Skip to Main Content

Citation Style Guide

A introductory guide to citation styles and reference management tools.

Notes & Bibliography System

"The notes and bibliography system is preferred by many working in the humanities—including literature, history, and the arts. In this system, sources are cited in numbered footnotes or endnotes. Each note corresponds to a raised (superscript) number in the text. Sources are also usually listed in a separate bibliography. The notes and bibliography system can accommodate a wide variety of sources, including unusual ones that don’t fit neatly into the author-date system."

Chicago Style Citation Quick Guide

Navigation: For citation examples with multiple entries (for example if there are three different printed journal examples given), the different examples will be marked by a different row header color.

General Chicago Notes & Bibliography Formatting

This is only a brief list of general guidelines, consult the Chicago Manual of Style and the Chicago Manual of Style Online for a more complete list of guidelines.

General Chicago Style Notes & Bibliography Formatting Guidelines
Field Description
Author(s)
  • List authors names in the order given.
  • Formatting:
    • One Author: 
      • Notes: First Middle Last
      • Bibliography: Last, First Middle
    • Two or Three Authors:
      • Notes: First Middle Last, First Middle Last, and First Middle Last
      • Bibliography: Last, First Middle, First Middle Last, and First Middle Last
    • Four to ten authors:
      • Notes: list the first author followed by "et al."
      • Bibliography: list all the authors
    • More then ten authors:
      • Notes: list the first author followed by "et al."
      • Bibliography: list first 7 authors, followed by "et al."
  • [Chicago 17th: 14.72-84]
Dates
  • Do not abbreviate
  • Format: Month Day, Year
  • [Chicago 17th: 9.35]
Publisher Information
  • Do not abbreviate
  • Include publisher's location
Online Location
  • Order of preference: DOI, Database Name or permalink, URL (only use one)  
    • DOI (Digital Object Identifier): A permanent link to a specific published digital object. A DOI is always the preferred method of citing an online source.
    • *check with your professor on whether to use a database name or permalink if no DOI
      • Database Name: The name of the subscription database where you accessed a source (e.g. EbscoHost, ProQuest, Netflix...).
      • Permalink: A permanent or stable link to a source accessed through a subscription database. The reader must have access to the database for the link to work.
    • URL: The website address located in your browser's address bar. URLs are updated regularly and your link may not work in the future. Use these when no alternative is available. 
  • include "https://" with both DOIs and URLs
  • Accessed Dates: Not required for formally published electronic sources with a DOI or permalink. In general, only include for websites if it is likely the website will be altered (Wikipedia, twitter) or does not have a publication date.
  • [Chicago 17th: 14.6-18, Chicago Style]
Page Numbers
  • do not use "p." or "pp." to denote page numbers
  • Formatting inclusive page numbers
    • 1-99, 100, multiples of 100 = include all digits
      • examples: 3-10,  71-72,  96-117,  100-104,  1100-1113
    • 101 to 109, 201 to 209, etc. = only include the changed part, don’t use repeated digits
      • examples: 101-8, 808-33, 1103-4
    • 110 to 199, 210 to 299, etc. = use two digits unless more are needed for clarity
      • examples: 321-28, 498-532, 1496-500, 11564-615, 12991-3001
  • [Chicago 17th: 9.60-64, 14.22]
In-text Citations
  • Use footnotes to cite sources in-text. 
  • First time a source is cited: follow the Note examples below.
  • Second and later times you cite a source: use the Shortened Note examples below.
  • If you are citing the same source in multiple consecutive footnotes, you can omit the title from the citation and only include the author and page number.
  • [This is a very brief overview for a very important part of citations, please consult Chicago 17th: 14.24, 14.29-36 and the WMC Quick Guide to Chicago NB Style]

Books

Common Book Formatting: [Chicago 17th: 14.100-159]

Note: Author, Title (Place of Publication: Publisher, Date), Page Number.

Shortened Note: Author, Title, Page Number.

Bibliography: Author. Title. Place of Publication: Publisher, Date.

Book with One Author  [Chicago 17th: 14.75]
Note: Toni Morrison, Beloved. (New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 1987), 99-100.
Shortened Note: Morrison, Beloved, 5.
Bibliography: Morrison, Toni. Beloved. New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 1987.
Book with Two Authors  [Chicago 17th: 14.76]
Note: Clare A. Lees and Gillian R. Overing, Double Agents: Women and Clerical Culture in Anglo-Saxon England (Cardiff: University of Wales Press, 2009), 195.
Shortened Note: Lees and Overing, Double Agents, 105.
Bibliography: Lees, Clare A., and Gillian R. Overing. Double Agents: Women and Clerical Culture in Anglo-Saxon England. Edited by Denis Renevey and Diane Watt. Cardiff: University of Wales Press, 2009.
Book with More than Two Authors  [Chicago 17th: 14.76]
Note: Margaret Zamudio et al., Critical Race Theory Matters: Education and Ideology (New York: Routledge, 2011), 110-65, ProQuest Ebook Central.
Shortened Note: Zamudio et al., Critical Race Theory Matters," 110-65.
Bibliography: Zamudio, Margaret, Caskey Russell, Francisco A Rios, and Jacquelyn L Bridgeman. Critical Race Theory Matters: Education and Ideology. New York: Routledge, 2011. ProQuest Ebook Central.
Edited Book   [Chicago 17th: 14.103-104]
Note: Jeff Berglund, Jan Johnson, and Kimberli Lee, eds., Indigenous Pop: Native American Music from Jazz to Hip Hop (Tucson: University of Arizona Press, 2016), 55, ProQuest Ebook Central.
Shortened Note: Berglund, Johnson, and Lee, Indigenous Pop, 55.
Bibliography: Berglund, Jeff, Jan Johnson, and Kimberli Lee, eds. Indigenous Pop: Native American Music from Jazz to Hip Hop. Tucson: University of Arizona Press, 2016. ProQuest Ebook Central.
Book with Translator   [Chicago 17th: 14.103-104]
Note: Paulo Coelho, The Alchemist, trans. Alan Clarke (New York: HarperCollins, 2015), 38.
Shortened Note: Coelho, The Alchemist, 38.
Bibliography: Coelho, Paulo. The Alchemist. Translated by Alan Clarke. New York: HarperCollins, 2015.
Book Chapter  [Chicago 17th: 14.106]
Note: Michael E Lomax, “Jackie Robinson: Racial Pioneer and Athlete Extraordinaire in an Era of Change,” in Out of the Shadows: A Biographical History of African American Athletes, ed. David K Wiggins (Fayetteville: University of Arkansas Press, 2006), 163–79, https://doi.org/10.2307/j.ctt1ffjksv.15.
Shortened Note: Lomax, "Jackie Robinson," 165-50.
Bibliography: Lomax, Michael E. “Jackie Robinson: Racial Pioneer and Athlete Extraordinaire in an Era of Change.” In Out of the Shadows: A Biographical History of African American Athletes, edited by David K Wiggins, 163–79. Fayetteville: University of Arkansas Press, 2006. https://doi.org/10.2307/j.ctt1ffjksv.15.
Encyclopedias and other Multi-Volume Works  [Chicago 17th: 14.232 -234, 14.116-122]
Note: Encyclopaedia Britannica, 15th ed . (1980), s.v. "salvation."
Note: Oxford English Dictionary, 2nd ed. (CD -ROM, version 4.0, 2009) , s.v. "hoot(e)nanny, hootananny."
Note: Richard L. Lobb, “Military Rations,” in Encyclopedia of Food and Culture, ed. Solomon H. Katz and William Woys Weaver (New York: Charles Scribner’s Sons, 2003), 2:160.
Shortened Note: Lobb, "Military Rations," 2:160.
Bibliography: Lobb, Richard L. “Military Rations.” In Encyclopedia of Food and Culture, edited by Solomon H. Katz and William Woys Weaver, 2:159–60. New York: Charles Scribner’s Sons, 2003.

Note: Chicago Style indicates that well-known reference books (such as major dictionaries and encyclopedias, are normally only cited in the notes and not the bibliography. However, in certain reference works it may be appropriate to cite the individual entries by author. See below for distinctions.

eBook  [Chicago 17th: 14.159-162]
Note: Michael Soldatenko, Chicano Studies: The Genesis of a Discipline (Tucson: University of Arizona Press, 2009), 42, ProQuest Ebook Central.
Shortened Note: Soldatenko, Chicano Studies, 35.
Bibliography: Soldatenko, Michael. Chicano Studies: The Genesis of a Discipline. Tucson: University of Arizona Press, 2009. ProQuest Ebook Central.
Note: Patricia A Pérez, ed., The Tenure-Track Process for Chicana and Latina Faculty: Experiences of Resisting and Persisting in the Academy (New York: Routledge, 2019), 100, https://doi.org/10.4324/9780429275784.
Shortened Note: Pérez, Tenure-Track Process for Chicana and Latina Faculty, 57.
Bibliography: Pérez, Patricia A, ed. The Tenure-Track Process for Chicana and Latina Faculty: Experiences of Resisting and Persisting in the Academy. New York: Routledge, 2019. https://doi.org/10.4324/9780429275784.
Plays and Poems  [Chicago 17th: 14.253, 14.242-251]
Note: Lorraine Hansberry, A Raisin in the Sun (New York: Vintage Books, 1994), 3.1.5.
Shortened Note: Hansberry, Raisin in the Sun, 3.1.5.
Bibliography: Hansberry, Lorraine. A Raisin in the Sun. New York: Vintage Books, 1994.
Note: William Shakespeare, "Hamlet," in Arden Shakespeare, 3rd ser., rev. ed., ed. Ann Thompson and Neil Taylor (London: Bloomsbury, 2006), 3.2.49.
Shortened Note: Shakespeare, Hamlet, 3.2.49-60
Bibliography: Shakespeare, William. "Hamlet." In Arden Shakespeare. In Arden Shakespeare, 3rd ser., rev. ed., edited by Ann Thompson and Neil Taylor, 317-422. Fayetteville: University of Arkansas Press, 2006.
Note: Homer, The Iliad, trans. Robert Fagles (New York: Penguin Books, 1990), 1.1-8.
Shortened Note: Homer, 1.1-8.
Bibliography: Homer. The Iliad. Translated by Robert Fagles. New York: Penguin Books, 1990.

Note: Plays and poems follow the format of similar mediums (e.g. book, book chapter, webpage). When citing specific passages, use act, scene, book, chapter, verse, line, and/or canto instead of a page number whenever possible. For example, in a play the citation 1.3.36-37, refers to act 1, scene 3, lines 36 and 37.

Ancient Works [Chicago 17th: 14.242-252 for classical works]
Note: Herodotus, Histories, trans. David Grene (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1987), 1.1-8.
Shortened Note: Herodotus, 1.1-8.
Bibliography: Herodotus. Histories. Translated by David Grene. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1987.

Note: Ancient works and epic poems follow the format of similar mediums (e.g. book, webpage). When citing specific passages, use book, chapter, verse, line, and/or canto instead of a page number whenever possible.

Religious Texts  [Chicago 17th: 14.238-241 for scriptural references]
Note: 1 Thess. 4:11, 5:2-5.
Note: Gen. 25:19-36:43.
Note: 2 Kings 11:8 (New Revised Standard Version).
Note: 1 Cor. 13:1 (King James Bible).
Note (scriptural format): Bhagavad-Gita 5:21.
Note: Bhagavad Gita, trans. Eknath Easwaran (Tomales, CA: Nilgiri Press, 2007), 3.4.
Shortened Note: Bhagavad Gita, 3.4.
Bibliography: Bhagavad Gita. Translated by Eknath Easwaran. Tomales, CA: Nilgiri Press, 2007.
Note (scriptural format): Qur’an 19:17–21.
Note: Qur’an, trans. M. A. S. Abdel Haleen (Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2004), 5:3-4.
Shortened Note: Qur’an, 2004, 5:3-4.
Bibliography: Qur’an. Translated by M. A. S. Abdel Haleen. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2004.

Note: References to Jewish or Christian scriptures are usually only cited in the notes or in-text, not the bibliography, unless required by your professor. For canonical works like the Jewish and Christian scriptures, you do not cite the page number. Instead cite the book (in Roman and abbreviated), chapter, and verse. For abbreviations, see 10.44. Because there are different versions of the Bible, the first time it is cited you should specify which version you are consulting. Other sacred works can follow the format of the either biblical or classical works, depending upon the context. Examples of both formats are given below.

Journal Articles

Common Journal Formatting:    [Chicago 17th: 14.166-187]

Note: Author, "Article Title," Journal Title Volume, Number (Date): Pages, Online Location.

Shortened Note: Author, "Article Title," Pages.

Bibliography: Author. "Article Title." Journal Title Volume, Number (Date): Pages. Online Location.

Article from a Printed Journal   [Chicago 17th: 14.171]
Note: Saul Epstein and Sara Libby Robinson, “The Soul, Evil Spirits, and the Undead: Vampires, Death, and Burial in Jewish Folklore and Law,” Preternature 1, no. 2 (2012): 232–51, https://doi.org/10.5325/preternature.1.2.0232.
Shortened Note: Epstein and Robinson, "Soul, Evil Spirits, and the Undead," 235-47.
Bibliography: Epstein, Saul, and Sara Libby Robinson. “The Soul, Evil Spirits, and the Undead: Vampires, Death, and Burial in Jewish Folklore and Law.” Preternature 1, no. 2 (2012): 232–51. https://doi.org/10.5325/preternature.1.2.0232.
Note: Michael Ingham and Kaoru Nakao, “‘Come, You Spirits’: An Alternative Afterlife to Shakespeare’s Macbeth and Othello, as Mediated through Japanese Classical Nō and Kyōgen Theatre,” Asian Theater Journal 35, no. 1 (Spring 2018): 112–32.
Shortened Note: Ingham and Nakao, “‘Come, You Spirits,’" 115-19.
Bibliography: Ingham, Michael, and Kaoru Nakao. “‘Come, You Spirits’: An Alternative Afterlife to Shakespeare’s Macbeth and Othello, as Mediated through Japanese Classical Nō and Kyōgen Theatre.” Asian Theater Journal 35, no. 1 (Spring 2018): 112–32.
Article from an Online Journal   [Chicago 17th: 14.171]
Note: Stephen H. Mandy, “Satisfying Patient Expectations with Soft‐Tissue Augmentation,” Dermatology Online Journal 15, no. 7 (2009): 45–47, https://doi.org/10.1037/a0061540.
Shortened Note: Mandy, “Satisfying Patient Expectations with Soft‐Tissue Augmentation,” 47.
Bibliography: Mandy, Stephen H. “Satisfying Patient Expectations with Soft‐Tissue Augmentation.” Dermatology Online Journal 15, no. 7 (2009): 45–47. https://doi.org/10.5070/D394t0r445.
Journal Article from a Database   [Chicago 17th: 14.175]
Note: Peter Magee et al., “The Achaemenid Empire in South Asia and Recent Excavations in Akra in Northwest Pakistan,” American Journal of Archaeology 109, no. 4 (October 2005): 711–41, https://doi.org/10.3764/aja.109.4.711.
Shortened Note: Magee et al., “The Achaemenid Empire in South Asia,” 735-41.
Bibliography: Magee, Peter, Cameron Petrie, Robert Knox, Farid Khan, and Ken Thomas. “The Achaemenid Empire in South Asia and Recent Excavations in Akra in Northwest Pakistan.” American Journal of Archaeology 109, no. 4 (October 2005): 711–41. https://doi.org/10.3764/aja.109.4.711.
Note: Hilary Kinavey and Carmen Cool, “The Broken Lens: How Anti-Fat Bias in Psychotherapy Is Harming Our Clients and What To Do About It,” Women & Therapy 42, no. 1–2 (2019): 116–30, Taylor & Francis Social Science and Humanities Library.
Shortened Note: Kinavey and Cool, “The Broken Lens,” 129.
Bibliography: Kinavey, Hilary, and Carmen Cool. “The Broken Lens: How Anti-Fat Bias in Psychotherapy Is Harming Our Clients and What To Do About It.” Women & Therapy 42, no. 1–2 (2019): 116–30. Taylor & Francis Social Science and Humanities Library.
Journal Editorial  [Chicago 17th: 14.195]
Note: Norma Graciela Cuellar, “Study Abroad Programs,” editorial, Journal of Transcultural Nursing 27, no. 3 (May 2016): 209, https://doi.org/10.1177/1043659616638722.
Shortened Note: Cuellar, “Study Abroad Programs,” 209.
Bibliography: Cuellar, Norma Graciela. “Study Abroad Programs.” Editorial. Journal of Transcultural Nursing 27, no. 3 (May 2016): 209. https://doi.org/10.1177/1043659616638722.
Book Review in a Journal   [Chicago 17th: 14.201-203]
Note: Mary Clayton, review of Bede’s Ecclesiastical History of the English People: A Historical Commentary, by J. M. Wallace-Hadrill, The Review of English Studies 41, no. 161 (1990): 157, JSTOR.
Shortened Note: Clayton, Bede’s Ecclesiastical History of the English People, 157.
Bibliography: Clayton, Mary. Review of Bede’s Ecclesiastical History of the English People: A Historical Commentary, by J. M. Wallace-Hadrill. The Review of English Studies 41, no. 161 (1990): 157. JSTOR.

Newspaper and Magazine Articles

Common Newspaper and Magazine Formatting:    [Chicago 17th: 14.188-200]

Note: Author, "Article Title," Newspaper Title, Date, Pages, Online Location.

Shortened Note: Author, "Article Title," Pages.

Bibliography: Author. "Article Title." Newspaper Title, Date. Online Location.

  • note: for newspapers and magazines, page numbers are only included in the note not the bibliography section.

Printed Newspaper Article  [Chicago 17th: 14.191]

Note: Kurt Streeter, “Standing Up for Herself by Sitting, And Empowering Others to Say No,” New York Times, July 2021, B9.
Shortened Note: Streeter, “Standing Up for Herself by Sitting,” B9.
Bibliography: Streeter, Kurt. “Standing Up for Herself by Sitting, And Empowering Others to Say No.” New York Times, July 29, 2021.
Note: Jerry Hirsch, “Citrus Pest Infests Trees in Mexico,” Los Angeles Times, August 18, 2009, B1.
Shortened Note: Hirsch, “Citrus Pest Infests Trees in Mexico,” B1.
Bibliography: Hirsch, Jerry. “Citrus Pest Infests Trees in Mexico.” Los Angeles Times, August 18, 2009.
Newspaper Article from a Website  [Chicago 17th: 14.191]
Note: Valerie Strauss, “The Unusual Way Broadway’s ‘Hamilton’ Is Teaching U.S. History to Kids,” Washington Post, June 28, 2016, https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/answer-sheet/wp/2016/06/28/the-unusual-way-broadways-hamilton-is-teaching-american-history-to-kids.
Shortened Note: Strauss, “The Unusual Way Broadway’s ‘Hamilton’ Is Teaching U.S. History to Kids.”
Bibliography: Strauss, Valerie. “The Unusual Way Broadway’s ‘Hamilton’ Is Teaching U.S. History to Kids.” Washington Post, June 28, 2016. https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/answer-sheet/wp/2016/06/28/the-unusual-way-broadways-hamilton-is-teaching-american-history-to-kids.
Note: Jerry Hirsch, “Deadly Citrus Disease Reaches Mexico, Threatens California,” Los Angeles Times, August 18, 2009, https://www.latimes.com/archives/la-xpm-2009-aug-18-fi-citrus18-story.html.
Shortened Note: Hirsch, “Citrus Pest Infests Trees in Mexico.”
Bibliography: Hirsch, Jerry. “Deadly Citrus Disease Reaches Mexico, Threatens California.” Los Angeles Times, August 18, 2009. https://www.latimes.com/archives/la-xpm-2009-aug-18-fi-citrus18-story.html.
Newspaper Article from a Database  [Chicago 17th: 14.191]
Note: Lillian Li, “Nothing Is More American Than Chinese Food on Christmas,” New York Times (Online), December 25, 2018, ProQuest.
Shortened Note: Li, “Nothing Is More American Than Chinese Food on Christmas.”
Bibliography: Li, Lillian. “Nothing Is More American Than Chinese Food on Christmas.” New York Times (Online), December 25, 2018. ProQuest.
Note: Jerry Hirsch, “Citrus Pest Infests Trees in Mexico; The Disease Spread by the Asian Psyllid Poses a Grave Threat to California’s $1.6‐billion Industry, Experts Warn,” Los Angeles Times, August 18, 2009, EBSCOhost.
Shortened Note: Hirsch, “Citrus Pest Infests Trees in Mexico.”
Bibliography: Hirsch, Jerry. “Citrus Pest Infests Trees in Mexico; The Disease Spread by the Asian Psyllid Poses a Grave Threat to California’s $1.6‐billion Industry, Experts Warn.” Los Angeles Times, August 18, 2009. EBSCOhost.
Printed Magazine Article [see Chicago 17th: 14.188]
Note: Tom Verducci, “World Domination,” Sports Illustrated, November 16, 2009, 50-51.
Shortened Note: Verducci, “World Domination,” 51.
Bibliography: Verducci, Tom. “World Domination.” Sports Illustrated, November 16, 2009.
Magazine Article from an Online Magazine  [Chicago 17th: 14.189]
Note: Alex Koppelman, “White House Counsel to Be Fired?,” Salon, August 4, 2009, https://www.salon.com/2009/08/04/craig_23/.
Shortened Note: Koppelman, “White House Counsel to Be Fired?”
Bibliography: Koppelman, Alex. “White House Counsel to Be Fired?” Salon, August 4, 2009. https://www.salon.com/2009/08/04/craig_23/.
Magazine Article from a Database  [Chicago 17th: 14.189]
Note: Robert Kunzig, “Shading the Earth,” National Geographic, August 2009, 375, Gale Academic OneFile.
Shortened Note: Kunzig, “Shading the Earth,” 375.
Bibliography: Kunzig, Robert. “Shading the Earth.” National Geographic, August 2009, 374-80. Gale Academic OneFile.

Web Sources

Web Page   [Chicago 17th: 14.207]

Note: “Saint John’s Church and Campanile,” Marcel Breuer Digital Archive, accessed December 20, 2021, https://breuer.syr.edu/project.php?id=370.
Shortened Note: "Saint John’s Church and Campanile."
Bibliography: Marcel Breuer Digital Archive. “Saint John’s Church and Campanile.” Accessed December 25, 2021, https://breuer.syr.edu/project.php?id=370.

Note: "It is often sufficient simply to describe web pages and other website content in the text (“As of May 1, 2017, Yale’s home page listed....”). If a more formal citation is needed, it may be styled like the examples below. For a source that does not list a date of publication or revision, include an access date." Chicago Style. Blog posts follow the citation style guidelines for online newspaper articles (Chicago 17th: 14.208).

Social Media   [Chicago 17th: 14.209]
Note: Chaucer Doth Tweet (@LeVostreGV), "A daye wythout anachronism ys lyke Emily Dickinson wythout her lightsaber," Twitter, April 7, 2018, 8:58 p.m., https://www.twitter.com/LeVostreGC/status/982829987286827009.
Shortened Note: Chaucer Doth Tweet, "A daye wythout anachronism."
Bibliography: Chaucer Doth Tweet (@LeVostreGV). "A daye wythout anachronism ys lyke Emily Dickinson wythout her lightsaber." Twitter, April 7, 2018, 8:58 p.m. https://www.twitter.com/LeVostreGC/status/982829987286827009.
Note: Mamadou Ndiaye (@mndiaye_97), "Arctic Fox Facts You Need in your Life," TikTok, July 17, 2021,  https://www.tiktok.com/@mndiaye_97/video/6986039209542847750.
Shortened Note: Nidiaye, "Arctic Fox Facts You Need in your Life."
Bibliography: Ndiaye, Mamadou (@mndiaye_97). "Arctic Fox Facts You Need in your Life." TikTok, July 17, 2021. https://www.tiktok.com/@mndiaye_97/video/6986039209542847750.
Online Videos   [Chicago 17th: 14.267]
Note: Smart Student, "How to Avoid Plagiarism in Academic Writing," YouTube video, 8:46, September 25, 2021, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R7WjaIRgO4M.
Shortened Note: Smart Student, "How to Avoid Plagiarism in Academic Writing,"
Bibliography: Smart Student. "How to Avoid Plagiarism in Academic Writing." YouTube video, 8:46. September 25, 2021. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R7WjaIRgO4M.
Note: James Snead, “St. Francis Dam Lecture,” uploaded by Broome Library, YouTube video, 58:46, April 2, 2015, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FxFnGttUZ-E.
Shortened Note: Snead, "St. Francis Dam Lecture."
Bibliography: Snead, James. “St. Francis Dam Lecture.” Uploaded by Broome Library. YouTube video, 58:46. April 2, 2015. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FxFnGttUZ-E.
Note: Elizabeth Cox, “The Hidden Treasures of Timbuktu,” directed by AIM Creative Studios, TED-Ed video, 5:16, October 2020, https://www.ted.com/talks/elizabeth_cox_the_hidden_treasures_of_timbuktu/details.
Shortened Note: Cox, "The Hidden Treasures of Timbuktu."
Bibliography: Cox, Elizabeth. “The Hidden Treasures of Timbuktu.” Directed by AIM Creative Studios. TED-Ed video, 5:16. October 2020. https://www.ted.com/talks/elizabeth_cox_the_hidden_treasures_of_timbuktu/details.
Comment on Online Content   [Chicago 17th: 14.208-209]
Note: James Fulton, July 28, 2016, 4:00 p.m., comment on “Saving the Sounds of Radio,” Library of Congress, July 26, 2016, https://blogs.loc.gov/loc/2016/07/lcm-saving-the-sounds-of-radio.
Shortened Note: Fulton, Comment on “Saving the Sounds of Radio.”
Bibliography: Fulton, James. July 28, 2016, 4:00 p.m.. Comment on “Saving the Sounds of Radio.” Library of Congress, July 26, 2016. https://blogs.loc.gov/loc/2016/07/lcm-saving-the-sounds-of-radio.

Note: Comments can usually be cited in-text but if it is necessary to cite in the note, include information on the comment and the original post.

Artwork

Artwork  [Chicago 17th: 14.236]
Note: John William Waterhouse, The Lady of Shalott, 1888, oil on canvas, 5′ 0″ x 6′ 7″, Artstor.
Shortened Note: Waterhouse, Lady of Shalott.
Bibliography: Waterhouse, John William. The Lady of Shalott. Oil on canvas, 5′ 0″ x 6′ 7″. Artstor.
Note: John William Waterhouse, The Lady of Shalott, 1888, oil on canvas, 5′ 0″ x 6′ 7″, Tate Gallery, London, https://www.tate.org.uk/art/artworks/waterhouse-the-lady-of-shalott-n01543.
Shortened Note: Waterhouse, Lady of Shalott.
Bibliography: Waterhouse, John William. The Lady of Shalott. Oil on canvas, 5′ 0″ x 6′ 7″. Tate Gallery, London. https://www.tate.org.uk/art/artworks/waterhouse-the-lady-of-shalott-n01543.
Note: Steve McCurry, Afghan Girl, December 1984, photograph, National Geographic, cover, June 1985.
Shortened Note: McCurry, Afghan Girl.
Bibliography: McCurry, Steve. Afghan Girl. December 1984. Photograph. National Geographic, cover, June 1985.

Live Performances

Note: Live performances cannot be consulted by readers and, therefore, it is usually only necessary to cite the work in-text or in a note, not a bibliography. If the citation is focused on an individual's performance or role, list that person's name and role before the title of the work (notice how the order of the elements change below to reflect this rule).

Plays and Musicals   [Chicago 17th: 14.266]
Note: Hamilton, music and lyrics by Lin-Manuel Miranda, dir. Thomas Kail, chor. Andy Blakenbuehler, Richard Rodgers Theatre, New York, NY, February 2, 2016.
Note: Pride and Prejudice, by Jane Austen, adapted Joseph Hanreddy and J. R. Sullivan, dir. Libby Appel, Angus Bowmer Theatre, Ashland, OR, October 1, 2010.
Note: William Shakespeare, Twelfth Night, dir. Darko Tresnjak, perf. Brooke Parks, Miriam A. Laube, Kenajuan Bentley, and Christopher Liam Moore, Elizabethan Stage/Allen Pavilion, Ashland, OR, October 8, 2010.
Ballet   [Chicago 17th: 14.266]
Note: Tchaikovsky, Peter Ilyich, Nutcracker, chor. Ben Stevenson, perf. Mireille Hassenbehler and Simon Ball, Brown Theater, Houston, TX, December 5, 2009.
Opera   [Chicago 17th: 14.266]
Note: Plácido Domingo, cond., The Marriage of Figaro, by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, dir. Ian Judge, perf. Daniel Okulitch, Bo Skovhus, Martina Serafin, Rebekah Camm, and Marlis Petersen, LA Opera, Los Angeles, CA, October 14, 2010.
Concert   [Chicago 17th: 14.266]
Note: Caitlin Morris, cellist, "Double Cello Concerto," by Antonio Vivaldi, ASB Theatre Marlborough, Nelson, NZ, November 4, 2017.
Note: Loretta Lynn, Concert, South by Southwest, Stubb’s, Austin, TX, March 17, 2016.

Other Sources

Films   [Chicago 17th: 14.265, 14.267]
Note: Jurassic Park, directed by Steven Spielberg (Universal City, CA: Amblin Entertainment, 1993), 2:07. Netflix.
Shortened Note: Jurassic Park, 1:05 to 1:15.
Bibliography: Spielberg, Steven, dir. Jurassic Park. Universal City, CA: Amblin Entertainment, 1993. 2 hr., 7 min. Netflix.
Note: Jurassic Park, directed by Steven Spielberg (Universal City, CA: Amblin Entertainment, 1993), 2:07, DVD.
Shortened Note: Jurassic Park, 1:05 to 1:15.
Bibliography: Spielberg, Steven, dir. Jurassic Park. Universal City, CA: Amblin Entertainment, 1993. 2 hr., 7 min. DVD.

Note: Unless watched in the theater, include information on how you accessed the information (the physical medium) at the end of a citation. If the film was watched online, you can include either the URL or the database name.

Dissertations/Thesis   [Chicago 17th: 14.215]
Note: Courtney Savage, “The Impact of Experiences of Asexual Students in Four-Year Institutions of Higher Education” (Master's thesis, Texas Tech University, 2019), https://ttu-ir.tdl.org/handle/2346/85057.
Shortened Note: Savage, "Impact of Experiences of Asexual Students in Four-Year Institutions of Higher Education," 155.
Bibliography: Savage, Courtney. “The Impact of Experiences of Asexual Students in Four-Year Institutions of Higher Education.” Master's thesis, Texas Tech University, 2019. https://ttu-ir.tdl.org/handle/2346/85057.
Note: Michela Maria Zonta, “The Role of Ethnic Banks in the Residential Patterns of Asian Americans: The Case of Los Angeles” (PhD diss., University of California Los Angeles, 2004), ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (Document ID 305197788).
Shortened Note: Zonta, "Role of Ethnic Banks in the Residential Patterns of Asian Americans," 100-35.
Bibliography: Zonta, Michela Maria. “The Role of Ethnic Banks in the Residential Patterns of Asian Americans: The Case of Los Angeles.” PhD diss., University of California Los Angeles, 2004. ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (Document ID 305197788).
Interviews   [Chicago 17th: 14.211-213]
Note: Frances M. Schlichenmaier, "Oral History Interview with Frances M. Schlichenmaier," interview by Andrew Dunbar, Harry S. Truman National Historic Site, August 28, 1989, https://www.nps.gov/articles/000/frances-myers-schlichenmaier-oral-history-interview.htm.
Shortened Note: Schlichenmaier, "Oral History Interview with Frances M. Schlichenmaier." 
Bibliography: Schlichenmaier, Frances M.. "Oral History Interview with Frances M. Schlichenmaier." By Andrew Dunbar. Harry S. Truman National Historic Site. August 28, 1989. https://www.nps.gov/articles/000/frances-myers-schlichenmaier-oral-history-interview.htm.
Note: McGeorge Bundy, interview by Robert MacNeil, MacNeil/Lehrer NewsHour, PBS, February 7, 1990.
Shortened Note: Bundy, interview by Robert MacNeil.
Bibliography: Bundy, McGeorge. Interview by Robert MacNeil. MacNeil/Lehrer NewsHour. PBS. February 7, 1990.
Personal Communications  [Chicago 17th: 14.214]
Note: Jane E. Doe, email message to John Doe, December 20, 2021.
Note: Jane E. Doe, email message to American Library Association, December 20, 2021.
Note: Jane E. Doe, personal communication with John Doe, December 20, 2021.
Note: Jane E. Doe, Facebook message to John Doe, December 20, 2021.

Note:  Citations for emailed conversations are usually only cited within the text or in a note. They are rarely included in a Bibliography.

Classroom Lectures  [Chicago 17th: 14.264]
Note: Jane Doe, "Introduction to Psychology" (lecture, PSY 100: Introduction to Psychology, California State University Channel Islands, Camarillo, CA, December 20, 2021).
Bibliography: Doe, Jane. "Introduction to Psychology." Lecture for PSY 100: Introduction to Psychology, California State University Channel Islands, Camarillo, CA, December 20, 2021.

More Chicago Style Resources