If you can't find the data that you're looking for on this page, try using these tips to search for more.
Open a browser of your choice:
California Open Data Portal is a database hosting all of the California State Government's openly accessible data. Several primary areas include natural resources, health & human services, water, government, economy and demographics, and transportation. It is also helpful to remember that nearly every state in the US and most major cities have some form of open data portal.
Bureau of Labor & Statistics-- California at a Glance is produced by the federal government and offers specific information about labor and financial activities in the state. This resource also offers more granular data down to the region. This tool is also available for other states.
Rand California RAND State Statistics contains California social science databases and holds data on the following topics: population/demographics, health care, crime, economics, transportation, labor, education, energy, and government finance.
Access Tips: This is a CSUCI paid database and requires a myCI login for access.
State of California Department of Finance- Economic Indicators includes monthly and annual statistics describing the financial health of the state through a variety of variables, including income, trade, labor, and gross state product.
Bureau of Economic Analysis Data allows user to search datasets and statistics by subject, place, or account level. Topics include gross domestic product, consumer spending, income, trade, prices and inflation, employment, and more.
Bureau of Labor Statistics offers a variety of downloadable datasets, tables, and calculators covering a variety of economic topics including inflation, pay and benefits, productivity, and unemployment. The site also includes tools for mapping and a public API.
DATA.GOV is the central repository for a wide variety of data produced by federally funded and government agencies. Although it may not house all government data (some may still be stored on institutional sites), this is an excellent starting point when searching for national data. The site has a user-friendly interface and contains data on a variety of subject including consumers, education, finance, manufacturing, and public safety.
African Development Bank Group-- Africa Information Highway a network of live open data platforms connecting users to all African countries and 16 regional organizations. The site hosts links to national data catalogs and other statistical networks.
Bank for International Settlements site contains contains data and statistics compiled by BIS through international central banks and other national authorities. Houses data in several databases focused on themes such as credit, global liquidity, foreign exchange, and others.
Central Bank of the States of West Africa site includes statistics and national indicators that relate to finance in Western Africa. Be advised that this resource is in French.
European Bank for Reconstruction and Development site offers users a variety of macro economic data and many surveys relating to nations that are developing or in the midst of various forms of reconstruction.
European Central Bank houses the data relating to the financial health of the European Central bank displayed through a variety of dashboards. Additionally, the dashboards explore historical on subjects like exchange rates, unite labor costs, and GDP. This resource also offers statistics through a sister site.
Gale Business Insights: Global offers statistics, documents, and tools relating to business research.
Access Tips: This is CSUCI paid database. Access requires a myCI login.
Inter-American Development Bank focusing on resources relating to Latin American and the Caribbean, the IADB data warehouse offers both statistics at a glance and downloadable. Data is searchable by both country or indicator and the site has in browser visualization capabilities.
International Labor Organization this site hosts three databases storing information about labor statistics, capacity statistics, and legal policies and standards.
International Maritime Organization is an embedded research guide that has aggregated a variety of data and statistical resources from various agencies, companies, and governments. It includes information on many categories including fleets, casualties industries, piracy, ports, seafarers, recycling, and women in maritime.
International Monetary Fund primarily IMF published, time series data on lending, exchange rates, and other financial indicators. Most data relates to the 189 member countries.
Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) Data charts, maps, tables, and related publications in a user-friendly, searchable database. Covers a variety of topics, such as agriculture, development, economy, education, energy, environment, finance, government, health, technology, employment, and social issues.
Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) Statistics provides access to the OECD statistics based on the data from the above database. Allows users to browse by themes, countries, or both. Also has links to the wider OECD library which contains a variety of reports, manuals, and other information about the statistics and how to use them.
Organization for Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC) Mostly provides statistics for OPEC related
Access Tips: Data can be downloaded in XML format for the graphs. Ask a librarian if you need help manipulating data in XML.
UNdata is the United Nations' portal for international statistical databases. It contains over 60 million data points on a broad range subjects including agriculture, crime, communication, development energy, gender, migration, and many more.
Access Tips: Use the "datamarts" tab to browse the various areas and subjects that this resource has to offer.
United Nations Economic Commission for Asia and the Pacific hosts a database of development indicators at the country and regional levels. The site has a number of unique features that allow for statistical comparisons between countries, quick reference statistical profiles, and reference resources for methods and definitions.
United Nations Economic Commission for Africa Subject areas include economics, demographics, technology, geographic information, and statistical development.
United Nations Economic Commission for Europe hosts statistical information and information relating statistical best practices. Subject areas include economics, demographics, sustainability, modernization, and technology. Also includes information and planning for an upcoming Census.
United Nations Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean site provides links to several databases, statistical services, and entryways to local government information. The site is available in English, Spanish, and Portuguese translations.
United Nations Economic Commission for Western Asia a good source of statistical information on subjects like economic statistics and indicators, development indicators, demographics, disability information, and more.
World Bank Open Data Offers data that is collected and compiled from member countries. Subjects include Gross Domestic Product, population, inflation, life expectancy, poverty, and variety of other indicators. This resource also includes a number of additional features for use to access the data including an API and an easy to use, browsable interface.
Access tips: World Bank Open Data has a help "Get started" if you are new to searching, downloading and using this data. Access it here.
World Intellectual Property Organization provides access to a collection of useful databases for performing international patent, trademark, and legal research relating to intellectual property. This is a useful tool for those performing brand research or those seeking to obtain a patent or trademark internationally.
Access Tips: This site may require a bit more digging to access the data and statistics. Ask a librarian if you need help navigating this resource.