Data & Statistics

California Open Data Portal is a database hosting all of the California State Government's openly accessible data. Several primary areas include natural resources, health & human services, water, government, economy and demographics, and transportation. It is also helpful to remember that nearly every state in the US and most major cities have some form of open data portal.

Rand California RAND State Statistics contains California social science databases and holds data on the following topics: population/demographics, health care, crime, economics, transportation, labor, education, energy, and government finance.

Access Tips: This is a CSUCI paid database and requires a myCI login for access.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention contains data gathered by the CDC about a variety of health related topics including, disabilities, pregnancy, violence, vaccinations, and many others. Data is housed in a user-friendly system that provides for easy search and discovery.

Subject Areas: Health care

DATA.GOV is the central repository for a wide variety of data produced by federally funded and government agencies. Although it may not house all government data (some may still be stored on institutional sites), this is an excellent starting point when searching for national data. The site has a user-friendly interface and contains data on a variety of subject including consumers, education, finance, manufacturing, and public safety.

Subject Areas: Agriculture, climate, consumer, ecosystems, education, energy, finance, health, local government, manufacturing, maritime, ocean, public safety, science, research

ICPSR The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Science Research (ICPSR) is a data archive of more than 500,000 files including datasets, variables, and publications. Headquartered at the University of Michigan, ICPSR holds specialized collections focusing on education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and more.

Access Tip: Users will need to create a personal account to access and download files.

Roper Center Polls and Data Abstracts is hosted through Cornell University and provides access to nearly 12,000 US data abstracts, survey questions, and documentation that relate to polling. The site also hosts a variety of international polls, as well.

Access Tips: Although datasets require a login to access, the abstracts provide useful information including variables, sample sizes, and study dates.

Social Explorer  A browser based application that gives users access to 220 years of demographic information, including the US census from 1790 to present. Also allows users to visualize and map data for increased flexibility.

Access Tip: Users must create a personal account on campus in order to login and access this tool off campus.

Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) Data charts, maps, tables, and related publications in a user-friendly, searchable database. Covers a variety of topics, such as agriculture, development, economy, education, energy, environment, finance, government, health, technology, employment, and social issues.

Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) Statistics provides access to the OECD statistics based on the data from the above database. Allows users to browse by themes, countries, or both. Also has links to the wider OECD library which contains a variety of reports, manuals, and other information about the statistics and how to use them.

UNdata is the United Nations' portal for international statistical databases. It contains over 60 million data points on a broad range subjects including agriculture, crime, communication, development energy, gender, migration, and many more.

Access Tips: Use the "datamarts" tab to browse the various areas and subjects that this resource has to offer.

United Nations Economic Commission for Asia and the Pacific hosts a database of development indicators at the country and regional levels. The site has a number of unique features that allow for statistical comparisons between countries, quick reference statistical profiles, and reference resources for methods and definitions.

United Nations Economic Commission for Africa Subject areas include economics, demographics, technology, geographic information, and statistical development.

United Nations Economic Commission for Europe hosts statistical information and information relating statistical best practices. Subject areas include economics, demographics, sustainability, modernization, and technology. Also includes information and planning for an upcoming Census.

United Nations Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean site provides links to several databases, statistical services, and entryways to local government information. The site is available in English, Spanish, and Portuguese translations.

United Nations Economic Commission for Western Asia a good source of statistical information on subjects like economic statistics and indicators, development indicators, demographics, disability information, and more.

World Bank Open Data Offers data that is collected and compiled from member countries. Subjects include Gross Domestic Product, population, inflation, life expectancy, poverty, and variety of other indicators. This resource also includes a number of additional features for use to access the data including an API and an easy to use, browsable interface.

Access tips: World Bank Open Data has a help "Get started" if you are new to searching, downloading and using this data. Access it here.