Data & Statistics

California Open Data Portal is a database hosting all of the California State Government's openly accessible data. Several primary areas include natural resources, health & human services, water, government, economy and demographics, and transportation. It is also helpful to remember that nearly every state in the US and most major cities have some form of open data portal.

Rand California RAND State Statistics contains California social science databases and holds data on the following topics: population/demographics, health care, crime, economics, transportation, labor, education, energy, and government finance.

Access Tips: This is a CSUCI paid database and requires a myCI login for access.

Tips for accessing federal data: Although data.gov can aggregate federal data that has been formatted correctly, it can be helpful to find data on its local site to ensure access to all relevant search results.

DATA.GOV is the central repository for a wide variety of data produced by federally funded and government agencies. Although it may not house all government data (some may still be stored on institutional sites), this is an excellent starting point when searching for national data. The site has a user-friendly interface and contains data on a variety of subject including consumers, education, finance, manufacturing, and public safety.

NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information is the new home for the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration's (NOAA) key data centers-- the National Climatic Data Center, the National Geospatial Data Center, the National Oceanographic Data Center, and the National Coastal Data Center. This resource contains data in a variety of formats and offers tools to connect data to outside projects including various APIs.

USGS Science Data Catalog provides a user-friendly search and discovery tool for United States Geological Survey data. This resources serves as an excellent tool for data discovery, download, visualization, and citation as data clearly links back to original providers.

Arctic Monitoring and Assessment Program site aggregates several databases produced by AMAP. Databases cover Maps and Geographic databases, Mercury Emissions, a project resource portal, and a project directory.

International Maritime Organization is an embedded research guide that has aggregated a variety of data and statistical resources from various agencies, companies, and governments. It includes information on many categories including fleets, casualties industries, piracy, ports, seafarers, recycling, and women in maritime

Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) Data charts, maps, tables, and related publications in a user-friendly, searchable database. Covers a variety of topics, such as agriculture, development, economy, education, energy, environment, finance, government, health, technology, employment, and social issues.

Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) Statistics provides access to the OECD statistics based on the data from the above database. Allows users to browse by themes, countries, or both. Also has links to the wider OECD library which contains a variety of reports, manuals, and other information about the statistics and how to use them.

United Nations Statistics Division Environment Statistics a trusted resources for environmental statistics and indicators focusing on air and climate, energy and minerals, forests, governance, water resources, land and agriculture, marine and coastal areas, natural disasters, and waste.

World Bank Environment Data contains a variety of interactive statistical charts that can be embedded or downloaded as data.