 332]
Works Cited: Waterhouse, John William. The Lady of Shalott. 1888. Artstor, library.artstor.org/#/asset/AIC_20034. 
In-Text Citation: (Waterhouse)
Works Cited: Silver, Walter. Factory, 1986. New York Public Library Digital Collection, digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/51fd9310-ea71-0131-8221-58d385a7bbd0.
In-Text Citation: (Silver)
Artwork (viewed in a book) [MLA 9th: p. 332]
Works Cited: Velázquez, Diego. An Old Woman Cooking Eggs. Circa 1618, Scottish National Gallery. The Vanishing Velázquez: A Nineteenth-Century Booksellers' Obsession with a Lost Masterpiece, by Laura Cumming, Scribner, 2016, p. 27. 
In-Text Citation: (Velázquez)
Artwork (viewed in person) [MLA 9th: p. 332]
Works Cited: Hokusai, Katsushika. Under the Wave off Kanagawa (Kanagawa oki nami ura), also known as The Great Wave, from the series Thirty-Six Views of Mount Fuji (Fugaku sanjūrokkei). 1826-1836. Art Institute of Chicago. 
In-Text Citation: (Hokusai)

Other Sources

Films  [MLA 9th: 5.93-98 for online locations, 6.28 for timestamps, 5.38-44, 5.48-50]
Works Cited: Jurassic Park. Directed by Steven Spielberg, Amblin Entertainment, 1993. Netflix, www.netflix.com. 
In-Text Citation: (Jurassic Park 00:17:38)
Works Cited: Jurassic Park. Directed by Steven Spielberg, Amblin Entertainment, 1993. DVD.
In-Text Citation: (Jurassic Park 00:17:38)
Dissertations/Thesis  [MLA 9th: 5.113]
Works Cited: Savage, Courtney. The Impact of Experiences of Asexual Students in Four-Year Institutions of Higher Education. 2019. Texas Tech University, Masters thesis. TTU DSpace, ttu-ir.tdl.org/handle/2346/85057.
In-Text Citation: (Savage 125)
Works Cited: Zonta, Michela Maria. The Role of Ethnic Banks in the Residential Patterns of Asian Americans: The Case of Los Angeles. 2004, University of California Los Angeles, PhD dissertation.  ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global, www.proquest.com/dissertations-theses/role-ethnic-banks-residential-patterns-asian/docview/305197788/se-2?accountid=7284.
In-Text Citation: (Zonta 125)
Interviews
Works Cited: Schlichenmaier, Frances M. “Oral History Interview with Frances M. Schlichenmaier.” Conducted by Andrew Dunbar. Harry S. Truman National Historic Site, 28 Aug. 1989, www.nps.gov/articles/000/frances-myers-schlichenmaier-oral-history-interview.htm.
In-Text Citation: (Schlichenmaier)
Works Cited: Nguyen, Viet Thanh. “Viet Thanh Nguyen: By the Book.” The New York Times, 30 Jan. 2017, www.nytimes.com/2017/01/30/books/review/viet-thanh-nguyen-by-the-book.html. Interview.
In-Text Citation: (Nguyen)

Personal Communications  [MLA 9th: 5.23 works without a title, 5.107]

Works Cited: Doe, Jane. E-mail to American Library Association. 20 Dec. 2021.
Works Cited: Doe, Jane. E-mail to John Doe. 20 Dec. 2021.
Works Cited: Doe, Jane. Personal Communication with John Doe. 20 Dec. 2021.
Works Cited: Doe, Jane. Facebook message to John Doe. 20 Dec. 2021.
In-Text Citation: (Doe)
Classroom Lectures  [MLA 9th: 5.58, 5.112]
Works Cited: Doe, Jane. Lecture. PSY 100: Introduction to Psychology, 20 Dec. 2021, California State University Channel Islands.
In-Text Citation: (Doe)
Works Cited: Doe, Jane. PSY 100: Introduction to Psychology, 20 Dec. 2021, California State University Channel Islands. PowerPoint Slides.
In-Text Citation: (Doe Slide 2)

More MLA Resources